We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My children and I stayed in the house they have for rent from 11th to 17th of Feb 2014, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The people managing it were so friendly, and they couldn't do enough for us. The house was clean and large enough for all of us, and the park was clean and well kept. It was a great place to stay while we explored the local area. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 159 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

There is something those NZ west costers-north know a thing or two about - motor camp hosting. The word "Iconic" earns its place here. In revival 80's-style camp architecture and truly inspiring landscaping design. Bathrooms and kitchens clean simple chronological presentation. The beach close by steals the show. This motorcamp is destined to become an all time seaside classic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Ok, so as you drive In to Baylys Bay the first thing you see is a notice to 'ALL' about water conservation as the area is very dry(apart from the wonderful Tasman Sea)!
This is fine however this should apply to the locals as well as tourists!
I observed in the male facilities that the urinal system is constantly flushing, the shower heads are cracked and so more than half the water is wasted, plugs are not supplied in sinks! Also the cleanliness, well pretty good apart from the hundreds of ants that are climbing the walls! Doesn't exactly leave you feeling clean!
As for the kitchen, well I walked though (very quickly) and noticed that plugs are also missing from here, the hot water boiler constantly drips and not a clean feel! The rubbish bins are all lined up just outside which is convenient however the smell is quite off putting, suffice to say we cooked and ate our dinner in our camper van!
So for $18 per person this campsite is well over priced!
I would advise people to avoid this campsite if at all possible!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gavinadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here recently with some other families, all with teenagers. One of the friendliest campsites we've stayed in, and as regular campers we've stayed in many! Facilities although a little dated, are clean and comfortable. Just a short pleasant walk to the stunning beach where our kids hooned up and down on a quad bike and played a game of cricket. Not a safe swimming beach, although kids went in the sea carefully supervised by an adult. Takeaway and bottle shop few minutes walk away, and pub/cafe with live band just through back gate of campsite. Such a gorgeous spot, tucked away in the north west coast, and only a few hours from Auckland. Perfect for a weekend away.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank LifeIsGoodNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We started off in an ensuite cabin for one night (small but fine) then moved into a 3 bedroom cottage which was great for the next 2 nights. I would definitely recommend having a horse riding lesson - our two daughters did and loved it. Also go and drive on the beach - very cool!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank 70sammy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great management, fabulous location, excellent dog-friendly camping. Would recommend to all campers seeking value for money and a superb location! The beach is stunning, great for walking, surf and swimming. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Beautiful Baylys Beach and great stay at Holiday park, the cabin was clean and about a 10 min walk down to the beach, though one can take the car and park on the entrance to the beach area. Stunning views from the cliffs and very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinabAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dargaville
7.2 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#2 of 4 in Dargaville
42 reviews
20.1 mi away
Waipoua Lodge
Waipoua Lodge
#1 of 1 in Waipoua Forest
441 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 13 in Dargaville
63 reviews
7.5 mi away
Dargaville Motel
Dargaville Motel
#4 of 4 in Dargaville
14 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dargaville Holiday Park
Dargaville Holiday Park
#5 of 13 in Dargaville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baylys Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baylys Beach Holiday Park

Address: 24 Sea View Road | Dargaville, Dargaville 0377, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dargaville
Price Range: $53 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baylys Beach Holiday Park is situated 5 to 10 min walk to the longest drivable beach in New Zealand, being 112kms long. Our area is on the Kauri Coast, West Coast of Northland. Only 3 hours drive above Auckland. We always have plenty of spaces available for camper-vans(motor homes) and tents sites are a plenty. With fully self contained houses big and small available with also basic cabins being the next step up from camping. Our prices suit all budgets.Funky Fish Restaurant a few steps away and local takeaway just up the hill. 19 Hole Golf Course close by. Quad bike hire and horse trekking available, inquiry's to be made at the camp here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baylys Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baylys Beach Holiday Park Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing