We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Parkview Motel(Dargaville)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northern Wairoa Hotel(Dargaville)(Great Value!)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dargaville Campervan Park & Cabins(Dargaville)(Great Value!)
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Hou Oma Lodge(Dargaville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset View Lodge(Dargaville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dargaville Motel(Dargaville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
101
44
18
13
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
44
18
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaylys beachholiday parkbasic cabincamp groundthe cliffstunning beachsummer holidayshort walk to the beachfew minutes walkstyle holidaythe kitchenvisiting the areatrue kiwihalf hour drivehorse trekkinggreat visitamazing sunset
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 177 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I can't comment much on this park. We arrived after dark, we're the only people there and left the next morning. Trisha was very friendly and helpful.

We were in a large Campervan and the powered sites are on grass. As there'd been loads of rain over the previous weeks the grass was saturated. Amazingly we didn't get stuck but were concerned that we might.

The best bit was the Tarzan rope, tyre swing and trampolene for kids. Even though it was cold and wet my kids had a fabulous time on these. It made for a good night's stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We camped here for two nights at the end of seven weeks touring NZ. The site was good - level and grassy, but well-drained. It was pretty quiet so we had lots of space. The kids loved the rope/tyre swing and trampoline...

The communal facilities were fine - basic kitchen with tables and benches, and a TV, laundry with coin/token-operated washer and dryer, showers and loos - lights on a movement sensitive timer though, which went out half-way through a shower (to be fair, Trish was surprised to hear this and said they'd sort it out immediately).

We had lunch at the Funky Fish next door - really good food and friendly service. The beach (10 mins to walk down, maybe 15-20 to walk back up the hill!) is spectacular but the surf is BIG. Ice creams (huge!) and basics are available from Sharky's store on the corner.

But what made this place nice was Trish - very friendly, happy to help/chat, and always smiling. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our first time at this idyllic nz beach! We stayed in the typical kiwi Bach which provided nostalgic memories of carefree holidays. Staying at Baylys is like being transported back in time! The hosts are very welcoming and a great source of information on places to visit. Our only regret was that we only had one night there. The quad bikes are an awesome experience to take along the beach and the sunset was spectacular. After fish and chips for dinner we took a tour through the galaxy at the observatory next to the park and then settled in for a blissful quiet nights sleep. A world away from the fast pace of Sydney. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Payed less for larger and more comfortable rooms elsewhere in Northland. Friendly staff but the basic cabin was less than ideal, our unit had clearly not been used or cleaned in some time. The musty stink of damp was overpowering and old cobwebs decorated the ceiling.

The double bed was diabolical, two people would sleep more comfortably in a hammock. I opted for the thin squab over a rigid wooden box that served as the bottom bunk, neither of us slept well.

The Funky Fish Cafe next door is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDBAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaylysBeach, Owner at Baylys Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. Can you tell me which cabin that you stayed in and the date please. As we will change the bed.
Can i suggest that you let the office no asap if you are not happy with the place you stay as they can rectify it immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We arrived just as the sun was setting so checked in with the very welcoming Trish and zipped down round the corner and drove onto the beach (as you are welcome to do) with a bottle of wine and what a great start to our weekend away ... sitting on the sand of a stunning west coast beach watching the sun set over the horizon. We stayed in a newly and very tastefully re-furbished "bach" which was immaculate and very comfortable. We loved Baylys beach and loved our little bach and felt very welcome and well looked after .... will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Unit 2 (but not if we want it!)
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews