We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent overall facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent overall facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This property stands out as one of the best in our month-long visit to both islands of New Zealand. We stayed in a riverside cottage, which was spacious, clean, and well-equipped. Kitchen included large fridge, full oven, 4 burner cooktop, microwave. Unit was reasonably priced, located next to a beautiful clear river (although due to vegetation there were no actual views of it from our room). The adjoining barbeque area did have some river views. The grounds of the park are well maintained, and there is a communal kitchen and play areas for children. Internet is fast but not free, cost is $7 for 24 hours. This Park is also unique in that it offers a guided night walk into the protected kiwi habitat in the nearby Trounson Kauri Forest. We did take this ($25 per person), and did spot a brown kiwi, which was one of the highlights of our visit. Walk was expertly guided by Sarah. We were very pleased with this property and recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Owner at Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Ziggyfly
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed informative review which I am sure will help other travellers understand the quality of our beautiful Park. So pleased you saw a kiwi - that always make it an even more memorable experience.
Best Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    74
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
112
151
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed one night while traveling in our camper-van and found it to be a lovely, peaceful and well equipped site not far from the magnificent Waipoua Forest, famous for its kauri trees. With the river running along the bottom of the site it makes for a lovely stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for a river side site
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ircollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Owner at Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi IR Collins

Thank you for taking the time to review our Park, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for highlighting our proximity to the Waipoua Forest. Many people use the Park as a great stopover whilst touring around Northland, and many others stay longer and base themselves here to tour the West Coast. Do come back and stay a bit longer with us if you get the chance
Best Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lovely quiet, peaceful location. Plenty to keep children occupied-especially in summer.
High standard accommodation. Well presented and maintained grounds. Highly recommend as a stop over. Close to the Trounson Kauri /Kiwi Park and beautiful Kai-iwi Lakes.

Room Tip: End Units suit a family like us.Kids aren't running past others. They can come and go with littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caringcarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Owner at Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Caring Carer
thank you so much for taking the time to review our Park, and thanks for pointing out how peaceful it is here!. Thanks to you, and many other positive reviews, we are thrilled to have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence 2014. We hope you can return and enjoy the special peace and tranquility again
Best Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

It would be close to ten years since we last used the camp with our motorhome and it was just as lovely as we remembered. The facilities are still kept very well and spotlessly clean. The parking area is terraced down to the river so that almost all sites would have a lovely view of the river and the surrounding bush. Being out in the country means it is such a peaceful stop, no cellphone coverage can be a good thing!! Great place to stop over on the way to or from the Kauri forests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Owner at Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Ed H
thanks so much for taking the time to review our Park. We are thrilled that because of this and many other positive reviews we have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence for 2014! Pleased to hear that the Park has consistently maintained its manicured appearance over the last decade. Lets hope we don't have to wait another 10 years before we see you back here
Best Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed two nights in the single bedroom riverside cottage. It was lovely. In addition to a clean, spacious, well equipped cabin, I had access to a large additional shared space with a BBQ and benches overlooking the river. The location is a quiet place for a traveller to rest up with just birdsong and the sound of the river babbling over the stones in the background for company. The bigger draw, for me however, was the opportunity to go on a 2 hour night hike in the neighbouring subtropical kauri forest to see and hear wildlife. I went on the night hike both nights. The first night we saw a record 5 kiwis ( 4 male and 1 female) and heard an additional 10+ calling in the distance. I was hoping to have a repeat adventure the second night, but we didn't see any, and only heard 3 males. So realistically with wildlife, it really is "hit and miss." One final comment - the stars both nights were nothing less than spectacular. It was as if we could reach out and touch the southern cross and milky way. I would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Owner at Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Canadian Ladybird, Thank you so much for your beautifully phrased review!! Thank you for pointing out how beautiful the setting of our Riverside Units is, and how incredible the Guided Night Walk and the amazing sky are. We really hope you can return again one day.
Best Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2-bedroom riverside cottage. It was spacious and had all modern amenities. It was wonderful to have breakfast outside. We loved walking in the subtropical kauri forests. We very much enjoyed the guided nightwalk seeing plenty of wildlife and hearing kiwi.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoRoseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Owner at Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our gorgeous 2 bed roomed selfcontained unit, they certainly exceed many guests expectations. The Guided Night is certainly a unique experience and a must do for many travelers. Hope to see you again one day if you visit New Zealand again
Best Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

After a questionable experience at Kaikoura Top 10 we were delighted to find this Top 10 site so charming and well equipped in a fantastic location for visiting the Kauri forests. We spent one night in an ensuite unit and one in a one bedroom luxury cabin. Both were clean, modern, well equipped and in great locations on the site. The luxury cabin had all you could ask for including comfortable lounge and private decking/garden areas. In our experience the Trounson kauri walk was the best of the local kauri trails and staying here can do both the guided nighttime version to see kiwi and awe at the grandeur of the trees looming in the dark, as well as revisiting the trail in daylight. Both absolute musts. Staff at this Top 10 were excellent,particularly Tabatha

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Owner at Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for highlighting how well equipped and comfortable our accommodation is - we are continually striving to exceed our guests expectations and it seems from your positive feedback that we are succeeding. We hope to see you again one day
Best Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dargaville
21.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
17.0 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#2 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
14.5 mi away
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 12 in Dargaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 12 in Dargaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
23.1 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
3.7 mi away
Birdsnest Holiday Home
Birdsnest Holiday Home
#7 of 12 in Dargaville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: Off Trounson Park Road 7 Opouteke Road RD 9 | Kaihu, Dargaville 0379, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dargaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauri Coast TOP 10 Holiday Park is Northlands premier west coast Holiday Park and is set on two beautiful hectares of parkland surrounded by native bush with river boundaries onn two sides. This is the perfect base from which to enjoy our spectacular kauri forests - it is just 5 km to Trounson Kauri Park and 30km to the Waipoua Forest, home of the legendary Tane Mahuta - the giant of the forest. Enjoy the rugged west coast beaches at Manganui Bluff, or visit the beautiful Kai Iwi Lakes (20 minutes south) with their crystal clear waters and sandy beaches. Kauri Coast TOP 10 Holiday Park has something for everyone, from our Park Cabins offering budget accommodation to our luxury Riverside Motel Units offering all the comforts of home in an idylic setting by the river. There are also large flat powered and non powered sites for tents, motor homes and caravans. Whatever your choice you can enjoy our communal facilities which include indoor and outdoor kitchens, a guest lounge with SKY tv, laundry, toilets and showers (no tokens or coins needed). Theres lots to do here for all the family - playgrounds, trampolines, flying fox, petanque court, basketball and table tennis, swimming holes and tubing in the rivers. Theres also lots of space to enjoy a quiet picnic or fish for trout. Join our famous Guided Night Forest Walk which departs from the Park around dusk and if you are lucky you may see a Kiwi in the wild - bookings essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing