We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping ground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

it was a top spot - the staff were very helpful, it was very clean and tidy, good facilities, good value for money and great swimming in the river. We did the night time guided walk in the Kauri forest and it was fantastic. The guide Keith was very friendly and knowledgeable. We saw a kiwi and lots of other flora and fauna which we would have missed without him. We would not hesitate to recommend this campground

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in a tent here and had a great time, with plenty of activities for kids. Going down the rivers in tubes was good fun, as was swimming in the water hole with the rope swings. The facilities were sparkling clean and well maintained. We wanted for nothing, and would like to congratulate the hosts for a wonderful camping ground.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Kauri Coast Top Ten Holiday Park for a few days in December 2012. We had a tent site that was situated by the river that surrounds the camp ground. Really lovely setting. The camp facilities are exceptionally clean and tidy. Location is great - easy access to the Kauri forest and Tane Mahuta and easily accessible to the Hokianga Harbour. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back one day :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Flossy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The facilities are excellent and the camp is in a lovely location surrounded by river on 3 sides. There is lots to do for the kids with a flying fox, swimming hole, playground and tubing down the river. The camp sites are well located and not overcrowded and the kitchens and amenities are well equipped and tidy. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is a great family atmosphere to the place.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Beano5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was the best camping trip we ever had. The facilities were excellent with fully equipped kitchens. The kids and even the adults enjoyed going down the river rapids on tubes. The children spent most days either swimming in the various swimming holes with rope swings, diving board and tubes, going down the flying fox or jumping on the three trampolines. There were quad bike rides for the kids and even a water slide set up one afternoon. On New Year's Eve the whole camp came out to watch an awesome fireworks show. This will definitely be on our must come back to places.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rida V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

First impressions is that the holiday park is looks a little bit "outdated". Yet, that impression needs to be adjusted as all comfort expectations will be fulfilled. All accommodation is more than one expects. While you're on your own peace of land with your camper, you are in the middle of nature, the domain being surrounded by the streams. Sites are spread over distributed levels, so you always have great views.

Room Tip: Camper sites give the impression to be small, yet this is not correct. The different levels in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georges B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in their Park Studio Unit, one of their nicer rooms, for a night and I would have been happy to stay for a week. Full cooking facilities, an ensuite with plenty of room for storage (small bathroom, but well arranged), and a beautiful deck overlooking the stream and the well maintained and gorgeous gardens. The location of the holiday park was gorgeous and it seemed there was plenty of space. Probably the most special thing about this place is their night kiwi walk, which is a do-not-miss experience. We didn't see any kiwi, but learned a lot about the kauri and the forest and it was a lovely evening activity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dargaville
6.8 mi away
Waipoua Lodge
Waipoua Lodge
#1 of 1 in Waipoua Forest
447 reviews
14.5 mi away
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 13 in Dargaville
161 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 13 in Dargaville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Dargaville Holiday Park
Dargaville Holiday Park
#5 of 13 in Dargaville
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
Birdsnest Holiday Home
Birdsnest Holiday Home
#8 of 13 in Dargaville
1 reviews
17 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#1 of 4 in Dargaville
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: Off Trounson Park Road 7 Opouteke Road RD 9 | Kaihu, Dargaville 0379, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dargaville
Price Range: $92 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauri Coast TOP 10 Holiday Park is Northlands premier west coast Holiday Park and is set on two beautiful hectares of parkland surrounded by native bush with river boundaries onn two sides. This is the perfect base from which to enjoy our spectacular kauri forests - it is just 5 km to Trounson Kauri Park and 30km to the Waipoua Forest, home of the legendary Tane Mahuta - the giant of the forest. Enjoy the rugged west coast beaches at Manganui Bluff, or visit the beautiful Kai Iwi Lakes (20 minutes south) with their crystal clear waters and sandy beaches. Kauri Coast TOP 10 Holiday Park has something for everyone, from our Park Cabins offering budget accommodation to our luxury Riverside Motel Units offering all the comforts of home in an idylic setting by the river. There are also large flat powered and non powered sites for tents, motor homes and caravans. Whatever your choice you can enjoy our communal facilities which include indoor and outdoor kitchens, a guest lounge with SKY tv, laundry, toilets and showers (no tokens or coins needed). Theres lots to do here for all the family - playgrounds, trampolines, flying fox, petanque court, basketball and table tennis, swimming holes and tubing in the rivers. Theres also lots of space to enjoy a quiet picnic or fish for trout. Join our famous Guided Night Forest Walk which departs from the Park around dusk and if you are lucky you may see a Kiwi in the wild - bookings essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing