We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hobson's Choice Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dargaville
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Best in town?”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our intention was to stay just one night here on our way north, but the sheer attractiveness of the place prompted us to book a further night. The units were very well thought out, providing comfort and taste. The small swimming pool contained seeds from the trees, but we were assured that the chlorine levels were OK. Wifi was free, if difficult to connect, but all-in-all, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
36
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed one night. The reception was not welcoming but was efficient in the sense of giving us our key and directing us to the room.

The room was a spacious concrete block motel room. Reasonably well appointed in terms of satellite TV and kitchen facilities. Bathroom was not too cramped shower over bath.

The armchairs looked like they needed some deep fabric cleaning and were quite smelly.

The bedding was tired old motel style and I had the impression you wouldn't want to be shining a UV light on the bedspread.

Otherwise the unit was clean and tidy and a decent place if all you need is to rest your head.

The motel had a laundry (charges applied), wi-fi (ditto) and a small outdoor pool.

We would probably stay again if for some reason we needed to spend a night in Dargaville.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived here late in the day having looked at the outside of another motel and decided to see what else was on offer. We had been staying in holiday house style accommodation ("Baches") but decided to stop in Dargaville because we had run out of time to get to a more tourist location.
Our first impression was uncertainty - the motel name has connotations of "take it or leave it"

The manager (owner?) was not over friendly, and didn't seem very welcoming. However, he was happy enough to let us check the room out - it was obviously clean and well appointed and so we agreed to take it. He commented that we wouldn't get better! (I presume in Dargaville). The price was a bit high but I think that simply reflected supply and demand. I asked about wifi, and he said - you can have a couple of hours free - this was good as it enabled us to check emails etc.
The room was well appointed, and importantly, very clean. Excellent king sized and firm bed. The small kitchenette was good for preparing breakfast as we had our own provisions. In very hot weather, you might notice the lack of airconditioning, but we were comfortable. There was a large fan if needed.

Car parking was a bit tight but we managed to park near our unit.
Although we noticed a number of commercial vehicles (trades people visiting town for work) we thought we might be disturbed by either late night revelry (which we've experienced before) or early departures. However our rooms were at the back and we heard nothing.

All in all we were happy and comfortable and had a very good nights sleep.
Recommended if you are passing through.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

to be fair in this review I have to say we changed our travel plans a couple of times. we were booking for a group and the rules kept changing from our point of view. At one stage we had 5 units booked then it turned out we only needed 3 so it was pretty confusing for an already confused operator. we were given spacious units in a very clean and comfortable complex(avoid unit 1 though). Alan the owner has been there 27 years and is VERY keen to be doing something else!!!.
A good average complex close to town, big rooms, clean and heaps of parking.

Room Tip: avoid unit 1 as its part of the house. 2 has a separate lounge and spa bath 17 is a very spacious qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
918 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Passing through Dargaville on our way to Kauri country, we stopped here for the night as the motel was on the way out of town. We were the only guests that night and the owner did not make us feel welcome. The motel runs between two roads and one side is signed better than the other. However, the room was a good size and had a kitchenette to enable us to get our own breakfast in the morning. The tariff was more expensive than one would expect for a motel of this level. It was a few minutes drive back into town to get supplies at the supermarket and find a restaurant for dinner. There was a charge for the internet. The owner was more cheerful in the morning when we departed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were brought here by our support crew while taking part in the (cycling) Tour of New Zealand. When I checked out the hotel options on line I have to say that I feared for this one but it turned out better than I expected.

As the only couple on our tour minibus we were given the largest room at the end of the row and back of the motel. It had a sizeable family room with a single bed, sofa, dinning area and kitchen. We had a separate bathroom and a separate bedroom. It provided us with plenty of room to store the bikes and dry a pile of stinky lycra!

The motel could do with a bit of TLC. The sign at the back of the motel is barely legible but then the fixtures and fittings inside were absolutely fine so I guess that is all that really matters. The microwave was a godsend to make porridge for our next days ride and the shower had plenty of hot and powerful water.

Dargaville is not the most scenic part of NZ and I can't see a reason to go back there but should I find the need then I'd be happy to return. Just beware the laundry costs $7.50 for a wash and dry which seemed a bit steep and in the end wasn't necessary for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We looked at several places in Dargaville and decided on this one. It was quiet, clean and in an good location. It was the highest priced place we stayed on our trip to NZ. We thought in the end it was the best you could hope for in Dargaville. Not a real show stopper town but a good stopping location after touring the Kauri Forrest and before heading to the Kauri Museum the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dargaville hotels
0.3 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#2 of 4 in Dargaville
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dargaville Motel
Dargaville Motel
#4 of 4 in Dargaville
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Northern Wairoa Hotel
Northern Wairoa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Dargaville
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 12 in Dargaville
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dargaville Holiday Park
Dargaville Holiday Park
#5 of 12 in Dargaville
27 reviews
16.2 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 12 in Dargaville
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobson's Choice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobson's Choice Motel

Property: Hobson's Choice Motel
Address: 212 Victoria Street, Dargaville 0310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dargaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hobson's Choice Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hobson's Choice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobson's Choice Motel Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing