We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hobson's Choice Motel
Nearby Hotels
Parkview Motel(Dargaville)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dargaville Motel(Dargaville)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Waipoua Lodge(Waipoua Forest)
$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Bordeaux(Whangarei)
$122
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
14
33
23
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
33
23
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeds were comfortablefree moviesswimming poolspent one night hereoff street parkingpleasant staysmall towngood sizeshort drivehobsonsunitbathwififridgefurniturenzsetting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 76 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived here late in the day having looked at the outside of another motel and decided to see what else was on offer. We had been staying in holiday house style accommodation ("Baches") but decided to stop in Dargaville because we had run out of time to get to a more tourist location.
Our first impression was uncertainty - the motel name has connotations of "take it or leave it"

The manager (owner?) was not over friendly, and didn't seem very welcoming. However, he was happy enough to let us check the room out - it was obviously clean and well appointed and so we agreed to take it. He commented that we wouldn't get better! (I presume in Dargaville). The price was a bit high but I think that simply reflected supply and demand. I asked about wifi, and he said - you can have a couple of hours free - this was good as it enabled us to check emails etc.
The room was well appointed, and importantly, very clean. Excellent king sized and firm bed. The small kitchenette was good for preparing breakfast as we had our own provisions. In very hot weather, you might notice the lack of airconditioning, but we were comfortable. There was a large fan if needed.

Car parking was a bit tight but we managed to park near our unit.
Although we noticed a number of commercial vehicles (trades people visiting town for work) we thought we might be disturbed by either late night revelry (which we've experienced before) or early departures. However our rooms were at the back and we heard nothing.

All in all we were happy and comfortable and had a very good nights sleep.
Recommended if you are passing through.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

to be fair in this review I have to say we changed our travel plans a couple of times. we were booking for a group and the rules kept changing from our point of view. At one stage we had 5 units booked then it turned out we only needed 3 so it was pretty confusing for an already confused operator. we were given spacious units in a very clean and comfortable complex(avoid unit 1 though). Alan the owner has been there 27 years and is VERY keen to be doing something else!!!.
A good average complex close to town, big rooms, clean and heaps of parking.

Room Tip: avoid unit 1 as its part of the house. 2 has a separate lounge and spa bath 17 is a very spacious queen room but has shower over the bath.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Passing through Dargaville on our way to Kauri country, we stopped here for the night as the motel was on the way out of town. We were the only guests that night and the owner did not make us feel welcome. The motel runs between two roads and one side is signed better than the other. However, the room was a good size and had a kitchenette to enable us to get our own breakfast in the morning. The tariff was more expensive than one would expect for a motel of this level. It was a few minutes drive back into town to get supplies at the supermarket and find a restaurant for dinner. There was a charge for the internet. The owner was more cheerful in the morning when we departed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were brought here by our support crew while taking part in the (cycling) Tour of New Zealand. When I checked out the hotel options on line I have to say that I feared for this one but it turned out better than I expected.

As the only couple on our tour minibus we were given the largest room at the end of the row and back of the motel. It had a sizeable family room with a single bed, sofa, dinning area and kitchen. We had a separate bathroom and a separate bedroom. It provided us with plenty of room to store the bikes and dry a pile of stinky lycra!

The motel could do with a bit of TLC. The sign at the back of the motel is barely legible but then the fixtures and fittings inside were absolutely fine so I guess that is all that really matters. The microwave was a godsend to make porridge for our next days ride and the shower had plenty of hot and powerful water.

Dargaville is not the most scenic part of NZ and I can't see a reason to go back there but should I find the need then I'd be happy to return. Just beware the laundry costs $7.50 for a wash and dry which seemed a bit steep and in the end wasn't necessary for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We looked at several places in Dargaville and decided on this one. It was quiet, clean and in an good location. It was the highest priced place we stayed on our trip to NZ. We thought in the end it was the best you could hope for in Dargaville. Not a real show stopper town but a good stopping location after touring the Kauri Forrest and before heading to the Kauri Museum the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews