We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This lodge is so unique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauri House Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dargaville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kauri House Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Dargaville B&B and Inns
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This lodge is so unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

This lodge is wonderfully unique. It has so many wonderful artifacts, interesting antiques...AND a delightful owner! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Doug is an excellent host, and it was fasinating to talk with him. The rooms were clean, comfortable and charming. Staying here, and meeting Doug, was one of the highlights of our 6 week New Zealand trip!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwoman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

This was one of the more memorable stops of our holiday, not because of the accommodation, which was comfortable and pleasant (in a wonderful 1910 house with floors, panelled walls and ceilings made out of kauri wood), filled with antiques and carriage clocks; but because of the personality of the owner. He has lived in New Zealand for ever, but is still at heart a boy from Tottenham, London, who follows the fortunes of Spurs football club with passionate interest, and tells hilarious anecdotes at the top of his voice. He is very generous, too, and will provide fish and chip meals, or a barbecue, for just a few dollars – and the anecdotes come thick and fast for free! Good, fast and FREE wi-fi in his computer room. And he loves taking visitors to his farm when he moves his cattle, and it is a rare treat to walk in his Kauri forest with him. The swimming pool is sunny and a pleasure to use, with loungers and parasols around the pool. The house is set in extensive gardens teeming with birds.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We only stayed here for 2 nights during our tour of N.Z. but wish it had been longer. Our host Doug is an amazing person - no frills - not posh - but so genuine and welcoming and the house is amazing. We left feeling as if we'd known him forever and really hope to re-visit again. If you want a taste of English/Kiwi hospitality then this is the place to be. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

We had a great time here. This is a turn of the century house filled with antiques and owned by a great host - Doug Blaxall. We arrived late in the afternoon and we offered tea or a beer. We sat around the lovely pool cooling off and then Doug offered to show us his Reserve of protected Kauri trees. He was such a wonderful host. We stopped for the best fish and chips we had in NZ from a roadside cart in town on our way back from our walkabout. We went up the Kauri trees the next day and Doug told us all the best walks to take including a wonderful beach to hit on the way back to the House. Two nights, great laughs and we were sorry to leave. Hope Doug will come stay with US some day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margotkenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, OKlahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

We found the Kauri House Lodge to be a unique and beautiful house filled with
antiques in 'like new' condition. The best part of our stay was getting to know our most gracious host, Doug. He gave us great recommendations on sights to see in the area, and even called later in our visit to New Zealand to find out if we were doing well. This was one of our favorite places to stay

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stickneydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was our sixth night on our New Zealand roadtrip, and even tough we had been quite lucky with all the accommodation so far, we had even high expectation for the Kauri House. As we pulled up to the secluded house, with virtually no neighbors, we knew this would be a unique experience.

When Doug, a retired antiques dealer, now B&B owner, greeted us and showed us the house we were very impressed and happy that our high expectations was met, and then some. The story of the house is best told by Doug, but quickly summarized, every room is just lovely furnished with unique bits and pieces from Doug's antique business, making the house is truly unique. The only thing more unique is the host himself!

We stayed in two spacy ensuites, and a huge breakfast and even wireless internet was included.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I have stayed at Kauri House Lodge on several occasions over the past 15 years, and it has been consistently good. Homely atmosphere, great host. This is not a posh establishment, but a relaxed comfortable home.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aklchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dargaville hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#3 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hobson's Choice Motel
Hobson's Choice Motel
#1 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.8 mi away
Commercial Hotel
Commercial Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dargaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Northern Wairoa Hotel
Northern Wairoa Hotel
#3 of 5 in Dargaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
7.5 mi away
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 13 in Dargaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dargaville Campervan Park & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri House Lodge

Property: Kauri House Lodge
Address: 60 Bowen Street, Dargaville 0310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dargaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original features of this 1880's style villa include the detailed veranda balustrading, stained glass, pressed ceilings, sash windows and native Kauri panelling. Completed in 1910 by a leading bushman as a spacious family residence, Kauri House Lodge offers a unique experience in a stately home with antiques. A must on the way to the Kauri Forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauri House Lodge Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing