We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset View Lodge
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were very pleased with the Sunset View Lodge. Pam and Neil were very welcoming, the room was spacious and clean and the breakfast buffet was wonderful! They even let us use their golf clubs twice so we could play a round just down the street. And the people at the golf course could not have been nicer either! Neil sent us to the wonderful restaurant in town for dinner and we have pictures of one of the most beautiful sunsets of our trip taken from Baylys Beach. It is definitely worth spending time here..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keukarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
40
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great place, a 5 star accommodation in such a nice small town

Room Tip: Room 4 gets a great sunset and sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 23JuJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Probably the nicest place in town. (Also, you won't find anything on the beach because there is nothing on the beach.) The Sunset View Lodge was very clean with views on the town & ocean in the distance. The pool was closed when we were there. The in-room TV is humorously small and very high up on the wall. The TV screen is about the size of an A3 piece of paper. The room felt like I was in a very nice guest room at someone's newly built house. A bathtub would be a nice feature but the shower was fine. I would certainly stay here again if the price were in the $125 - $140 range. They have a nice common room with a big, flat screen TV and an honesty bar. The breakfast in the common room was a good, cold, uncooked breakfast with fresh fruit. We stayed in one of the upper rooms looking down on the pool. I just did not think I got $175 worth of value for staying there a day. The owners were nice enought. They would not let us watch the 3am South Africa, Tri-Nations game in the common room even thought we were the only guests.

Room Tip: Make sure you can get dinner reservations at the Funky Fish or don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUTravellerBalmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed here for only one night, though we will stay longer next time. A high quality modern lodge with plenty of charm, a pool, self-service bar and a wonderful view of the sunset. Only 10 minutes walk from Bayleys Beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miles_aero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont NSW
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

This venue lived up to its reputation on Trip Advisor and confirms Trip Advisor as a site I can trust. The views are special for sunset into the sea and the hostess Pam was more than cordial and reliable with her service. WiFi is an important inclusion these days, the inclusion of a guest lounge with courtesy bar, the pool, and a really good continental breakfast make a place to put on your agenda. The recommended Funky Fish is not so good and we found the Sharky's takeaway a little gem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

One of the most relaxing and comfortable places we've stayed at with great facilities. We loved the view from our room and watching the sunset each evening. Our favourite part of our time at Bayly's Beach was the horse trek along the beach and then relaxing in the heated swimming pool!! Total bliss :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rk_williams23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Rooms are large, very clean and we had a great king size bed which was very comfortable. Only complaint would be the tv is very small for a room that size. Bonus being able to step out from your room into the heated pool if you're on ground level. The shared lounge area was a great place to meet other travellers and the honesty bar was a great set up. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic with cereal, muffins, fresh fruit, yoghurt etc. Make sure you book into Funky Fish Restaurant only place to eat decent food dont go to Sharkies.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dargaville hotels
7.0 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#3 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 13 in Dargaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
11.6 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 13 in Dargaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
7.3 mi away
Hobson's Choice Motel
Hobson's Choice Motel
#1 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
6.3 mi away
Commercial Hotel
Commercial Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dargaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset View Lodge

Property: Sunset View Lodge
Address: 7 Alcemene Ln | Baylys Beach, Dargaville 0377, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dargaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset View Lodge has been built to create an atmosphere of peace and tranquility, with a high level of safety, with the installation of state of the art fire detection and alarm systems. We offer casual "Beachy" surroundings, so you can relax in your own area or spend the evening in the specially built Guest Lounge and Home Theatre, talking with your hosts over a Glass of Wine or ale. We will be able to assist you with learning about the history of the area, or having us suggest some activities to do the next day.The top floor Suites have large sliding glass doors opening out onto a glass surrounding deck, with one suite having a totally private deck and balcony with lovely rural and sea views, and also one suite on the ground floor has its own private deck and sea views. All units have Plasma TVs, plus fridge, with a minibar of Local Wine and Beers, microwave, coffee and tea making facilities along with modern en-suite making these the ONLY luxury type available in this area. All our top floor suites open out to magnificent sea views, listen to the sweet sounds of the waves rolling in onto the pristine beach, as you sit on your deck reading a good book.Or have a relaxing swim in our heated swimming pool with a turbo jet (closed in the winter). You have the option, subject to availability, of 3 suites on the 2nd floor or 3 suites on the 1st floor. The top floor units have a grander view of the Tasman Sea and wave action while the lower level still has great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset View Lodge Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing