We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice wee motel - like a b+b”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dargaville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Awakino Point Boutique Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dargaville
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice wee motel - like a b+b”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed for a night with children in January in ?unit one - 2 bedrooms. The hosts are very nice and the breakfast was great. The rooms feel a bit small and unit one just has a pull across kind of kind of soft door through to the owners home so doesn't feel so private. Unit 3 would be more private. Could be a little overpriced, but I think we paid extra for the kids and it was January.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravellers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night and the room was spacious and comfortable and clean. The motel is set in large gardens. June was very helpful and the breakfast trolley was welcome. We found people in Dargaville were very friendly which was nice. All in all, good value

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italophile27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We got in very late since we had misjudged the distance we were coming from.
We all felt terrible that we had kept them up that late.
We didn't trust our GPS to send us the quickest way since it had let us down the day before.
June showed us to our two bedroom/livingroom accommodation.
Very nicely done with touches to make you feel at home and June's lovely artwork on the wall.
Bathroom and kitchen were in good condition and everything was spotless.
A breakfast trolley tray was wheeled in byJune the next morning. Everything on it that you could ever want. It was lovely to sit and eat breakfast while looking out to the garden.
We wished we could have stayed longer.
Ask about the little boots.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseaboots61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

A delightful small Motel set in a spacious country garden. Our hostess June was both
friendly and informative. The breakfast trolley was attractively presented with a most
appealing choice to select from. We all felt so relaxed during our brief stay as the Motel
is set back from the road in a tranquil setting. Would love to have stayed longer.

Sandy

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Awakino Point Lodge Motel is set in very large, well maintained grounds, in the country but only a few minutes drive from the convenience and interest of the Dargaville shops and museums.The units are very comfortable, nicely appointed and extremely clean. Mick and June are the best of hosts, around enough to be very helpful but happy to leave you in peace to wander in the garden, or sit in the sun (Dargaville has a very mild climate, even in Winter) and smell the country air if you prefer. Stay for a few days, not just overnight, and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while I revisited the houses our family lived in and the areas they worked in and completed my family geneaology.
June & Mick were excellent hosts - the motel was spotlessly clean, the unit was roomy & the bed comfortable.
A delicious breakfast [free of charge] complete with home made jam was served both mornings. Everyhting served was both fresh & tasty.
June & Mick were also happy to give us directions & reccommendations to the better restaurants and various places we wanted to visit..
An added plus was the laundry & drier available to guests at a cost of $4.00 per load.
We would not hesitate to reccommend the Motel to all our friends and business aquaintances. Well done June & Mick for running a first rate motel in a very competitive market.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We just stayed the one night but wished we could have stayed longer
June and Mick go out of there way to make you really at home.
The accommodation is a cross between a bed and breakfast and a motel and is a real treat,loads of hot water ,comfy beds and a great breakfast thrown in free.The motel is very convenient to the town and yet peaceful and private if you need a place to stay on the way up or down from the bay of Islands this is it

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dargaville hotels
1.2 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#2 of 4 in Dargaville
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hobson's Choice Motel
Hobson's Choice Motel
#1 of 4 in Dargaville
69 reviews
16.3 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 12 in Dargaville
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dargaville Motel
Dargaville Motel
#4 of 4 in Dargaville
13 reviews
1.8 mi away
Northern Wairoa Hotel
Northern Wairoa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Dargaville
31 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sunset View Lodge
Sunset View Lodge
#4 of 12 in Dargaville
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awakino Point Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awakino Point Boutique Motel

Property: Awakino Point Boutique Motel
Address: 5466 State Hyw 14 Dargaville | Northland, Dargaville zip code 0372, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dargaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique motel just 2 minutes drive from the township of Dargaville. Follow Whangarei signs. Surrounded by attractive gardens and farmland. Three one & Two B/rm Self Contained units with own entrance.Includes Free Wi Fi & BKFST. WI FI access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Awakino Point Boutique Motel Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing