We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to eat and stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rancagua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Termas de Cauquenes
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rancagua
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Termas de Cauquenes is the best place to stay and eat that my husband and I have ever been. We are world travelers and enjoyed Chile tremendously with the highlight being Termas de Cauquenes. The rooms are very nice, but it is the food and scenery that makes it the best. It is owned by two chefs who will surpass any taste expectations with 10 course meals at dinner. Deffinitely take the half or full pension option to eat dinner at the hotel. The hotel is located in the Andes foothills on the edge of a cliff overlooking a river and surrounded by eucalyptus trees. With the hot springs, pool, tennis courts, extensive park along the ravine, and hiking trails in the nearby national park. The staff goes above and beyond. I really cannot express how much we loved Termas de Cauquenes.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetravelingUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 96 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2009

My boyfriend and I went to Termas de Cauquenes for a Saturday night, expecting a very nice time given the relatively high tariff. However, if it wasn’t for the fact that we tend to make the best of every situation we are in, even if it’s bad, and that we are very much in love, we would have had a pathetic time. In sort, disappointing in just about every way. A hotel that perhaps 30 years ago was good, but that now is quite frankly in total and absolute decay and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. Those places where all the owners are interested in is in your money, since it is obvious that they are desperate in need of it!

The worst: the rooms! Absolutely disgusting. Like those rooms which make you sick to your stomach and where you don't even feel comfortable walking barefoot. A smaller than queen size bed, and very uncomfortable, very cheap furniture, rotten carpeting, chipped and decaying walls and terrible lighting. The bathroom had been renovated recently it seemed, but you couldn’t take a proper shower and it was stocked with old towels. It doesn’t have a mini-bar or anything else associated with that hotel rate (135us$).

Next less than satisfactory thing: the open air thermal pool. A joke! It has a pathetic white picket fence surrounding it, very old and uncomfortable deck chairs and the whole area needs serious renovation. Ridiculous considering that is ultimately what you’re paying for. The whole exterior area going to the pool is also very also badly keep with broken and old fences. Of course no one tells you that it closes at 7pm.

Next absolutely terrible thing: At check out they tried to charge us 50us$ dollars more, revealing just how pathetic even the costumer service is.

OK things (but which don’t make it worthwhile, only for a visit):
the food was ok, however the 5 course dinner is just a ridiculous show-off event and only two plates are decent enough to be enjoyable; waiter customer attention also good and the landscaping in the central courtyard also very nice (disregarding of course the cheap plastic chairs and the cheap tin roofing). The old architecture was also interesting, especially the individual baths building.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank traveler-chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

This hotel with thermal baths was reviewed favorably in Frommer's so we booked a "standard river view room" for two nights. The property is most famous for it's cuisine and is owned by a Swiss chef and his daughter. We also looked forward to swimming in the attractive pool featured on the website as it was late summer and very warm. When we checked in, we were given the key to our room, so we rolled our suitcases through a lovely garden area to the river view wing. The room (#105) was awful, with dirty carpeting, peeling paint, and bathroom with scruffy 1960's orange patterned vinyl and a bathtub that looked as if someone had poured battery acid into it. It was stained and disgusting. We returned to the reception desk and complained, requesting an up-grade to a better room. The desk clerk said, "well, you DID request at standard room." Surely, a Swiss owner has higher standards for his standard rooms, we thought. I hope they don't use this room to get un-suspecting tourists to up-grade to a higher priced accomodation.

We were then given the keys to another room in the same wing, but with a higher price. At least, it had a remodeld bathroom with granite counters, travertine walls, and a shower, so we took it. There was no air conditioning, however, and the late afternoon sun poured through the windows making the room hot and uncomfortable, so we wandered through the historic thermal bath area (very interesting, but not up to modern aesthetic or sanitary standards) and visited the swimming pool. One look at the algae around the edges and leaves floating on the surface, and we decided against a dip.

A martini at the bar and a long conversation with Alex, the barman, who spoke excellent English and was very friendly, restored our spirits before dinner which was served in a lovely dining room. The five course meal was very good, though not "gourmet." Weiner schnitzel was the main course, and it was light and crispy. The service was excellent. A large breakfast buffet was served in the same dining room with fresh homemade croissants. Because the windows were open to the fresh morning air, however, there were flies on the fruit and cheese.

We cancelled our second night. The price for room and half-board for one night was very reasonable ($169.00 for two people and included wine with dinner). The gardens were beautiful, the river and mountain views were striking, and the old buildings and baths interesting. If one wants to visit, I'd recommend a higher priced "suite" facing the garden courtyard, or a day visit with lunch. The drive is a long one up into the mountains, and not convenient to other hotels or wineries.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank NCMountainsArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank dikar1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Alandaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancagua
11.8 mi away
Mar Andino Hotel
Mar Andino Hotel
#4 of 7 in Rancagua
63 reviews
16.1 mi away
Noi Puma Lodge
Noi Puma Lodge
#1 of 7 in Rancagua
340 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Manquehue Rancagua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Piedra Verde
Hotel Piedra Verde
#1 of 1 in Machali
8 reviews
12.2 mi away
Diego de Almagro Rancagua
9.9 mi away
No photo provided
Hospedaje Aires del Sur
#6 of 11 in Rancagua
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Termas de Cauquenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termas de Cauquenes

Address: Termas de Cauquenes S/N Machali | Termas de Cauquenes S/N Machali, Rancagua, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Rancagua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rancagua
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Termas de Cauquenes Hotel is product of the work of more than a hundred years, a real historic tradition of our country.This oasis of vitalizing and healing thermal waters is located 117 km. south of Santiago, the capital of Chile, in a privileged region, were its highlights are its pure air, autochthonous nature and the best gastronomy. All this bring together an unforgettable experience to our visitors.Termas de Cauquenes Hotel is synonymous to life, rest and pleasure.Your health matters to us more than anything is because of this that we invite you to enjoy our equipments and installations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Termas De Cauquenes Hotel Rancagua
Termas De Cauquenes Rancagua
Termas De Cauquenes Chile/Rancagua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing