We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Rancagua”
Review of Mar Andino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mar Andino Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rancagua
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by just how nice this hotel was. It was set in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Desk staff spoke very good English. The hotel is small with spacious rooms and well appointed bathrooms. We had dinner in the restaurant and unfortunately they didn't have the first 2 things I ordered. My husband had steak and it was disappointing. The waiter was so nice though we didn't bother to say anything. Breakfast (which was included) was a great buffet with lots of choices. Nice pool. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 63 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

It have been staying in this hotel since so many years during my yearly business trip in Chile that I did not remembered how low was the other hotel I used to probe in Rancagua. This year, due to no vacancies during one week of my stay, I had to go back to two previous hotels in Rancagua I used to stay. So I can reassure that Mar Andino, is by far, the best value in Rancagua. Even the prices of the rooms rose by more than 10% in 2013. The wifi connexion is more stable than the other years and you might even have on the unbusy hours a video chat on skype.
The furnitures aged from the opening of the hotel but this is the newest hotel in Rancagua. The TV have evolved to flat screen. Most important compare to other hotels, the rooms and their environment all in the backyard are quiet. The breakfast (included in the room charge as common in Chile) is more in a continental style than in a Spanish "light" style as in the others hotels.
The staff is very welcoming and committed as requested for a hotel of that level.
So I am not helping myself by thumbing up this hotel: this will not be easier to find a room available next year !

Room Tip: All the rooms are away from the street. And even the street is definitively not busy. Maybe avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

There is no hotel called Marandio, the name is Marandino, you need to merge these reviews with the ones listed under Hotel Marandino, it is the same thing.
Having said that, this is a good hotel, close to the center of the city ( a 20 minute walk). It is clean, the staff is friendly and breakfast is very good. Heating and air conditioning works. You can walk to the center of the city, it is a pleasant 20 minute walk, but I was a little scared walking by myself at night, better take a taxi.
It is a business hotel and Rancagua is a business city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent a week at the Mar Andino hotel. The rooms were wonderful - of the quality one can expect in the US or Europe. The staff was outstanding and what made the hotel great. They were friendly, responsive, and attentive. They remembered breakfast preferences, our name and were quick to respond when we could not get the heating unit to work in our room.

Room Tip: We had a triple which is very hard to find in South America!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I do not think you would get to Rancagua for an other purpose than work, or if you want to make a one night pause before return to Santiago. In this both cases, Mar Andino is the best, after testing other hotels in Rancagua downtown.
The rooms are clean (it is a former clinic). I enjoy the breakfast. The meals are overpriced but there is no much options in Rancagua.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent one night at Mar Andino last March on a business trip. Most rooms were ok, but mine had an old cigarette smoke odor all around. Back door was a little busted and the walls had an unpleasant yellowish colour. I saw other rooms that were better in the hotel, but most of the ones in the back unit seemed on the same level as mine. The pool area was nice and the bar/lobby was modern and lively. Staff was on the lukewarm side of friendlyness. Breakfast was a typical buffet with lots of pastrys and fresh fruits, but the better items were running out fast and the kitchen staff was not refueling often enough for everyone to choose the same dishes. I realize that the hotel was at full capacity when we stayed there and I imagine it could explain why my experience left me somewhat less enthusiastic thant other reviewers.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the unit in the far back of the hotel as it doesn't seem as clean as the rest of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel_voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Well if you are in Rancagua you are there for work so you want a green oasis (in a foggy and quite polluted town) with a decent swimming pool, good restaurant (altough after weeks of stay it's a bit boring...but it's quite common in Chile) and the BEST beds I've ever tried...very confortable.
Rooms are tiny but well furnished, including a flat tv with Direct tv cable service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancagua
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manquehue Rancagua
0.9 mi away
Diego de Almagro Rancagua
5.6 mi away
Hotel Piedra Verde
Hotel Piedra Verde
#1 of 1 in Machali
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Noi Puma Lodge
Noi Puma Lodge
#1 of 7 in Rancagua
340 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#6 of 7 in Rancagua
11 reviews
7.5 mi away
No photo provided
Alojamiento Los Nogales
#2 of 11 in Rancagua
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Andino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Andino Hotel

Address: Bulnes 370, Rancagua 2841336, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Rancagua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rancagua
Price Range: $86 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mar Andino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location, next to the Downtown. Restaurant open from Monday to Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Andino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Andino Hotel Chile/Rancagua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing