We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for Rancagua, but not great...”
Review of Mar Andino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mar Andino Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rancagua
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice for Rancagua, but not great...”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent one night at Mar Andino last March on a business trip. Most rooms were ok, but mine had an old cigarette smoke odor all around. Back door was a little busted and the walls had an unpleasant yellowish colour. I saw other rooms that were better in the hotel, but most of the ones in the back unit seemed on the same level as mine. The pool area was nice and the bar/lobby was modern and lively. Staff was on the lukewarm side of friendlyness. Breakfast was a typical buffet with lots of pastrys and fresh fruits, but the better items were running out fast and the kitchen staff was not refueling often enough for everyone to choose the same dishes. I realize that the hotel was at full capacity when we stayed there and I imagine it could explain why my experience left me somewhat less enthusiastic thant other reviewers.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the unit in the far back of the hotel as it doesn't seem as clean as the rest of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel_voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
16
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Well if you are in Rancagua you are there for work so you want a green oasis (in a foggy and quite polluted town) with a decent swimming pool, good restaurant (altough after weeks of stay it's a bit boring...but it's quite common in Chile) and the BEST beds I've ever tried...very confortable.
Rooms are tiny but well furnished, including a flat tv with Direct tv cable service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Rancagua is not really a nice place to visit, the city it self is not much fun but we had to be there for 2 days for a wedding.
Since we were there during the summer we really needed a nice hotel with air conditioning and a pool, Rancagua is incredible hot during the summer.
The hotel was very clean, the rooms were cool and quiet. Since the hotel is not that big, it creates a nice home like atmosphere. You get a welcome drink that can be a traditional pisco sour, juice or a soda and the breakfast (incluided in the price) is incredible. Fruits of the season, bread, cheese, jam, different juices, milks and yoghurts. You can also ask for eggs if you want.
The hotel has wi fi but if you don't want to travel with a laptop there also a PC for guess to use. It's an old computer but it works.
Overall, if you have to stay in Rancagua, this is the place to be. The restaurant is great, the people is nice and can speak good english, just don't use any slang and they'll understand ;)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

After staying in a few locations without air conditioning, it was a real treat to get it in the hot month of January with 30C temperatures. Paired with a reliable shower, clean room, nice TV, pool and good restaurant it was a great stop on our trip.

Other pluses included amble and secure parking, a mini-bar, as well as good WiFi - there are several routers along the hallway and we even had one outside our room!

There is nothing much to see in Rancagua. At the same time, the other towns along Ruta 5 also don't have a lot to see. The difference is that there are quite a few wineries to see in the area, so if you are into wine then this isn't too bad a location.

The best part is the breakfast, which was plentiful and had an amazing spread. There was a lot of fruit, your typical breads, salami, ham, cheese, three types of juices, cereal, kucken and some dulce de leche type cream-puffs. You could even order eggs by request.

Highly recommended, especially if you don't like the heat.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winesoakedjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Some reports do not favour this hotel but it is modern, clean, good value with a decent restaurant. A bit out of town but walkable in 20 minutes. Not a hotel for romantics etc but neither is Rancagua

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1950UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniwaki
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Mar Andina Hotel was much better than what I had expected. First, it is quite modern, very clean, offers excellent food, and also has people who are quite fluent in English. There is also ample parking and a safe in the room. (Pisco sour is excellent).
For les than $90.00 US including an excellent breakfast - internet - and a very friendly staff - one can't ask for more!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefty_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

This is a great hotel unfortunately not the best location- Rancagua itself, there isn't much going around- most major attractions are outside the city and most guests at the hotel were business guests or travelers like us, just staying for the night as a stepping stone to get to Santa Cruz. The pool out back was a great place to relax and unwind after a long bus ride from Valparaiso. The dinner at the hotel was also surprisingly good- fish was fresh. All in all, it's a great hotel to stay in if you have to stay in Rancagua but if you can skip it, save the money and head for
Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancagua
1.4 mi away
Hotel Manquehue Rancagua
27.8 mi away
Noi Puma Lodge
Noi Puma Lodge
#1 of 7 in Rancagua
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diego de Almagro Rancagua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Hotel Monticello
Hotel Monticello
#1 of 3 in San Francisco de Mostazal
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Villa Alegre
Rancho Villa Alegre
#9 of 11 in San Fernando
2 reviews
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hospedaje Aires del Sur
#5 of 12 in Rancagua
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Andino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Andino Hotel

Property: Mar Andino Hotel
Address: Bulnes 370, Rancagua 2841336, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Rancagua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rancagua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mar Andino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location, next to the Downtown. Restaurant open from Monday to Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Andino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Andino Hotel Chile/Rancagua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing