We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
85
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
85
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten path rain water heart and soul remote location private beach unique experience snorkeling excursion took great care atm cave our honeymoon watch the sunrise every meal every single meal one of a kind slice of paradise rented a car sand flies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 89 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2019

We LOVED our stay at Leaning Palm Resort. The bungalow we stayed in was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We loved the “off the beaten path” location - it gave us a chance to disconnect and enjoy all the beautiful sights Belize has to offer. Ken and Taunya were amazing hosts - the food was delicious (Taunya is an unbelievable chef!) and our local excursions were thoughtfully planned and authentic. We were able to kayak through nearby lagoons and hike to a variety of waterfalls in one of the national parks. Every part of our stay felt personalized and purposeful. Communication was quick and travel to and from the bungalow was very organized - despite flight troubles on our end, Ken and Taunya ensured our arrival and departure was smooth. We definitely recommend this place to those looking for the perfect balance of comfort and adventure!

Date of stay: February 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenandbillytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmerber_bruns, Owner at Leaning Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

We are so excited you enjoyed your time here in Belize at Leaning Palm Resort. Your comments on the food, excursions and overall logistics are very encouraging and remind us of why we work so hard every day to take care of our guests. Thank you so much for leaving this very kind review! Happy Travels to you both!!
~Ken and Taunya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

We had a great time at Leaning Palm Resort. Taunya and Ken have built really beautiful cabins, and tons of little sitting areas to hang out on the beach, with lounge chairs and hammocks everywhere. It's a wonderful place to read and relax endlessly, with a few walks along the coast and swims in between.
Taunya and Ken were fantastic hosts and took great care of us. Excellent food, fancy drinks, lots of relaxed conversations, hanging out, always someone ready to help you when you needed anything. All the employees are lovely. Dinner was always 4 courses, so quite elaborate and very good.
We really enjoyed the kayak trip to Gales Point. I was quite tired (I am in my 50s) but we were told we made the trip in less time than most, so guess we did ok. Saw lots of birds, even babies in a nest, enjoyed the scenery, and saw lots of manatees coming up to breathe at the springs in the lagoon. I was glad I had my binoculars for all of this.
The lunch was really good at Gentle's Cool Spot. There is not much in Gales Point, it is tiny, but fun to see another way of life and also...there is a surprise to see there, but I'm not giving it away. Let's just say a miracle of nature.
The last night we were there, Ken and Taunya took us out on kayaks to see the bioluminescence in the ocean. This was really lovely and special and I really appreciated this extra activity just thrown in for free! This might not be available at all times, mind you, it is only there when the ocean is really flat and there is no moon, I think.
The rooms are large, very clean, and very comfortable. Lots of artistic details. Fans keep you cool at night if you need them.
We bought a package which included Ken picking us up in Dangriga and a taxi taking us to the airport. (2 hours) This was all perfect, went very smoothly.
I highly recommend this place to get away from it all, to experience a slower and more relaxed way of life, to swim and sleep and eat great food. There is not much to do though, you are in the middle of nowhere, so this is a place for relaxing rather than an activity filled vacation. You can't just go elsewhere to eat or anything, it is a long way to any town. So this is best for people who'd like a great beach experience with lots of down time. And dog play time too- nice dogs kept me company all day.
Only down to experience- some mosquitoes.

Room tip: We had the driftwood cabin and it is really cute.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunyabruns, Owner at Leaning Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here at Leaning Palm Resort. We enjoyed hosting you and are happy that the stars aligned and we were able to enjoy the bio luminescence which is so magical at night! Thanks so much for recommending us to others; we really appreciate the time it takes to write and review - THANK YOU!!
~Ken and Taunya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

Leaning Palm Resort was a wonderful little resort. Ken and Taunya were the best hosts so accommodating to all our needs and wants. The onsite restaurant has the best food cooked by Tauyna and Christine. Our youngest is a picky eater and lived off of quesadillas the first part of our trip but as soon as he had lunch at Wild Canes he couldn't wait for happy hour and then dinner, he LOVED the food we all did.
We booked one excursion through the resort which was snorkeling and it was great. Honestly this was the most relaxing part of the trip to Belize for me, just waking up to the Caribbean Sea outside my door and not having to cook :)

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alexis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunyabruns, Owner at Leaning Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Thank you so very very much Alexis for taking time to write a review for us. We truly appreciate it. We are so happy you all enjoyed the food and your overall time here with us. We hope to have a chance to host you again someday - it was a pleasure!
~Taunya and Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

Ken and Tanya were very hospitable hosts. The scenery is great and the food is even better. The cabins were uniquely built and quite spacious. Hammocks were perfect relaxation at the end of the day. Highly recommended for a private little paradise.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunyabruns, Owner at Leaning Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Thanks so much for taking time to share your experience here at Leaning Palm Resort with others. We really enjoyed hosting you and enjoyed sharing our little slice of paradise here in Belize with you. Maybe we will get another chance again in the future! We sure hope so.
~Taunya and Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

Loved our stay here and we were already talking about coming back with another couple and the kids and renting all three bungalows. It is about 1.5 hours on bumpy dirt road, but totally worth it because of the secluded location. As far as you can see up and down the beach, there is nothing but palm trees and jungle. We felt like we had our own private deserted island. We were the only ones staying there for our two nights, but there are so many cute seating areas and hammocks that even if others were there, you still would feel very private. The food is amazing! And at our request, was very considerate of our gluten and dairy sensitivities. Thoughtful and delicious. Note that there is nothing around for at least 2 hours, so bring whatever snacks you might want with you. We stayed in the Bamboo Bungalow which is at the far end of the three, so only one neighbor. Not that you would probably hear another Bungalow, the ocean waves are a constant background noise. We did not do any excursions but instead used our time to just relax after our jungle adventures. The hosts are friendly and eager to accommodate. We would definitely stay there again. If you are looking for something different, off the beaten track, and totally relaxing, then this is the place. If you want a big tourist town with huge resorts, then you probably aren’t reading this.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunyabruns, Owner at Leaning Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

We would love to have you back! Thanks so much for taking time to write this review and for choosing to stay with us. We really enjoyed hosting you and it would be a pleasure to host you again. Until then.....
~Ken and Taunya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews