We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the starred rating!”

Chateau Cordeillan-bages
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Pauillac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $195
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: On the route of the châteaux, close to Château Lynch-Bages, grand cru classé of Pauillac, this 17th century charterhouse invites you to discover true art de vivre. Around a garden, the bright guestrooms with their muted, timeless décor, the pool, the sauna and the terraces near the vineyards create a haven of well-being. In the dining room, Chef refines the products of the South West and proposes a delightful dialogue between a contemporary cuisine and the Bordeaux grand crus. Visits to châteaux, tasting classes, elaboration of own wine, strolling with the family in the village... Share the savoir-vivre of Epicurean Médoc
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
160 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Deserves the starred rating!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The service was impeccable with the exception of a small glitch when offered the bread. The food was exquisite and the dishes were very well presented. Two notes to take into consideration: 1) the setting is a bit simplistic like the rest of the hotel interior, and 2) the price tag is commensurate with the starred status of the restaurant

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank louayac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    41
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice setting and great food”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Another must stop place in the Bordeaux area. The hotel is in the middle of a vineyard and the restaurant is full of paintings. The food is excellent and the wine list impressive. By the middle of the menu decouverte we were stuffed but the fantastic looking and beautifully composed dishes kept us going. Thanks for makin it a great night.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lebmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate here 7 years ago for dinner and decided to have lunch while wine tasting this week. As others have said the staff went out of their way assist, speaking to us in both English and French. The starter of foie gras with figs was interesting and beautifully presented like a wheel, followed by sea bass for my husband and duck for me. The winter vegetables were not that exciting but we couldn't fault them. Delightful desert of chocolate tart filled with milk chocolate and a divine peanut caramel crisp. Good wine from the Lynch Bages stable.

It is what I would expect from a two star michelin restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymousfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too many courses to finish”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Brought desert to the room. Some of the most beautiful food I have ever had. 9 plus courses including 3 desert courses.

Wine list is to die for and when the check comes, you almost do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chugs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A memorable meal, experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was one of the meals I will treasure in my life. Quite an experience. I had the 9 courses meal, which was a lot, even being small dishes. And yet they kept bringing extras in between, chief's inventions, then more cheese and chocolate in the end. The service is all you could expect from a 2 michelin stars: formal, attentive, but also very well informed and pleasant, nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JFormiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Cordeillan-bages also viewed

Pauillac, Gironde
Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, Gironde
 
Pauillac, Gironde
 

Been to Chateau Cordeillan-bages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing