We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
29
77
55
31
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
29
77
55
31
12
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 204 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is on the front at Paillac with a clear view of the Gironde estuary from the terrace bar. We were there as part of a group and had rooms at the back which were shady and quiet. We also ate dinner on a table at the back which was private and shaded from the hot sun, and stopped us disturbing anyone else. The food was local and deliciously cooked and we got good wine recommendations from the waiters. The service was excellent and very friendly, but the rooms were small and a bit tired. I'd stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Barkbysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while we explored the northern wine country. We wanted something fairly far north and Pauillac turned out to be a pretty good choice, though St. Julienne would have been another possibility.

The Hotel de France & d’Angleterre is located at the southern end of the waterfront, not far from the excellent Tourist Information Center. Free parking is across the street in an open lot or along the side streets. The front desk staff were efficient and friendly. The lobby opens into the hotel restaurant (we didn’t try it so we can’t comment) and into a small courtyard with additional rooms beyond. We were in the main part of the hotel on the second floor (room 119) overlooking the waterfront. The room was small and simply furnished with a luggage stand, desk & chair, two night stands, a low but comfortable bed (with low and hard pillows) and a built-in closet with a curtained entrance (no safe), a few hangers and just one shelf. There was no other storage space. Wifi was ok. Despite its location overlooking the street it was quiet. There was no a.c. but at this time of year we didn’t need it.

The bathroom was adequate-sized with a tub/shower combo. The shower head tended to “wander” and there was some grout discoloration. The counterspace was ok.

All in all, the Hotel de France is a comfortable place, adequate (but hardly outstanding) for a short stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

No problems here. Acceptable English spoken and understood, very helpful and courteous personnel. The room has two areas, two and three stars. We stayed in the 3 star wing, found the room to be as expected, nothing to complain about. Quiet, comfortable. Good Wi-Fi! Recommended.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Espen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

I went to the restaurant located at the bottom of the hotel for lunch. A nice selection of wines by the glass, an outdoor terrace with an almost south of France feel about it. Lovely well presented food and very good value. Nice friend attentive staff.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 673stephenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Who knew that some cold meat (charcuterie) and salad, a simple piece of sea bass with vegetables, nice bread and a pear charlotte could be so delicious?

At 11.50 Euros for two courses and 14.50 Euros for three, it was outstanding value.

We arrived in Pauillac on a wet Monday in early February. It wasn't promising. but we spotted this hotel and the restaurant was open. At this time of year, we were grateful just to find somewhere that wasn't closed.

It was a lovely, simple meal. Even the badly-behaved children nearby, who managed to smear the windows with their ice-cream covered palm prints didn't spoil it. The service was impeccable. The people who run this hotel clearly care about what they do.

It was generous in every respect, from the beautiful plump sea bass fillet, to the endless supply of lovely bread and butter.

For a cheap, unpretentious yet delicious meal the Hotel de France et d'Angleterre is highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andydrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews