We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Pomys(Saint-Estephe)
$106
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Les Phoenix(Pauillac)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
22
69
48
27
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
69
48
27
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 176 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night, bed and breakfast, so can't comment on the dinner. It's two hotels in one (one is three star, one is two star). We had a room in the three star bit, which is a modern building behind the one in the picture. The room was standard with nothing particularly memorable, it had a balcony looking over the car park at the rear.

The front of the hotel is attractive and overlooks the wide estuary. We had breakfast on the front terrace, which was a standard continental buffet - although they kept the coffee pot closely guarded and we had to wait ages for a second cup.

We ate in a restaurant a couple of doors along (can't remember the name, but it had a pink awning and decor), the food was ok but we felt overpriced (a la carte).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

There are a great number of restaurants along the Quai Albert- Pichon, in Pauillac. My wife says I have a "nose" for picking a winner when faced with such a choice. Having selected the Hotel de France for lunch it did not disappoint. We ate on the sunny terrace, a superb, inexpensive, beautifully cooked and presented meal, washed down with a bottle of a splendid house white, as recommended by our most helpful waitress. As a better table became free, she moved us without any fuss.One of the signs I look for when making a choice of restaurant is to walk through, get a feel for how busy it is, and do the diners look as if they are enjoying themselves. The de France was very busy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This hotel is located along a boulevard that overlooks a moderate sized boat dock. This is the 'tourist" area of Pauillac with other hotels and restaurants on this road. The hotel has two buildings, one old, the other new. The old seems to be dated to the late 1800's or early 1900's. The old rooms are on the small side and a dated in decor. However, you could request a room with view of the water front. The back building looked recently build, maybe in the last ten years. I did not see these rooms, but the are most likely to be more spacious and perhaps newer decor. People at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The restaurant also had nice ambiance and good food.

Room Tip: Try the new building if you would like a nicer room. However, new building does not have water front views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravenspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent the night there last week. When we arrived at the hotel, we encountered a snotty lady at the reception who didn't even care to look at us while she checked us in. The room we were given was rather tiny, which would have been okay for one night. The disgusting bit about it was the extreme odour of old cigarette smoke. The fact that smoking in French hotels was prohibited 3,5 years ago didn't really make it any better.

Dinner at the hotel was quite an interesting experience too. When we asked the waiter, whether a table for 2 was available, he told us to wait, disappeared and didn't show up anymore. Were were glad to be seated by a friendly waitress - the first and only pleasing experience at the hotel. There was a 4-course tasting menu with 3 choices for each course, so we decided to go for it. The food was presented in a pretty haute cuisine fashion, but every single course was a disappointment to the core. I believe that most of what was served must have been convenience food. I cannot imagine that the tastebuds of any chef could possibly be that miserable.

We were happy to leave the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Munchqin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We booked this hotel on arriving in Pauillac and seeing that it was overlooking the water. The building from outside looked nice enough. Our room however was nothing short of rubbish, it was a box room at the back overlooking the gardens. I think the decore was from the 1970s and the paintwork was very tired. The shower had no curtain which resulted in dicing with death every time you got out the shower as the floor was a mini ocean. Worst part though was that we were kept awake by other guests right underneath our bedroom after midnight drinking at tables. We phoned reception twice who apologised and said they were on the case. In the end we had to tell them to be quiet and they left for their rooms on the other side of the garden, being most abusive. It was not a relaxing stay and we had no sleep. Definitely avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ng1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews