We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It lives up to its reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauillac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As a member of Relais & Chateaux, hosting a two-star Michelin restaurant, and being owned by one of the grand names in the Pauillac wine fraternity, Cordeillan-Bages may not need a positive review. Virtually everything about our stay was in keeping with this, from the staff to the room to the ambiance of the little Bages community. We had dinner in the restaurant and this too lived up to its "star" status. Two minor issues. The wifi network was erratic. It worked in some parts of the hotel and not in others. It worked in some parts of our room and not in others. And breakfast, while very good by French standards, was expensive. I would note that dinner was far more expensive and worth every penny. Hotel breakfast ought to be a la carte, especially in an area where there are no cafe alternatives. The town of Pauillac is forgettable, but then one comes an hour outside Bordeaux because of the vineyards and the wine. Cordeilla-Bages is ab ideal anchor for such a voyage!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 342 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stopped here hoping for a rest stop and coffee on our return to Bordeaux. Our coffee was enjoyed by the vines, and we were treated to an unexpected aerial display by French jets, practising for a National event. People came from their homes to witness this fantastic sight,which added a breathtaking experience to our coffee break. It's a beautiful place, quiet and exclusive, with the aerial acrobatics a priceless addition.

Room Tip: Near the vines
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geraldq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel building itself is really beautiful, and is in an excellent location for visiting the top-notch vineyards nearby.

Before we arrived the hotel were very helpful and accommodating in meeting all of our requirements - things like arranging visits to chateaux, booking restaurants, arranging a babysitter etc. Service when we got there was excellent too, everyone was very friendly and efficient.

Our room was fine - nothing particularly exciting given the price, but equally nothing wrong with it. We had our 18 month old son with us in a cot in the room, and we still all had plenty of space.

The grounds are also very nice: the swimming pool area was great and being able to cool down was very welcome given how hot it was when we visited. We also particularly enjoyed having breakfast (and drinks) overlooking the chateau's own (small) vineyard, and our son particularly enjoyed running between the vines (not sure this is encouraged but he loved it!).

We ate at the restaurant on one night and thought it was excellent. I've seen reviews saying 'it's more one star than two' etc. which I'll leave to those more in the know to judge, but as far as we were concerned it was superb. Delicious food, presented in interesting and innovative ways (we got unreasonably excited when the 'butter board' - think cheese board but with lots of different kinds of butter - was wheeled over), and with superb service.

Clearly this place isn't cheap (either as a hotel or a restaurant), but as a treat I'd whole-heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I am generally thrilled with every Relais Chateaux experience we have on vacation, as we have come to rely on the predictability of their unique and lovely experience - until this one. While the hotel itself is visually very nice there is no soul to it whatsoever. We arrived on a Sunday only to learn that the Relais Gourmande restaurant was closed until our departure date and there are very few options for any kind of acceptable dining on a Sunday. We were recommended to the tiny waterfront area restaurant called the Rotunda by staff members which was, to say the least, a completely unacceptable option and thankfully closed. The hotel has really no vibe, no soft music and a really miniscule breakfast which at one point I had to go into the kitchen to request a pot of coffee as the wait staff was busy conversing. The one highlight was Clemence who is at the front desk. She is a lovely, bright and extremely helpful individual and the only real bright spot in this place. We arrived at this destination through the Wine Spectator review and while we enjoyed other things outside of Paullac, we will not have any need to return to this property at all and found it extremely disappointing and expensive for what it is. Personally, I don't think it merits the status it has with Relais Chateaux.

Room Tip: Request a room with an outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFCATravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First of all, let me clarify that I had a good dinner and I was not sick due to my gluten-intolerance, which is fine.
However, it was well below my expectations for a 2-star restaurant, which meant "it's worth the detour".
I went there as I was staying at a property nearby (Ormez de Pez - really a great place) and I asked there for suggestions for a gluten-free restaurant. They suggested Cordeillan Bage... and later I discovered they belonged to the same people. Ok, a bit of a conflict of interest which was not disclosed.

We were offered to sit outside for the aperitif, however, earlier it was raining so chairs were wet. We had to wait for chairs to be wiped, althought rain had stopped a while before. Chairs were poorly wiped so other guests were complaining they were getting wet.

They tried to serve me amuse-bouche which clearly contained gluten and then replaced them. Then they tried to serve normal bread, I had to remind them again.
I had to tell the guy serving the bread not to cut it on the same cutting board as normal bread (bread is cut at your table).
They brought the mignardises in front of me and then took them away (disappointment - also because it's so easy to offer something chocolate based - one of the few sweets we can eat freely - I was offered pates de fruit), clarifying that chocolates are made by Valrhona (by Valrhona! You would expect something made on the premises for a 2-star, wouldn't you?) and the notice says they may contain traces of gluten (of course, so Lindt or Venchi might be a better choice....).
Finally, we haven't seen the chef, something you would expect in a etoilé restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Gatt0ner0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

“Stayed here for two nights with my wife as an anniversary gift – really a first class experience. The hotel knew we were coming for a special visit and had a wonderful bottle of 2005 Lynch-Bages waiting for us in the room. We stayed in one of the superior grade rooms with a terrace, which was a real pleasure – loved enjoying our bottle out there, overlooking the gardens. The staff throughout the hotel was incredibly accommodating, top-notch. One of my favorite aspects of the hotel is its location, just a few miles away from some of the best cháteaux and wine estates in the region. My insider tip? Contact Ronald Rens at The Bordeaux Wine Experience who will arrange a custom tour of the many famous and lesser-known Bordeaux wineries.”

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

One night in an extraordinary place. It was a very hot day and we arrived mid afternoon.
The reception was awaiting us outside to take on the luggage and get the check-in done in a quick but very friendly manner.
Our room, No. 30, was a long way from the entrance and in a very quiet part. We overlooked the swimming pool and garden and further away the vineyards.
We had spacious very modern and tasteful decorated room with a almost silent A/C but working well with 30 degrees outside. The bathroom was a dream of a jacuzzi and huge shower.
A bottle of wine and some tasty snack was waiting for us, a real treat.
Just before dinner we strolled to the outside terrace and got immediate attention. The recommended white wine was just as we like it.
For dinner we had the 3 course menu & dessert with matching wines. Interesting presentations and all delicious.
The staff is very attentive and we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauillac
10.3 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
20.6 mi away
Chateau Grattequina
Chateau Grattequina
#1 of 2 in Blanquefort
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
136 reviews
15.8 mi away
Chateau de Mirambeau
Chateau de Mirambeau
#1 of 1 in Mirambeau
287 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Premayac
Villa Premayac
#4 of 4 in Blaye
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Cordeillan-Bages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Cordeillan-Bages

Address: Route des Chateaux, 33250 Pauillac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pauillac
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauillac
Price Range: $241 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Cordeillan-Bages 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the route of the châteaux, close to Château Lynch-Bages, grand cru classé of Pauillac, this 17th century charterhouse invites you to discover true art de vivre. Around a garden, the bright guestrooms with their muted, timeless décor, the pool, the sauna and the terraces near the vineyards create a haven of well-being. In the dining room, Chef Julien Lefebvre refines the products of the South West and proposes a delightful dialogue between a contemporary cuisine and the Bordeaux grand crus. Visits to châteaux, tasting classes, elaboration of own wine, strolling with the family in the village... Share the savoir-vivre of Epicurean Médoc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Cordeillan-Bages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages Hotel Pauillac
Chateau Cordeillan Bages Pauillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing