We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful”
Review of Les Phoenix

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pauillac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Phoenix
Ranked #1 of 4 Pauillac B&B and Inns
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

As the other reviews, Les Phoenix is clean and comfortable and Christophe goes out of his way to provide anything you might need, and the lift to the station was very helpful. Staying there feels a bit like a superior hostel because of the opportunity to meet other guests in the shared kitchen and lounge area. Sharing the one bathroom and two toilets might be a bit of an issue when he has 9 people staying. Overall a memorable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix-0156, Propriétaire at Les Phoenix, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Google Translation
votre opinion reflète bien le principe de la maison pour le contact et la connaissance des autres en toutes sincérités
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
37
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is my first time to post a review on trip advisor although I have been traveling so often in so many places. Needless to say, this stay was very impressive in terms of the people and the house.
The host Christ kindly picked us up at the train station and welcomed us at the platform. He showed us around the town and indicated where the nice restaurants were and where we could do food shopping. He asked me which chateau I would be visiting and kindly offered me a ride to the chateau. He always showed up on time when we indicated the time we wished to have breakfast. He prepared breakfast with a wide range. I love the home-made confiture and the fresh fruit very much. He made our trip in Pauillac go very easily and comfortably.
The house in itself is very beautiful with small decorations in the room. You can tell that they pick the furniture carefully and even arrange the room with great care: always clean and neat. I can feel the French spirit from this complex.
In sum, if you are looking for safe, clean, comfortable, friendly, happy wine-tour in Pauillac, come to Les Phoenix! It is not only a stay but a memory in life.

Room Tip: The room with a view towards the entrance of the door is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanhuiping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix-0156, Propriétaire at Les Phoenix, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir pris un moment pour rédiger vos impressions nous avons été avec vous comme toutes personnes de passage dans nos lieux, resterons aussi agréables que possible a vous donner envies de revenir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love this place and the people there. Very tranquil and comfortable. Christophe and Nicole were absolutely brilliant despite they don't speak very good English. Christophe tried very hard to explain everything to us in English plus gesture, and I also tried my broken French (thanks to google translate as well)...hahhaha...so basically not a big problem after all.

The house is quite well located, at least I didn't find it hard to go everywhere with my bicycle. Breakfast was fantastic, quite a few bread, juices, jams you can choose from, also fruits, we were impressed (and so were my friends after they saw the breakfast photo I had uploaded onto facebook). Bathroom was nice too, if with a shower curtain something like that would be much much nicer but actually only my husband had a problem with that...! and I have to mention the dogs, just love them and they did their job well cos I coincidentally found them sitting just right outside the house and I suddenly felt very safe staying there.

I strongly recommend Les Phoenix if you want to have a comfortable lovely stay in Pauillac. Everything was perfect and just makes you feel like home and we miss the couple's smile and kindness.

Btw, I met a very helpful train station staff who gave us a ride to Les Phoenix. Really Really thanks for her big help. Nice place Nice people~~

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annatse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Christophe and Nicole were fantastic hosts and the accommodation is beautifully maintained. From when we first arrived we were made to feel really welcome. The accommodation is very comfortable and the swimming pool is a great asset. Breakfast is copious and tasty with some excellent homemade produce. Some other nice touches such as free soft drinks and ice creams in the fridge. All in all, a fantastic experience!
Pauillac is a charming village and was the perfect location to explore the local vineyards (we visited both Lynch Bages and Pontet Canet, both highly recommended).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

First of all, the place- well situated close to the centre and the Gironde. Lovely main building, I stayed in the owners home as the main building was full, which was equally nice, there's a pool, lovely outdoor area, gorgeous dogs and cats...!
Secondly the welcome- Christophe and Nicole are possibly the nicest people on earth?! I turned up late after a long days cycling and was offered a huge meal with themselves and other guests for just 12 euro. Not so much the amazing value as being welcomed and fed and watered, which felt like being with family and friends. There's a fridge with drinks and snacks available for guests without charge, little pots of sweeties in the rooms- it all just adds to the feel that guests genuinely are welcome. I wanted for nothing and christophe and another guests even fixed my bike!
Thanks to other trip advisors for bringing this place to my attention. Not only would I come back here, I'd make a special trip to pauillac just to come here!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix-0156, Propriétaire at Les Phoenix, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
thank you for taking some of your time to participate in the promotion of our institution. We seek to be as natural as possible and respond to the expectations of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowhere land
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2011

really awesome experience! Monsieur Arnold is very hospitable and warm. the room is huge, but it didnt matter. I stayed in the little cottage (their house) and had a wonderful time; reminds me of cuba. you will be a lot happier than in a hotel. love the Pauillac village and I think I'll come back; and of course would stay at les phoenix again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yammer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The rooms offer enough space even if you travel with a child. They are very clean and calm. The breakfast is delicious. You share toilet and bath with maximum two other parties on the floor. Car parking is possible on the site. During the daytime soft drinks and snacks are offered by the host.
There is also a pool - and a dog.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauillac
0.6 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
3.6 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
624 reviews
6.3 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
11.4 mi away
Le Pavillon de Margaux
Le Pavillon de Margaux
#2 of 2 in Margaux
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Phoenix

Property: Les Phoenix
Address: 21 rue Jean Mermoz, 33250 Pauillac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pauillac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pauillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here, the owners of places have sense of reception . They accept every public with the same respect and the same enthusiasm.very close to the town centre of Pauillac, in a quiet quarter, a recent pretty home put down on a big livened up garden swimming pool for happiness babies and bigin the rez of putting on, a big modern kitchen on stay and entrance which make service of common room. A lot space and of light to stay in peace there.The comfortable rooms and from good taste receive you with their new furniture. Two rooms have a corner washbowl. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing