We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern luxury in an ancient place”
Review of Dedeman Erbil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dedeman Erbil
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Erbil
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Modern luxury in an ancient place”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed in a regular room on the 5th floor. The rooms and public spaces are both above par. Rooms have a fridge, and plenty of plugs on the desk. The best thing about the room for me was the shower. Loved the dual shower heads, especially the over-sized rain shower.

The service at this hotel is wonderful. Upon entering my room, I needed to check my email, and immediately tried to log in using the my personal code I was given on check in. Unsuccessful. The bellhop arrived with my bags and I asked if he could tell me if I was logging in wrong. He explained that it sometimes take a few minutes for my registration at the front desk to enable the wifi login to work. So, I figured I'd just wait. Two minutes after leaving my room, the phone rang and it was the man who delivered my bags, giving me a special login code to use until my personal one kicked in. I hadn't asked for this, and the code was delivered faster than I thought this guy could even get to the front desk.

The breakfast buffet is great. American choices of cereal, great yogurts, and European choices of meats and cheeses. Eggs of any type can be ordered. Middle eastern dishes including dates, etc.. The service in the dining room is wonderful. Tea and coffee service is prompt. I also had lunch in the dining room one day, and the salad was wonderful. Incredible fresh fruit and vegetables.

The cons: It's a smoking culture here, and the lobby was filled with smokers. I had to make sure I sat in the non smoking section in the large breakfast room to avoid the smokers. The first day I was there, the electricity went out several times for a few minutes. I'm not sure of the cause, but it could be from the building going on around the city. It did make me want to avoid the elevators. There isn't a lot of alcohol in the city, and the red wine I was served in the bar was retrieved from a fridge and served chilled.

Security was tight. Your bags are retrieved at the curb and immediately x-ray'd, and you are required to go through airport like security each time you enter the hotel. A friend dropped me off one night by pulling up at the side entrance, and security immediately rushed at us yelling to move the car.

Erbil was a wonderful city, and the Dedeman made it an enjoyable stay. I walked to the Citadel from the hotel, and their restaurant recommendations were good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kallen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YildirayYurdakul, Genel Müdür at Dedeman Erbil, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın,
Dedeman Erbil Otel’de konaklamanız boyunca yaşamış olduğunuz deneyimleri, vakit ayırıp bizlerle paylaştığınız ve olumlu geri dönüşünüz için teşekkür ederiz

Olumlu değerlendirmeleriniz için teşekkür eder, hizmet standartımızı her zaman geliştirmeye devam ettiğimizi bildirmek isteriz.

Bu doğrultuda yapmış olduğunuz değerli yorumunuz ekip üyelerimiz ile paylaşılmıştır ve sizi en yakın zamanda otelimizde ağırlamaktan onur duyacağımızı bilmenizi isteriz.

Saygılarımızla,

Yildiray Yurdakul
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aci Castello, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Dedeman hotel in Erbil is a brand new 5 stars hotel. It looks modern, clean. It offers great services.
Yet too many things don't work as they should: the rooms are over-heated, and the conditioned centralized system doesn't let the client to use air conditioning in "winter" (Middle-Eastern so-called Winter!) or heating in Summer. Even if you turn off the system, you still have an average of +27 degrees celsius in the room.. definitively too hot for me. I needed to open up the window, and therefore I had to cope with the typical noise of a Middle Eastern city (VERY noisy).
The linens and the pillows are synthetic, therefore amplifying the "over-heating" problem.
The hotels experiences frequent (short) energy blacks out; I understand that Iraqi Kurdistan in general and Erbil in particular are under great energetic pressure because of all the new constructions; but why on earth there are no emergency lamps lit when that happens??
Last (but definitively not least), 5 out of 5 treadmills in the gym are not accurate: they all register a speed which is way above the real one (I guess the internal engines should all be registered).
Offer at the internal restaurant for dinner, while breakfast is fine

Room Tip: ask for a room which is not directly exposed to the sun, if you suffer heat. Choose one in the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YildirayYurdakul, Genel Müdür at Dedeman Erbil, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın,
Dedeman Erbil Otel’de konaklamanız boyunca yaşamış olduğunuz deneyimleri, vakit ayırıp bizlerle paylaştığınız için teşekkür ederiz
Siz değerli misafirlerimizin otelimiz için yaptıkları değerlendirmeler servis kalitemizi yükseltmemizde bize yardımcı olacak ve bu tür aksaklıkların yinelenmesini engelleyecektir. Konu Dedeman Erbil ekibimiz ile paylaşılmıştır.
Değerlendirmelerinizi bizlerle paylaştığınız için çok teşekkür ediyor, sizleri tekrar Dedeman Otelleri’nde ağırlamaktan onur duyacağımızı bilmenizi istiyoruz.

Saygılarımızla,


Yildiray Yurdakul
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've already written a review about this hotel (in turkish) and i don't know why it wasn't published yet. So here i am with another one in english! First of all, Dedeman Erbil is one of 3 or 4 REAL international 5 stars hotel in Erbil. when i say standards, i talk about the cleanless, decoration, and comfort. However they are really nice about housekeeping and cooking, they have many points to improve about service capacity. Below, are the points to improve:

- i was in the room 513; and the noisy minibar was very annoying during the night time. Technical service has to check all rooms minibars about this concern. It is important for business guests.

- the fact of smoking during the breakfast is unacceptable. i know that you can smoke even in a hospital in Irak, but during the breakfast..?!

- the front office staff speaks english, but most of the rest of hotel staff, and especially in the restaurant are not speaking english. This is a big problem sometimes...

- I have stayed in this hotel during 3 days & 3 nights, but i did learn that there was a SPA at the last day of my stay!! Front office staff should be must informative and helpful while giving information about hotel during the check-in.

- Especially Turkish staff and managers were very helpful. Special thanks to Mr. Gürkan: he was there whenever we need something to enquire...


Hopefully i wil return back to this hotel in the future, and i wish i will find them back with more improvements...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoDoGouRMeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YildirayYurdakul, Genel Müdür at Dedeman Erbil, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın,
Dedeman Erbil Otel’de konaklamanız boyunca yaşamış olduğunuz deneyimleri, vakit ayırıp bizlerle paylaştığınız için teşekkür ederiz
Siz değerli misafirlerimizin otelimiz için yaptıkları değerlendirmeler servis kalitemizi yükseltmemizde bize yardımcı olacak ve bu tür aksaklıkların yinelenmesini engelleyecektir. Konu Dedeman Erbil ekibimiz ile paylaşılmıştır.
Değerlendirmelerinizi bizlerle paylaştığınız için çok teşekkür ediyor, sizleri tekrar Dedeman Otelleri’nde ağırlamaktan onur duyacağımızı bilmenizi istiyoruz.

Saygılarımızla,


Yildiray Yurdakul
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at the Dedeman in Erbil in early December 2013. Nice hotel with lovely rooms and a nice ambience about it. Security at the hotel entrance was assuring but not intrusive, made me feel comfortable. The hotel itself is relatively new and was in very good condition, everything was clean and in very good order. My room was very nice, however it was "inside" so no window and hence no view. The AC in the room seemed to be defaulted to "heat" mode, not surprising seeing as it was winter and only 6 - 7 deg C outside. However, the room was a little warm at times.
Only ate at the breakfast buffet which was very good with lots of choice and plenty good qualit food to set you up for the day ahead. The bars were good but very pricey. Overall a good stay in the Dedeman and if in Erbil again would have no hesitation to stay here. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and always smiling which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YildirayYurdakul, Genel Müdür at Dedeman Erbil, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın,
Dedeman Erbil Otel’de konaklamanız boyunca yaşamış olduğunuz deneyimleri, vakit ayırıp bizlerle paylaştığınız ve olumlu geri dönüşünüz için teşekkür ederiz

Olumlu değerlendirmeleriniz için teşekkür eder, hizmet standartımızı her zaman geliştirmeye devam ettiğimizi bildirmek isteriz.

Bu doğrultuda yapmış olduğunuz değerli yorumunuz ekip üyelerimiz ile paylaşılmıştır ve sizi en yakın zamanda otelimizde ağırlamaktan onur duyacağımızı bilmenizi isteriz.

Saygılarımızla,

Yildiray Yurdakul
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Anyone travelling to Erbil could be forgiven for being somewhat sceptical give it's challenging recent history. However please let me recommend this oasis in the heart of the city. Great rooms, high quality furnishings, well maintained, excellent breakfast and a lobby service that can be compared to some of the best around. So once you have passed the X-ray scanner on entering, put your feet up, enjoy a beverage and good food and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winstone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YildirayYurdakul, Genel Müdür at Dedeman Erbil, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın,
Dedeman Erbil Otel’de konaklamanız boyunca yaşamış olduğunuz deneyimleri, vakit ayırıp bizlerle paylaştığınız ve olumlu geri dönüşünüz için teşekkür ederiz

Olumlu değerlendirmeleriniz için teşekkür eder, hizmet standartımızı her zaman geliştirmeye devam ettiğimizi bildirmek isteriz.

Bu doğrultuda yapmış olduğunuz değerli yorumunuz ekip üyelerimiz ile paylaşılmıştır ve sizi en yakın zamanda otelimizde ağırlamaktan onur duyacağımızı bilmenizi isteriz.

Saygılarımızla,

Yildiray Yurdakul
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The first impression of the hotel is excellent, with a spacious lobby, polite staff, a classy looking lobby bar and a glass elevator going up and down. The rooms have a similar effect as the one I stayed in was spacious, with a separate seating area with a sofa and chair. Room service was prompt and the food good. Mini-bar was well stocked and the bed comfortable.

But there are some problems, some of which are serious for a hotel charging the amount that it does:

- The air conditioning is awful. It was off when I arrived into the room at 3pm and the curtains fully open, so the room was 30 degrees. Although it had come down to 20 degrees by 11pm that night, it then went off while I slept. This meant that it woke me up at 6am when it restarted with a loud beep and also meant that the room was 28 degrees by then.
- The curtains look good but let a large amount of light into the room.
- There was an awful smell coming from the bathroom when I arrived, which thankfully had gone by the evening. However, it had returned the following morning.
- There is no iron or iron board in the hotel. If you want any shirts ironing then you ahve to pay to have them sent to the laundry service. If this is included in the room rate then fine. But it's not. And due to the time of most people's arrival will also mean they need to use the Express Service to get them back in time for morning meetings.
- The floor was filthy. I have stayed in other hotels in similar environments (hot climate with a lot of dust/sand) and this has not been a problem. However, with a wooden floor this is an issue. Just as well they provided slippers.
- The windows are not sound-proofed to a good enough level. I could hear every car and even people shouting, even though I was on the fourth floor.

As a result I booked myself into another hotel and checked out the following morning rather than endure another 3 nights of staying in a ridiculously hot room.

I really wanted to like this hotel as on the surface it is superb. However the standard is nowhere near good enough for the amount they are charging.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YildirayYurdakul, Genel Müdür at Dedeman Erbil, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın,
Dedeman Erbil Otel’de konaklamanız boyunca yaşamış olduğunuz deneyimleri, vakit ayırıp bizlerle paylaştığınız için teşekkür ederiz
Siz değerli misafirlerimizin otelimiz için yaptıkları değerlendirmeler servis kalitemizi yükseltmemizde bize yardımcı olacak ve bu tür aksaklıkların yinelenmesini engelleyecektir. Konu Dedeman Erbil ekibimiz ile paylaşılmıştır.
Değerlendirmelerinizi bizlerle paylaştığınız için çok teşekkür ediyor, sizleri tekrar Dedeman Otelleri’nde ağırlamaktan onur duyacağımızı bilmenizi istiyoruz.

Saygılarımızla,


Yildiray Yurdakul
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erbil hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel recently opened. It is located in a busy part of town. Security appears to be good. The staff is friendly. The food is okay. There is a lounge there they are trying to fashion into an English Pub. The rooms are nice. They still have some bugs to work out and get better organized but they are trying. There are other luxury hotels being constructed in Erbil so the competition will be stiff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YildirayYurdakul, Genel Müdür at Dedeman Erbil, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın,
Dedeman Erbil Otel’de konaklamanız boyunca yaşamış olduğunuz deneyimleri, vakit ayırıp bizlerle paylaştığınız ve olumlu geri dönüşünüz için teşekkür ederiz

Olumlu değerlendirmeleriniz için teşekkür eder, hizmet standartımızı her zaman geliştirmeye devam ettiğimizi bildirmek isteriz.

Bu doğrultuda yapmış olduğunuz değerli yorumunuz ekip üyelerimiz ile paylaşılmıştır ve sizi en yakın zamanda otelimizde ağırlamaktan onur duyacağımızı bilmenizi isteriz.

Saygılarımızla,

Yildiray Yurdakul
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erbil hotels
1.9 mi away
Canyon Hotel Erbil
Canyon Hotel Erbil
#8 of 66 in Erbil
56 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Roche Hotel Erbil
La Roche Hotel Erbil
#13 of 66 in Erbil
2 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paris Plaza Hotel
Paris Plaza Hotel
#17 of 66 in Erbil
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Erbil Arjaan by Rotana
0.0 mi away
Grand Istanbul hotel
Grand Istanbul hotel
#41 of 66 in Erbil
1 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 66 in Erbil
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dedeman Erbil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dedeman Erbil

Property: Dedeman Erbil
Address: Erbil 60 City Setekan Nr:36, Erbil 246062, Iraq
Location: Iraq > Erbil Province > Erbil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Erbil
#8 Spa Hotel in Erbil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dedeman Erbil 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dedeman Erbil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeman Erbil Iraq

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing