We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but very expensive”
Review of Divan Erbil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Divan Erbil
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Erbil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

In Iraq, there are very few tourists. Most western visitors are in the employ of oil companies who have deep pockets. As a result, hotels are very very expensive by world standards. As I was travelling as a tourist (on my own money and with no corporate expense account) the Divan was pricey.

The hotel is quite opulent but a bit plasticish. The rooms are good but have small windows.

The breakfast buffet is excellent, as are the staff (except the one who assured me that my room was non-smoking notwithstanding the presence of an ash try and the smell of tobacco).

Security is good, which is important in Iraq obviously.

For a five star hotel, there should be a spa/massage option, which is notable absent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank booyeahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Divan Erbil in general. Your feedback is extremely valuable as it provides us with an opportunity to assess and improve our service at every level. We very much appreciate your positive comments on our security, rooms and breakfast.

We strive to provide our guests with high quality accommodations and service and we apologize that you were not given a non-smoking room as your preference. We would like to assure you that we will look further into this matter to avoid similar situations for our guests. We very much look forward to presenting you with a non-smoking room in the future as %45 of our rooms are non-smoking.

Please also rest assured that all pricing policies of our hotel are carefully monitored and is in compliance with industry standards, however, all suggestions from our guests are considered as high priority and is duly noted for further evaluation.

We would like to kindly mention that our SPA and swimming pool are expected to be operational during the second quarter of 2014. In this light, we will make sure this option is clearly presented in your future visits.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Mine Ozpinar
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is just OK. The room furnishings are cheaply done and not commensurate with the hotel rating or room price. But the real problem is the staff. Yes, they are friendly, but they are completely incompetent.
When I checked in, even the bellboy noticed that a dreadful stench was emanating from the bathroom. An engineer was supposedly coming immediately to deal with it. Three hours and four phone calls later, there was still not sign of him. And this was for an expensive suite.

Worse, they caused me endless trouble because despite my repeated visits to the front desk, they kept telling people that I was not registered. I nearly lost an appointment with a minister; my spouse was kept waiting for hours in the lobby and not given a key to the room -- all despite the fact that I had elaborately, patiently, repeatedly spoken to the persons at the front desk and received their assurance that yes, they understood, my spouse was arriving today, the minister was expected for a meeting…Stay at the Rotana where this will never happen to you. Unless you are here only for an event at the conference center, right across the street. And once the Marriott next door is built, this place can shut down.

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless your only purpose is to attend an event at the Conference Center across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank checkpointcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful without being over the top. Very happy with the room although I could have done with slightly brighter reading light. Air con quiet and reliable.
Good breakfast. Didn't use the restaurant in the evening. Security was efficient but again not over the top.
Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Divan Erbil in general. Your feedback regarding security and staff is extremely valuable as it provides us with an opportunity to assess and improve our service at every level.

Thank you again for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards…

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We are living in a suite which is roomy and comfortable with wide balcony (3rd Floor) Beds are the most comfortable and the linen/towels are top quality.Rooms are fitted with excellent black out drapes..As we are long stay guests we have access to club floor on level 21- high tea from 3pm them supper and drinks from 6pm. Staff have been most accommodating and friendly. We have organised several private functions and each was well catered and decorated for the occasion. Buffet restaurant serves wide range of dishes. Duty free shop within the complex and the hotel is not far from the airport. Also across road from SamiAbdulRahman park so easy to get out and take a stroll or make use of the running track CONS: no swimming pool, gym is temporary - small and poor aircon until new fitness centre is completed before end of year; get sick of the cigarette smoke.. there are no NON smoking floors, and smoke wafting over while eating is UGGH! Japanese restaurant is a let down- not a true Japanese sushi chef,, but pick dishes other than Japanese cuisine and its OK but expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirkham_jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of Divan Erbil team for your much appreciated comments and your acknowledgment of our services on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to read that you were impressed with the design features of our guest rooms along with the comfort provided. Your comments regarding our staff, location and food quality are much appreciated and have been shared with the team.

Your observation regarding Qi21, the first and the only Japanese cuisine in Erbil, is well taken and we can assure you that we will be taking necessary actions for improvements.

We very much look forward to presenting you with a non-smoking room in the future as %45 of our rooms are non-smoking.

Thank you again for taking the time and letting us know your kind and valuable observations.

Sincerely,

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

One of those places that makes you feel like you have "arrived". Top notch service & facilities. Excellent Margarita, (like you'd have at Santa Maria's in Mexico City), fine Cuban cigar and relaxing atmosphere. I'd put it up there with a nicer Four Seasons or St. Regis...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constmng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our services and facilities. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team with pride.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable views with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed here twice now with work and I have to say this is better than most of the 4 star international branded hotels I get put in in Montreal, Europe.

The hotel decor in places is a little OTT but the rooms are spacious, very well kept, the bed is super comfy. The bar and pool areas are very nice.

Would recommend this hotel for business and the few tourists that may be in town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cal560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest;

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Divan Erbil Hotel for your stay in Erbil.

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review about our hotel, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction, and please be assured that your comments have already been shared with all team members.

We look forward to welcome you back in not a too distant future to the Divan Erbil Hotel.

Kindest Regards…

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

friendly, spacious, clean and comfortable. conveniently located between downtown and airport..a hotel which do not deserve 2nd thought. excellent service with international standards. this is a very nice hotel for this part of the world. It is safe and has many security features.

Room Tip: simply walk in feel very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sajid786_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of Divan Erbil team for your much appreciated comments and your acknowledgment of our services.

We will continue to do our very best to deserve your heartfelt approval and very much look forward to your future visits.

Kindest Regards,

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erbil hotels
0.7 mi away
Erbil Rotana
Erbil Rotana
#1 of 67 in Erbil
460 reviews
3.5 mi away
Merci Hotel
Merci Hotel
#4 of 67 in Erbil
26 reviews
3.1 mi away
Canyon Hotel Erbil
Canyon Hotel Erbil
#6 of 67 in Erbil
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Van Royal Hotel
Van Royal Hotel
#8 of 67 in Erbil
53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Erbil Arjaan by Rotana
1.4 mi away
La Roche Hotel Erbil
La Roche Hotel Erbil
#13 of 67 in Erbil
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Erbil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Erbil

Address: Gulan St, Erbil 44001, Iraq
Location: Iraq > Erbil Province > Erbil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Erbil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Erbil
#2 Business Hotel in Erbil
Price Range: $245 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Erbil 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Erbil is a 24-storey luxury hotel with 228 rooms and suites located on Gulan Street amidst 43,000 sq. Meters (462,700 sq. Ft.) Of landscaped grounds - just 10 minutes drive from both airport and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divan Erbil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Erbil Iraq

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing