We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Business Hotel in Erbil”
Review of Divan Erbil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Divan Erbil
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Erbil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is not cheap but the Rotana is the same. For the high rate you get excellent service with international standards. The rooms are a bit small but look modern and comfy. We had a club room and enjoyed the snack time in the evening. The choice is good and the food very tasty. The breakfast was served in the main restaurant and the buffet was huge and again the food was good. Our room was not ready upon arrival but the staff offered us free coffee and snacks in the piano lounge which was a nice gesture. One thing which we were missing was a pool.The location is a bit out of the city and you need a taxi when visiting the city center (which is beautiful). But first you need to find an English speaking taxi driver which was even for the hotel itself not that easy (always bargin). In general a good choice for business or leisure while in Erbil and I would go back.

Room Tip: ask for a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad to read your kind review of our hotel and we want to thank you for taking the time to do so. Thank you for your pleasant comments regarding our rooms, club lounge, breakfast and staff.

Please rest assured that all pricing policies of our hotel are carefully monitored and is in compliance with industry standards, however, all suggestions from our guests are considered as high priority and is duly noted for further evaluation.

We would like to kindly mention that there are swimming pool will be at your service by the end of this year. In this light, we will make sure this option is clearly presented for your future visits.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you when you are back in Erbil.

Kindest Regards,

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 219 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

The first time I was in Erbil was 2007 in a still war torn country. Coming back in 2013 the Divan Hotel was a major surprise. Certainly the area has come a long way.
Of course you'll have the occasional power break down, of course sometimes the Internet doesn't work, but from my point of view that's whinging of individuals which have never been in similar areas.
We stayed there only overnight to travel to Suli, and remembering my previous experiences about Erbil the hotel is excellent. I met other guests in the bar complaining, but maybe business people can't understand why all of a sudden their Smartphone stops working. Yes, it's Kurdistan, but It's still Iraq!
My room was excellent, excellent beds and comfort, breakfast was either English, European or Kurdish, so no problem whatsoever.
The lady at the reception spoke perfect English, so Check in and out were no problem at all.
I do not want to comment on the security situation in Erbil.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It was a delight reading your comprehensive review of our hotel and Erbil City. Your insight regarding our team, comfort of the rooms and breakfast is much appreciated and a source of pride to our team.

Thank you very much for choosing Divan Erbil and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest Regards,

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's never easy to live in a hotel no matter how luxurious. In general the construction is poor, AC system is frequently on the fritz but it is finished out attractively. Food is a bit repetitious but good quality and most of the staff is pleasant and helpful. The best thing about the place is the beds. They are perfect for me and I always wake up refreshed.

Room Tip: Stay away from the sunny side of the building. I am in a corner room that looks directly towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment and feedbacks about your stay and the services of the hotel; definitely we are taken your observations into consideration and to improve our quality of service.

Being a very new property, we are working very hard to achieve the excellent service quality our guests are entitled to get and in this regard we very much appreciate your comments.

Kindest Regards,

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You would not expect such nice rooms and a good service in a new growing country like Erbil.
I was on a business and stayed at the Divan Erbil and found the rooms comfortable and spacey
As for the service, staff were very helpful.
In my next visit i will stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ionat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us your valuable review regarding our hotel, rooms and our team. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As Divan Erbil team, we strive for excellence in all our services and in this light, we will do our very best to receive a 5 star review from you in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in near future again.

Kindest Regards,

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A modern, roomy hotel with some interesting features in a difficult part of the world. I was upgraded to a suite which was a very pleasant surprise providing lots of space to work, rest and relax. The bed was very comfortable and the modern bathroom had walk in shower which was perfect. A TV in the sitting area and in the bedroom although there was not time to watch either one!
Food in the Sushi restaurant was good but expensive but the food in the bar (for lunches etc) was good value. Staff always pleasant and helpful and the check-in/check-out was efficient.
Overall if you find yourself in Erbil this will provide you with a spot of comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to read that you found our service level and hotel facilities satisfying. Please rest assured that we will continue to work relentlessly to achieve and sustain a high level of sophistication in all our services. In this respect, your remarks are a source of pride to all of us at Divan Erbil.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you when you are back in Erbil.

Kindest Regards,

Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice clean hotel, lovely helpful staff, but the room decor is dark brown and fawn, not a good look. Not quite as bad as the jet black marble toilets though. The buffet is very expensive for mediocre food. Friday Feb 15's 'Brunch' was simply last nights Valentines leftovers, poorly disguised. But then I suppose catering is difficult in a town with more Kalashnikovs than cafes!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

You dont feel like being in Erbil and for sure not like being in Iraq when you sit in the bar of the Divan, enjoying a cigar while listening to the piano singer and having a cold german draft beer.

The rooms are big, clean and fitted with 50inch flat screens.

The food is excellent though with 50,-usd for the dinner buffet a bit over the top, but I suppose thats how it is when there is not much of competition in the neighbourhood.

Nevertheless, over are the times of Lamassu and Nobel Hotel.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanErbilHotel, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your much appreciated comments about us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be shared among our whole team here and read with pride.

Please be assured that your valuable feedback on price of dinner buffet is well taken for improvements.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Divan Erbil during your next trip to Erbil.

Kindest regards,
Gokhan Aykan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erbil hotels
0.7 mi away
Erbil Rotana
Erbil Rotana
#1 of 67 in Erbil
453 reviews
3.5 mi away
Merci Hotel
Merci Hotel
#4 of 67 in Erbil
25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Erbil Arjaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Canyon Hotel Erbil
Canyon Hotel Erbil
#6 of 67 in Erbil
58 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ankawa Royal Hotel
Ankawa Royal Hotel
#5 of 67 in Erbil
32 reviews
2.5 mi away
Van Royal Hotel
Van Royal Hotel
#8 of 67 in Erbil
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Erbil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Erbil

Address: Gulan St, Erbil 44001, Iraq
Location: Iraq > Erbil Province > Erbil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Erbil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Erbil
#2 Spa Hotel in Erbil
Price Range: $239 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Erbil 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Erbil is a 24-storey luxury hotel with 228 rooms and suites located on Gulan Street amidst 43,000 sq. Meters (462,700 sq. Ft.) Of landscaped grounds - just 10 minutes drive from both airport and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Divan Erbil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Erbil Iraq

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing