We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the citadel - but not much more to recommend it”
Review of Erbil Tower Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Erbil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erbil Tower Hotel
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Erbil
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its proximity (about 3 minutes walk) to the ancient citadel and the adjacent old town. The hotel's claim to be four star might be just about about justifiable from a technical point of view (if one counts the 'toiletries' in the bathroom, the TV, elevator etc.) but it is really more like a three star. The room was ok and the bathroom operational. Some of the rooms have views to the citadel or across town. There was a problem with some very loud air vent system in the room next to mine; to the hotel's credit, when I went downstairs to complain, the manager on duty said the machine would be switched off and indeed it was. All reception staff were friendly. Breakfast was uninspiring to say the least (there was not even instant Nescafé never mind any other form of coffee) and a rather haphazard affair. The free wi-fi only worked in the lobby. Were I to return to Erbil, I think I would try to find somewhere better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the citadel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

Location is great, with a view of the citadel and still quiet in the rooms. Don't expect a real 4 star hotel, there seems to be a lack of maintenance and at 60 dollars for a single it is overprised. I would describe it as do-able.

for people with claustrofobia; I got stuck in the elevator ......

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bvdbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Erbil Tower is one of the closest hotels to the Erbil Citadel area. Very easy to walk to all of downtown Erbil's things to see. The hotel itself is basic, clean, and foots the bill as a 3-star. Staff are very friendly, though slow to respond to emails asking about room availability and reservations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wilsoneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasmin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erbil hotels
0.0 mi away
Merci Hotel
Merci Hotel
#4 of 67 in Erbil
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fareeq Hotel
Fareeq Hotel
#6 of 41 in Erbil
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quaint Hotel Erbil
Quaint Hotel Erbil
#21 of 67 in Erbil
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Erbil Rotana
Erbil Rotana
#1 of 67 in Erbil
452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altin Saray Hotel
Altin Saray Hotel
#50 of 67 in Erbil
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Divan Erbil
Divan Erbil
#2 of 67 in Erbil
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erbil Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erbil Tower Hotel

Address: Near intersection of Pzishkan and Qala streets | Mustawfi District, Erbil, Iraq
Location: Iraq > Erbil Province > Erbil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Erbil
Price Range: $80 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erbil Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Erbil Tower Hotel Iraq

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing