We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dawa and Dawa 2” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dawa

Ranked #36 of 96 Restaurants in Erbil
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dawa and Dawa 2”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been in both DAWA restaurants: Interesting but big, crowded, and noisy places!
Although it is visited mainly by locals, it feels like a "tourists" restaurant in Southern Europe! I felt like I was in an eating "factory"! I think either you will love or you will hate this place! But is expensive for this part of the world!
The waiters are friendly trying their best, running up and down, but at the end the service is a joke (although I have to admit I am a little rigorous with these guys, because the people in Kurdistan are from mentality and ways quiet different from the Western ways, but for the prices you pay, I think they could do much better)!
One of the largest varieties of food I have met in this region! Some very tasty (but taste is so subjective) and this restaurant is so busy, so I think that everything they serve must be quite fresh!
It's a place you should definitely visit once and decide for yourself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jürgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Feel full”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

this place is about eating as much as you can, and it keeps coming, to much for me, not for my pallatte. A busy place

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duhok, Iraq
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“very normal, unfair price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

food is very normal and average, price is little high, the service is good but some of the staff should be educated to know what does the word client mean.

Helpful?
Thank Salar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulimany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“different in winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

the food quality differs in winter than in summer may be because less tourism but it should be the same i guess . but still one of the best resturants in erbil this review is to encourage development

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asmasabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erbil, Iraq
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice and varity of food for the money vlue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

it is more like food factory than a restaurant!
it is perfect for big invitations, family dinner or gathering, but not for couples to eat and talk as it is very crowded all the time.
the value of the money paid is very good comparing to the execellent food they are providing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayoob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawa also viewed

Erbil, Erbil Province
Erbil, Erbil Province
 
Erbil, Erbil Province
Erbil, Erbil Province
 

Been to Dawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing