We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Officially my favorite ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Erbil Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Erbil Rotana
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Erbil
Sulaimania, As Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Officially my favorite ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Not only does this place have amazing rooms, staff, and restaurants, but this hotel saved my life. Not lying. I had a medical emergency while staying here and two directors (Abdulrahman and Bashar) accompanied me and my friend to a hospital and stayed to make sure I got the care I needed. I have never experienced customer service to this degree. I am a Rotana customer for life now.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Ms. Rachel R,

We would like to thank you very much for visiting Erbil Rotana.

We really appreciate your feedback and we wish you are feeling better, taking care of our costumers is our priority and that is the least we could have done as we always treat our customers as family.

Thank you once again for the time taken to write and it will be pleasure to welcome you to Erbil Rotana again.

Best regards,

Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    107
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
11
15
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
385 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights, on the first & last night in Iraq. This was my first time to Iraq so didn't know what to expect, but had the most stressfree airport arrival and immigration experience into a brand new spanking airport in Erbil, past baggage claim looked up with the hotel representative from Rotana behind the desk, and a short ride later was @ the Rotana. Check in was fast enough, a request for a 4 pm late check out was a quick no fuss ok.
My 1st room was modern and had a view of the pool, the 2nd room faced the road and park, and was a but noiser. Was pleasantly surprised to find a pair of nice padded slippers, wifi worked even though it was expensive (considering wifi in all the other hotels I stayed at in the rest of Iraq was free). Tried the food at Basilico & Flavours, both were decent, but Al Bustan was definitely their best restaurant both in terms of food & service.
I didn't appreciate that only two small bottles of water were given for free at this price point (I had to pay outrageous prices for the exta 4 bottles I requested). Also both times upon checkout, the prearranged car was 15 minutes late.
Overall a decent hotel from the service to room to restaurants. This hotel is not close by town though, but otherwise no doubt the best hotel in Northern Iraq.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for your comments about Erbil Rotana. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, which encouraging us to work harder in order to deliver the five star service at all times.

Reaching your expectations is why we are here. Hoping in welcoming you back to Erbil Rotana in the near future

Thomas Touma
General Manager
Erbil Rotana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent this week here for "business" and is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. This is my second time here. The rooms are spacious, clean, and very comfy. I would probably want a shower curtain for the bath, really don't like water sprayed on the floor, so I always used the cubicle!.

I was provided a check-in at the club on the 12th floor and the staff went out of their way to find me a room as soon as possible. I thank them for that.

Food was really good, whether in-room or the one on the mezzanine floor. The chef made excellent omelettes. If I was not watching my weight and cholesterol, I would have ordered more! I was put up on the 6th floor, but I suppose you getter a better view of the large park, if you are further up on the 10th floor or so. The hotel is situated slightly away from the town, I felt, and I like it, as it is really not in the middle of the crowd.

There was security at the hotel, but it did not feel overbearing. They made me feel comfortable as well.

I would like to go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pillaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

let me first take the opportunity to thank you for staying in Erbil Rotana during your most recent visit to Erbil.
It's an honor to receive such positive feedback on our hotel and staff. It is a true honor to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations. I shall share your comments with all my colleagues.
Hoping to welcome you back in the near future.

Thomas Touma
General Manager
Erbil Rotana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Spent a few nights here for "business" and must say that it is a gem of a hotel! The rooms were tidy, clean and comfortable and the bed was magnificent!

The bathroom was also exceptionally clean and well appointed and looked "new".

There are a number of restaurants onsite, we mainly ate on the Mezzanine floor and couldnt fault the wide selection of great food on offer! We also ate at Al Bustan and again, couldnt fault the seemingly never ending supply of food! As far as catering goes, this place is pretty damned good!

The staff were also amazing! Nothing was too much effort and you were always made to feel important! Their attitude towards you as a quest was great!

Probably most important for most people is that the hotel is secure with its own armed guards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mailmannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

First and for most let me thank you for taking the time to give us your input.

It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your time in our premises and that your experience was an excellent one.

Such positive comments from guests makes us strive to always meet your expectations, guest feedback is the key to our success.

Sir, I really look forward to welcome you back at your new home Erbil Rotana.

Yours Sincerely,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for business in June and found it a very good all round hotel. The food was above average and the breakfast selection was absolutely massive, I think they must of covered for literally ever type of combination that you could of wanted.
Room service was good and pretty quick. The road outside is pretty busy but you don't notice the noise.
The rooms are very good and spacious, tidy, clean and very comfortable, I took advantage of the large baths that they have and had a good soak.
The staff are very helpful and courteous and most speak quite good English. The bar is pleasant and on Fridays the do a Pizza and beer evening for $20...pretty good value.
All in all I would recommend this hotel whether you were traveling for busy or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoff1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir
First I would like to thank you for choosing Erbil Rotana Hotel, We truly appreciate your positive comments. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Such positive comments from guests are a morale booster for the whole team.

Sir, I would like as well to thank you for recommending our hotel.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Thomas Touma
General Manager
Erbil Rotana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

At the time of writing this most international hotels are still under construction in Erbil however the Rotana is available. I have stayed in several Rotana hotels around the Middle East but this one by far is a 5 star compared what are more the 3 - 4 star level. The hotel is modern, with spacious fully equipped rooms and is located on the edge of the city. Prices per room are not cheap at around US$220 per night which does not include breakfast and surprisingly for a business hotel it also does not include free wifi. At check in I decided to upgrade to the Rotana Club which for a few dollars more gives you the usual benefits of free breakfast, wifi and additional refreshments. The staffs are all friendly and willing to help. Overall a great hotel worthy of a high standard in any city and especially Erbil

Room Tip: Go for the fully inclusive Club option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Erbil Rotana.

My team and I were very pleased to know that your time spent with us was a treasured one.
I forwarded your comments to our team members and they were very pleased to know that you
Have enjoyed your stay with us, and that we have succeeded in meeting your expectations.

Sir, I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back amongst us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in the Rotana 150 days in 2013 and I will be going back. The people are really great...friendly and helpful. You have a great verity of food and things to do at the hotel. Again the staff really make for a great experience. I would highly recommend staying at Rotana to anyone that is planning a trip to Erbil, Iraq.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rprice1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for your nice review on Trip Advisor.

Please rest assured that we at Erbil Rotana always do our outmost to exceed our esteemed guest’s expectations. Your comments show that we have succeeded in doing that, which makes us very pleased.

Sir, I look forward to welcoming you back at Erbil Rotana.

Yours sincerely,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erbil hotels
0.7 mi away
Divan Erbil
Divan Erbil
#2 of 66 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merci Hotel
Merci Hotel
#3 of 66 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ankawa Royal Hotel
Ankawa Royal Hotel
#4 of 66 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 66 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.6 mi away
Canyon Hotel Erbil
Canyon Hotel Erbil
#9 of 66 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cristal Erbil Hotel
Cristal Erbil Hotel
#8 of 66 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erbil Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erbil Rotana

Property: Erbil Rotana
Address: Gulan St, Erbil 44001, Iraq
Location: Iraq > Erbil Province > Erbil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Erbil
#1 Luxury Hotel in Erbil
#1 Business Hotel in Erbil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Erbil Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erbil Rotana is a landmark five star hotel featuring 201 well appointed rooms and suites, five food & beverage outlets, one Grand Ballroom that fits for up to 1000 guests and 5 small meeting rooms for conferences and events. All the meeting rooms are equipped with the latest audio-visual equipments, translation system and high speed internet connection. The property is strategically located close to the business and diplomatic area of the city. Ten minutes drive from Erbil International Airport and fifteen minutes to the city center, the historical Citadel, bazaars and malls. Erbil Rotana is the appropriate destination for business travelers and corporate meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Erbil Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erbil Rotana Hotel Arbil
Erbil Rotana Iraq

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing