We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Nearby Hotels
$321
$237
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$392
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$535
$424
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$1,638
$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
$378
$282
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$496
$389
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,004
$872
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$781
$504
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun(Playa del Carmen)
$657
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveler rating
602
125
25
21
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
125
25
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsau naturelel doradonude cruisebody paintinghot tubmoonlight loungeswim up roomother guestseldorado seaside suiteswater journeypool volleyballactivities directorbeach bedswater shoesfront officebreakfast and lunchswim up bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 787 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Only one night at Hidden Beach Resort, but the reception was first rate, including a glass of champagne and scented face towel wipe. Our room had a large bath tub filled with bubbles, awaiting our arrival. Overlooking the pool and beach, we were able to sink into the tub with a bottle of chilled champagne, and leave our travel dust behind. Dinner was magnificently prepared and presented, and breakfast the next morning was an extravagant buffet, with personal service, as well. This is a place to party through the night at the disco, and lounge on beach beds during the day!

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank SunGoddessSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

This was our second trip to HB. We previously had been to Braco 3 times. The last time we were at HB, they had just reopened after hurricane Wilma. One year later things are looking better than ever. The only negative comment is the heated pool is still closed after one full year and it doesn't look like it will ever open. I wouldn't care, but in January the unheated pool is very very cold. Food was fantastic, the staff was absolutely great. Rooms were adequate and the guests were extremely friendly and outgoing. Braco has the better pool, neither has a great beach, but who cares. If you are contemplating an A/N resort, you can't go wrong with HB. If you want crazy stuff, this is not your place, go to Hedo. Also, if you are single, you will feel out of place as people will think you are weird for coming alone, again, go to Hedo. This is a classy resort for couples. We booked a Fun-Jet package as they are the only discounter that handles HB. Apple and the others don't list HB.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Hoosierdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

My hubby & I went for 1 week (Jan 27 - Feb 3/07) & the worst part was leaving! What an amazing vacation!!! If you are looking for an active vacation - this is NOT the the place - if you are looking to relax, be pampered, & spend quality time reconnecting with a partner - this is it! Wow - it was so great to hang out, be naked & feel the breeze on your skin. People were friendly - staff was attentive & food was excellent. Best food selection - lobster lasagana. Best activity - lying on a beach bed, watching the ocean & sipping a drink while enjoying the hubby's company.
The disco had a pool table so we used that for entertainment in the afternoon when the sun was to hot - what a riot - naked pool - go ahead concentrate on that shot - lol
The resort is small so the service is very attentive. The bar is well stocked & once again the food...wow. Pack your fat shorts for the way home... you will gain weight! Found all the guests to be friendly & fun & if you felt like some private time people really respected that. However there was always somebody around to talk to or even play scrable with.
We checked reviews before we booked & could find no real negative comments - thought it was odd that nobody was really negative about it - we got there & realized there are no negatives - best vacation of our lives & we will be returning now on a regular basis. What we did notice was there were alot of repeaters & the staff treated these people as family - many quests knew each other from other trips & it was like we became family very quickly. Each server knew our names & prefrerences very quickly.
Really suggest the swim up rooms - fantastic concept!
They need to increase the heat in the hot tub for those chilly nights & overcast times but since that is the only thing ....very minor.
You can use the other resort but we never got there - no reason to get dressed!
If you are thinking of the resort - stop thinking & book it!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank to_cold_in_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Hidden Beach Resort over New Year's Eve and had an absolutely wonderful stay. We knew the minute we got into Cancun that this would be a trip to remember and it was! We went through Lomas Transportation to get to the resort, and it was a nice surprise to be taken by Limo (had arranged private car), as this was available when we landed.
You know when you drive through the resort gate that this is truly a "hidden beach" getaway. When we arrived in our room, we had champagne on ice and our hot tub was filled with flower petals sprinkled atop...how inviting! We had a 3rd floor room with beautiful views of the ocean. We spent our days lounging on palapas beachside and spent our evenings dining outside with wonderful food and service. Esperanza took good care of us daily, as she delivered our cocktails on the beach, Angel and Jesus were waitstaff that provided exceptional customer service.
All staff should be commended for tending to their guests as they do. This is what keeps people coming back...and we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kimtravel-ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

My wife and I had been looking forward to returning since our brief stay there two years previous. We were not disappointed.

Check in took less than five minutes and we were at the door to our room in record time. We opened the door to the sight of champagne sitting on ice, a beautiful swan towel arrangement on our bed and a Jacuzzi filled with warm bubbles and fresh flowers.

It was evident that some improvements were made in the rooms since the last hurricane. For starters the bathtub was gone and there was an over sized shower in its place giving the bathroom a much more spacious look. There are now Jacuzzis in every room and not just in the first floor swim up suites. The décor has changed in the rooms as well with canopied beds and a more contemporary look than our first stay.

The food was great. Breakfast was fresh every day. Waffles and Omelets made to order, fresh fruits and juices and a variety of Mexican and traditional breakfast items. The grill was up every day poolside with the chef cooking up a variety of beef, pork, chicken and fish to order just steps away from your lounger. Dinner was a treat as well. My wife and I ate most of our evening meals on the El Dorado Seaside Suites side. The food over there was outstanding as well. Of our seven-night stay we ate dinner four nights on the EDSS side. Two thumbs up for all four of the restaurants but a special mention goes to their Mexican and Italian restaurants.

It seemed a shame to have the privilege of total access to El Dorado Seaside Suites facilities and not take advantage, so my wife and I spent some time on the other side kayaking and enjoying the swing bar and evening shows.

The beach at HB is rocky, calm and shallow and not at all for swimming. It is excellent for snorkeling. I saw crabs, at least 8 different types of fish of all shapes and sizes and what appeared to be some type of water caterpillar. You can go very far out (I guess about 40 yards) and the water is still only waist deep.

There is a nice sandy patch of crystal clear water on the south side of the EDSS beach if you're inclined to venture over. The snorkeling there is great too. Women are very much allowed to go topless on the EDSS side but at least a thong bikini bottom in required at the beach and pool. (A small price to pay) There were a couple of topless women sunbathing on the beach while we were over there and we just set up camp right in their midst. My wife never bothered to put her top on and never got a second look.

Nothing beats the people at Hidden Beach. I’ve said it time and time again; the people that patronize HB are the warmest most social bunch of people that we’ve ever met. My wife and I are from a big city and we don’t travel 2,000 miles to vacation with a bunch of people that would rather turn their heads away to avoid the chore of bothering to say hello. We like to be able to smile and at least say good morning without feeling like we’ve imposed on the person’s space standing next to us. The people at HB are like the kind-hearted small town neighbors next door. You can strike up a conversation about the color of oxygen and talk for hours.

The staff is the best! Claudia and Sergio are more like guests that crank up the party than an animation staff. Oscar and the rest of the crew at the bar were great. (CARNAL!) And I tip my hat to Rodrigo the manager who went out of his way to have my wife and I served a lobster tail dinner with champagne in our room on our last night there just because he heard that I wanted to do something nice for my wife. Where else can you find service like that?

They’ve also added a number of new beach beds on swings, two story beach cabanas and beachfront massage huts. You never had to get up early to reserve a hut, lounger, beach bed or anything.

My wife really enjoyed the towel art class and I enjoyed the cooking class. The day after I got back I made the family fresh Mexican guacamole. They went crazy for it.

The only thing I was really disappointed about was that the second pool was still not opened yet. I was told on the phone by the Karisma Resort representative that it was open and it wasn’t. When we were there two years ago they were working on it and there wasn’t even active construction on it while we were there. But you can’t have everything now, can you?

This resort comes highly recommended by my wife and myself. It is actually the ONLY resort in Mexico that we’ve stayed at TWICE. And being members with Palace Resorts, that says a lot.

Stayed: November 2006
20  Thank pjfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews