We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Awesome but--just missing perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
La Jolla
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique and Awesome but--just missing perfection!!”
Reviewed December 7, 2006

Our trip had a very positive start as we were picked up with friends in an outstanding limo by Lomas travel. There was no champagne but cold beer was available for purchase. It was a smooth ride and we arrived at HBR in about 1.5 hours.

We were warmly greeted but were taken without explanation to a room a category below what we had paid for and reserved. It took almost 24 hours to get into the correct room. We were compensated by a massage and a small amount of cash but this definitely did not set a great tone for the start of the trip. We found out later that this had happened for 3!!! nights to another couple on a previous trip.

The resort itself is beautiful, intimate and comfortable. The food service was impeccable! The breakfasts and lunches were great--varied and very good. There was a very limited room service menu between meals. We found the dinners a bit variable in quality.

It seemed that the staff was given instruction to constantly have music emanating from the central pool area. Many of the guests commented that it would have been nice to just listen to the ocean once in a while. This was especially true for couples paying top dollar for a massage just behind speakers blaring "cheeseburger in paradise".

As in all of the clothing optional resorts we have visited, the other guests made the trip. It is easy to meet others and develop friendships if you are so inclined. For example, we serendipitously ran into a couple whom we had met on a recent Bare-necessities cruise. He was celebrating a landmark birthday and it was fun to share it with them.

The jacuzzi was nice--a social afternoon gathering place with great drink service. The service and responsiveness were great, the quality of the drinks has suffered a bit. The house wines were mediocre. There was a purchased wine list but the prices were very inflated-- over 6X the purchase price in the states.

There is no bar area to gather around before dinner--the only bars are in the disco and a swim up pool bar. This is a disadvantage if the weather is cool or rainy.

After a few nights the staff reluctantly changed the music in the disco to fit the demographics of the group (40-60). The entertainment should be closely supervised by managment to fit the demographics and tastes of the guests at such a small resort.

All in all we had a wonderful time in a very speciall place. Will we go back? We will probably rely on reports by friends to see if critical cchanges are made, but we will certainly consider it.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank LJBeachCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    113
    23
    21
    14
See reviews for
10
545
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

This place sends a wake up call to the "jamaican we don't care about you" resorts. very well run.
Pluses are Palapa beds on the beach that swing on ropes, excellent food and bar service, front desk and restaurant are on the nude side. Very clean, they rake the beach at 630 AM each morning and put fresh towels our all around the pool. Staff goes out of the way to help you. No food or drink shortages as in at other All Inclusives in Jamaica.

Negatives- still fighting major water leaks in some rooms from poor hurricane repairs.

  • Liked — food and bar service
  • Disliked — 1 hour from Cancun, roof leaks
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tanguero43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Don't read any further, just book your trip. This may be the most romantic place on earth, with a great staff and a fabulous property. We were there last week, and have already booked a return trip. Been to Hedo and done all dat......this is MUCH nicer, especially for 1st timer's.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Edd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2006

we Just returned from our 12th trip to Hidden Beach Resort...since our first visit in June 2003...and it was a fantastic week...the service is simply the best of any all inclusive - clothing optional resort we have found in the caribbean...with great food...and drinks...very friendly staff...nice clean rooms...with jacuzzi tubs...we are already planning our next trip there...no clothes...no worries...just a great vacation

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank shomymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill NH
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

We found this place by accident. A week before our honeymoon the JW Marriot Cancelled our reservations due to still being closed from the hurrricane damage last fall. I desperatly looked for a place that was 5 star, but I had alway wanted to atleast go topless, then in my search I found Hidden Beach threw the chain of hotels owned by Krisma Resorts. We booked for 5 days at Hidden and the last 5 days at the sister resort just next door The ElDorado. The all incusive privilages were good at both resorts. It was so nice because you could start your day with ordering a pot of espresso to your swim up room that could sip as you wake up on your porch looking out at the sea just feet from your door, then you could jump in the river and swim to the outdoor resturant to have breakfast, then find a nice spot on the beach, there were so many spots to choose from. There was alway a beach bed available. Those were nice because they provided shade, a place to nap and also our favorite, lunch served by your beach waiter on the bed. It was decadent! If you were up for a message you could have one right on the beach. Then before you knew it it was time to decide where to go for dinner. You could put on clothes and go next door and have dinner at any of the Eldorado resturants. It was nice to go over there once and a while. The ElDorado has like 200 room and Hidden only has 42. That means everyone knew your name. Everystaff member was a friend. Edurdo the concierge made ever wish come true, Humberto the very talented waiter/dance teacher/entertainer/bartender had us so comfortable and kept us laughing, Shrek (Meigeul) was very friendly and a hard worker, Ana tried so very hard how to teach us two uptight white people how to salsa, it was so much fun. The waiters Angel, Javier and Jesus were so attentive...please tip heavy they work so hard for it and deserve atleast $5- $20 us dollars depending on the meal they served you. I know tipping is included but I just don't feel right not tipping someone that works that hard to please me. After 9:00pm the bar opens up complete with a pool table and stripper pole. The stripper pole was a first for me...and my husband, but we both were so comfortable and felt so very safe in this club that anything was possible. We even slept ith our ground level door open ever night to hear the ocean and to feel the breeze. It was spectacular. We changed our reservation for the last 5 days to stay at Hidden it was so good. The one draw back we experienced was for 3 days of our stay some obnoxious loud skanky people showed up and never left the swim up pool bar from 7:30 am (I swear) to 6:00 at night never once getting out to pee. It was gross. Before they were there and after they left we had the time of our lives. The atmosphere was quite and relaxing, I felt comfortable being naked everywhere in the resort except when that werido group of people came in to the resort. Then I feel like I was being check out al the time and it was werid these old chicks with huge fake boobs kept asking me to help exfoiliate each other in the sand. They were totally hitting on me and made me feel so annoyed and uncomfortable. They were there for some swooping that is for sure. The resort is for mature poeple, not these people they belonged at Hedo. Just make sure when you go to ask if the clientel that week is true to the Hidden marketing of Mature so you won't be disapointed, annoyed or made to feel uncomfortable. Hidden is a wonderful place with the right crowd, we were treated like royalty and enjoyed the freedom of no tan lines!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank SugarHillNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2006

My wife and I went to a nude resort for the first time after having experiances on nude beaches in various places. We were slightly apprehensive and went to the step of renting a car so we could leave if it wasn't to our liking. I am somewhat fussy about food and definately need reliable AC. The staff at the resort made us feel comfortable right away,,,after champagne and a mimi-massage while we were checking in we were escorted to our ocenfront room with a jaccuzzi tub filled with hot water and rose petals on our balcony. We finished the bottle of champagne and were totally spoiled for the next 6 days. We left once to explore Cancun and go snorkling aroung Isle de Merada...but were eager to return to the easy decadance of Hidden Beach....from the comfortable king bed...to the jacuzzi on the balcony...to brea...kfast with a towel...to the beach..to lying under a palapa..to the pool and swimup bar...to the large jaccuzzi,, and back to a semi-formal white linen dinner served outside in perfect weather with us in nothing more than towels..to a stop at the disco and some sensual dancing...to the bed...and so on. We thought we would be bored but could have done another week. It was the best vacation we ever took..Can't wait to return...
Dave dgoldfield@adelphia.net

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Ethereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 3, 2006

Just returned from HBR and had a wonderful time. On the positive side, the staff - Ana, Humberto, cooks, waitresses, etc were just great. Accomodating at every turn. The food was quite good, not excellent, but good. And the setting wonderful. If you are looking for a naturalist experience where you truly can go days without clothes and never worry, HBR is an great place to go.

On the "improvement" side, the baths were not first rate and water routinely stands in the shower (for a while). The plumbing had a problem by the public restrooms leaving quite a stench for all who would pass by. There could have been more umbrellas to use as the sun is intense at mid-day.

All-in-all an excellent trip and if an error is to be made in the future, I would recommend making it on improving things and charging more. Having stayed at numerous 5-Star clothing resorts, I would love to see a nudist resort give the textiles a run for their money in the luxury category as I believe most us would be willing to pay for it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
22.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,744 reviews
31.9 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
0.9 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,989 reviews
22.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,036 reviews
16.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma

Property: Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Address: KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the only luxurious all-inclusive nudist resort in the Mexican Caribbean. Consisting of 42 beachfront suites, it is a secluded adults only property, perfect for couples and singles alike. Located just one hour and a half south of Cancun Airport, Hidden Beach Resort lies on a stretch of white sand beach offering spectacular views of the Mexican Caribbean sea. Hidden Beach blends signature services such as personalized check-in with a welcome glass of champagne or the exclusive concierge service with charming architecture to create an atmosphere of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club Hotel Riviera Maya
Hidden Beach Mexico
Hidden Beach Hotel Au Naturel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing