We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Transformative experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Transformative experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The summary:
My husband and I now call this trip “transformative”. This was our first trip to HBR as well as our first nudist experience. We spent a lot of time researching in advance of booking anything and what we experienced was even better than our most optimistic expectations. In short, we are cashing in all of our vacation time for next year on return trips to this resort and would return sooner if possible.

The details:
Being a female and having more hang ups about my body than my husband (although he has his own), I was quite nervous about going. However, (just as others have written) within 30 min of disrobing, you don’t even notice you’re naked anymore. Both staff and the other guests were very welcoming and because it’s a small property, it makes it very easy to get to know everyone. By the time you leave, you’re giving hugs and exchanging email addresses. It was the most freeing experience I have ever had in all of my life. I am a lot less self-conscious about my body than I have ever been and now spend a lot more time at home semi to totally naked. This is a nice safe environment within which to try a nude vacation.

We arrived on 5/24/14 and departed on 5/28/14. Beware of the help from the airport staff, they’re really only there to sell you something, avoid them as you will only be delayed in starting your vacation. Once we finally found our transport people we took the 1:20 minute trip to the hotel (next time we will splurge for a private care, it’s worth it). Upon arrival we checked in and were escorted to our room all without incident and as expected.

The room was plenty spacious and everything was very nice, no complaints beyond some alternating hot/cold during showers. I would highly recommend that you bring water shoes if you want to walk into the water on the beach. It’s too rough for bare feet but if you’re just there to relax, you probably won’t care. While tipping is not expected, what seems to be the norm with the guests is to tip your favorite people in cash when you leave. Wages are poor down in Mexico so this helps them out tremendously.

The food was very good and while you could walk to El Dorado next door for additional food options, we mostly opted to stay on the HBR side. There was a stark difference between the friendliness of that side versus the HBR side. There are no strangers at Hidden Beach but we couldn't get anyone to even acknowledge us when we had greeted them in the El Dorado resort. That just made Hidden Beach seem all the more comfortable and inviting.

My one complaint is that there were a couple times when guests from the El Dorado side made their way onto the HB side and gawked, but other guests ran them off.. It would be nice if they improved the prevention of this kind of thing, but overall it did not happen much for it to be a major issue.

In summary and to essentially repeat myself, the experience was fantastic and we cannot wait to return. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Unless you want a long walk to the bathroom, consider paying for the swim up room. If you are a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dolbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
El Dorado Seaside Suites & Sensimar Seaside Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    109
    22
    21
    14
See reviews for
9
517
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is great resort, but a few small things could make it better. Staff is very accommodating and friendly and you will never go thirsty. Breakfast and the early afternoon buffet was pretty decent. The buffet foods are different for each day of the week. The 4pm volley ball each afternoon was something to look forward to. Ingrid one of the activities staff was great at motivating people to get up and play. The other guy was also good, but don't remember his name. Got to love rule #7. The freedom of nakedness is great, just take your bra or shorts off and get it over with the first day and you'll enjoy the rest of your stay much more. They people all shapes and sizes, you don't need to have a hollywood body.

They are a lot of bugs on the beach and it is very rocky. You can get your feet wet, but not swim out like some other beach resorts. If your not bothered about this then the covered beds on the beach allow you to just read you book in the shade of the sun. Room service was good however when I ordered food I found ants raiding my table for my cake as I eat my main meal which was rather annoying. If you don't plan on eating in your room this shouldn't be a problem.

My AC was covered in ice in my room causing the AC to stop working. I called for service and it took about 2 hours of waiting in my room for it to be fixed. Not bad repair time, but it was an inconvenience and no one offered any kind of apology.

Overall I would go back, but only because I enjoy the warmth of the sun on my entire body without being restricted by clothing. The only annoyances are minor and overall it's a nice resort. You could always stay next door in Eldorado Seaside which is also very nice.

Room Tip: The swim up pool side rooms are a must. The chairs and beach can fill up if you are not up early how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Oxford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

At the El Dorado Seaside Suites they have managed to create an easier sea bathing area by excavating out the rocks, and like an earlier reviewer, we wonder why this hasn’t been done at Hidden Beach also.
For rest of service we have - No complains at all....
HBR is the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PAVEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
El Dorado Seaside Suites & Sensimar Seaside Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Cq
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just returned from our fourth trip to Hidden. Each has been better than the previous and this was no exception. The facilities and ambiance are great but what makes it truly outstanding are all the people who work so hard to make certain you have a good time. Service was great from everyone, but received exceptional service from Miguel and Camilla at the front desk. America at reception even went into town and bought my wife a new curling iron once we discovered hers had been broken en route from the U.S. We had two great dinners on the beach with great service and food by Isirro and Portfirio. The spa was simply lovely with four massages for me from Leydi (pronounced Lady) and two for my wife from Joshua. Most were on the beach which is just wonderful and the massages were equally great. The bar service was good, as always and Angel and Esperonsa took really good care of us. Our room was spotless thanks to Angelica

Altogether a really perfect vacation and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get the swim up junior suite. It is well worth the added cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lcsOrangeCounty_Cq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
El Dorado Seaside Suites & Sensimar Seaside Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This trip changed my life and strengthened my already solid marriage!!! If you are considering... Just do it! Although we've traveled quite extensively in the US and Europe, this was our first Nude trip, our first Mexico trip, and our first All Inclusive trip. Things that are usually important to us are cleanliness, 4 star plus amenities, bed comfort, and ability to have quiet and relaxing alone times in beautiful areas foreign to us. We were so impressed with our experience! Even up until our last moments, which was our third visit to the Naay Spa to receive a Mayan Rituals massage, our expectations were continually met and then unexpectedly exceeded, no kidding! There are special touches in the grounds and services offered everywhere you turn! You can be social at the swim up bar pool, scheduled activities, or in the moonlight bar as well as find times when you feel like you are the only two at the resort or on the beach. By far the love we have for the staff and their treatment of us was what made the trip so special. You are warmly welcomed by staff that consider you family and people you've never met know your name or quickly learn it for life. Aniceto, Galdino, Jesus, Angel and others take excellent care of you at the restaurant, anticipating your every need and desire. Carlos, David, and others make your drinks exactly as you instruct. We don't normally drink but took two days to indulge in amazing frozen Kahlua & Milks, Piña Coladas, and Margaritas. We were also made special non alcoholic drinks. Hot chocolate with a touch of cinnamon was asked for once at breakfast then Aniceto brought it to me without asking every morning thereafter! Iced tea was made special by the glass, exotic juices etc.. Ana and Ezmeralda (Esperanza) tirelessly make sure your drinks are brought to you wherever you go on the beach or poolside. We never wanted for much, they didn't let us! Alain (Lulu) kept us busy with water aerobics, stretching, night and daytime entertainment; he was a hoot... Neon glowing body painting artist while you requested music from the DJ, Mariachi plus much more will entertain! We found several quiet beautiful moments early mornings, on the beach Palapa, in the upper hot tub, and walking the beautiful paths on both resorts and around the spa. The Italian restaurant on the other side was incredible, Miguel waited on us superbly, and the food was incredible! We chose not to go sight seeing, snorkeling or anything because our time at the resort was so breathtaking! Instead we will be back every six months and take in the sites slowly! The honey scrub at the spa and the water journey that is complimentary with each service is to die for. The Mayan massage is spiritual and divine. As for being nude, we couldn't imagine doing it anywhere else in the world and we will forever wonder why we didn't consider it earlier! So comfortable, non judgmental, no freaks or visible swinger activity. Just a bunch of beautiful naked people in solid marriages and relationships. Beautiful naked people period. Nice to have the sister resort next door to claim where your visit was! We loved how being naked sort of evens everyone, there were doctors, professors, laborers, and plain old retirees but you wouldn't know the difference! We met many great couples from the US, Austailia, Argentina, and UK, we had memorable conversations, and yet never found it uncomfortable to excuse ourselves to another spot to be alone like floating like a princess on the lazy river with my husband as the motor and vise versa! One final note and a mention- the units are all amazingly clean, the bed very comfortable, the shower very nice and the turn down service crazy good! William the young man who stocks the minibars so hardworking... I could really go on and on but I don't want to spoil it all, suffice it to say we really loved our stay and our new family in Mexico. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
23 Thank WeWouldNever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
El Dorado Seaside Suites & Sensimar Seaside Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Here is the link to my trip adviser review of Hidden Beach Resort (HBR) from May 2013. Reading this review first will make my current review seem a bit more coherent.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g659488-d288383-r163159975-Hidden_Beach_Resort_Au_Naturel_Club-Riviera_Maya_Yucatan_Peninsula.html

So what’s changed at Hidden Beach Resort since our last visit in May 2013? Not much really. Here are the most significant changes:

1. There is now a working pool water heater. Even in late May they operated the pool water heater from time to time. During a previous visit in November the water heater piping was temporary, it is now permanently installed. The water heater will make a huge difference for the water temperature in winter months.

2. The HBR entertainment staff has changed – seems that there is constant change in this position. Initially there was Karen (last May), then Ruben (last November), then Aldo (this May) and now Alaine (Lulu). All in one year. Not sure what it is about working with nude people all day to cause the entertainment staff to change so often. Aldo is being promoted to a management position in the entertainment department. Karen has taken a position at another Karisma resort. Reuben is now working sales at the spa. We were lucky to be at HBR for Aldo’s last week. Alaine is now the HBR entertainment director.

3. Turndown service was inconsistent. Sometimes you get it and sometimes you didn’t. On nights that we did not get it our friends also did not get it. Not sure what is going on here. Typically the housekeeping person would come back while we were at dinner, turn down the bed, provide a couple bottles of water on the night stands, place a rug on either side of the bed, and replace any used towels. We did not have this service on 2 of the 8 nights we were there. When they do it, it is fantastic, when they don’t you really miss it.

4. Every afternoon there are hot snacks (finger foods), chips and salsa with cheese sauce from about 4 till 5 near the hot tub. Just a little something to hold the hungry over between lunch and dinner. Since some eat an early lunch (12:30) and then a late dinner (8:30) I can see how one might be a little hungry between 4 and 5.

5. Food quality on the dark side (Eldorado Seaside Suites) is inconsistent at best. We tried most all the restaurants and the quality of the food was just so-so. A couple of the restaurants we would not even go back to. The food quality at the dark side restaurants was much better on our first two trips to HBR in May and November of last year. I think they try too hard to make the food “gourmet” and in doing so lose some of the quality and taste. One of the best meals on the dark side was at the Mexican restaurant on buffet night. They claim this was authentic Mexican food (not the gourmet normal fare) and it was fantastic. It was one of our best meals all week. However at the same restaurant on a subsequent night I requested jalapenos and was politely informed that they had none. What respectable Mexican restaurant does not have jalapenos?

6. Food quality for the romantic moonlight private dinner was actually a let down. We expected to be wowed by the special attention with a dedicated waiter to insure the highest quality but we were disappointed. The waiter was excellent but the food was barely warm (certainly not hot enough) and not as good as what you would get by eating at the HBR restaurant. The house white wine was horrible, this coming from someone who loves their wine n- red, white and everywhere in between. Good wine does not have to be expensive. We wouldn’t do the private dinner again, even if it was free.

7. There seems to be a problem with the guests from the dark side showing an interest in what is behind the fence (HBR). Almost every day there would be one or more of the dark side guests inadvertently losing their way on their beach and stumbling onto the HBR beach. Not easy to do since there is a fence and rock outcropping that separates HBR from El Dorado (dark side). Some HBR guests were aggravated by this and reported the escapees from the dark side to the HBR General Manager, Miguel. Miguel showed an honest interest in stopping this intrusion. Unfortunately any measures that were implemented to stop the intrusion were ineffective.

Besides what’s different at HBR there are a number of other observations worth mentioning.

1. The dinner service at HBR has not changed, it is very, very slow. The servers are working extremely hard to serve the guests but it seems to take forever to get each course of food. I would have to assume the holdup is in the kitchen preparing all the food. Perhaps another pair of hands in the HBR kitchen would reduce the wait time. This was a recurring problem in both previous trips to HBR.

2. The breakfast and lunch staff were the same as in previous trips to HBR. They all remembered us and greeted us as if we were family. They greeted us each morning with our favorite beverage and quickly learned our names. Yes, there were times when a drink order would go unfilled (they are human after all and sometimes things fall in the cracks) but all in all the morning and lunch staff do a great job. Special mention goes out to Angel and Anecito.

3. Carlos is still working the bar during the morning and early afternoon. We would often times joke about last call being 2:45 in the afternoon, as Carlos leaves at 3:00 and any drinks poured after that were usually not as good. Too much of this, or not enough of that, and the beverage is not drinkable. Some people stick with beer or wine after 3 to avoid the issues with the more complicated mixed drinks. Not that the bar tender was not good at keeping the drinks coming, he would often times have a second refill of your beverage waiting even before you finished the first.

4. Esparanza is still there taking drink orders and serving the guests throughout the day. She takes good care of us, always offing to keep us hydrated with our favorite adult beverage or with bottles of water. She always carries extra bottles of water just in case.

5. Pool volleyball is still the most anticipated events of the day. Although there are prescribed times for the entertainment staff to rally the guests for a sometimes fierce contest in the pool (official times 11:00 and 4:00) the games will sometimes begin early at the insistence of the guests and you could miss out.

6. For those of us who love our ice cream, you can get it at HBR almost any time of the day. Certainly during lunch service and after dinner. Many times after eating at a restaurant on the dark side we would return to the HBR restaurant and order only desert – ice cream or ice cream and a brownie. Sometimes it would take a while to get it and sometimes it was a bit melted, but every time it was ice cream, real ice cream not the low fat frozen yogurt or ice milk that you buy back home to save on the calories, this is the real ice cream with all the fat and glory it has to offer. I guess you can tell I love my ice cream.

7. Not everything is preventable. Our room air conditioner was not working properly and after the first night I reported it and it was repaired immediately. We never had another problem with the system. Our friends on the last night of their stay had a problem with their air conditioner at 2 am. Although the maintenance staff tried to fix it, they could not, and our friends were moved to a different room a few doors down. They were lucky there was an empty room to move into. I don’t know how often the air conditioners fail or what they could do to preempt problems with the A/C, things that get used a lot have problems.

8. Construction is beginning on a new “disco” and the old disco will be replaced with additional higher priced rooms that have dedicated butler service. We were not told the schedule for this but I would not be surprised if this time next year there is a new disco.

9. One thing they could certainly use at HBR is a walk up bar during the day and early evening where guests could order a drink, sit on a bar stool (with towel of course). With only a swim up bar at HBR it can sometimes be a pain to get a drink without getting into the pool.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor dome rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Michael_LA55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Without wanting to detract from the majority of excellent reviews of Hidden Beach Resort, I thought that it would be useful to list some tips and observations about the resort, particularly for any first time visitors from the UK.

Most of what has been previously written is true to a large degree, but as most of the reviews are by Americans, and most of those are repeat guests (60-70% repeat customers), I thought that it would be useful to give a different perspective.

After searching quite extensively, there don’t seem to be any package holidays to the resort from the UK. Thomson and First Choice do packages to the next door Karisma resort, the (clothed) El Dorado Seaside Suites, and we considered doing this and buying day passes to Hidden Beach, but at $100 per person per day this would have worked out at least as expensive as staying at Hidden Beach itself, so we eventually booked with the cheapest tour operator Travel Republic, and flew with Thomas Cook. This however did not include the transfers to and from the resort, which we only discovered shortly before we were due to leave, so it is worth checking if they are included. We eventually got transfers with Yellow Taxis, who were very efficient, and only cost £36 return. The journey from the airport is about 1hr and 15 mins. Another important fact to consider is the ‘Exit Tax’ which is collected at the airport on departure. Some package deals include this in their price, but as ours wasn’t a package we had to find 900 Pesos, or £50 per person at the airport, and card payments are not accepted, so don’t get caught out.

The resort has its own private entrance, just alongside the El Dorado Suites. We were welcomed warmly, and taken to our suite, which was room 1120, one of the only 6 rooms with a balcony, overlooking the restaurant and pool.

The room was immaculate, as already mentioned by many reviewers, with a huge TV, shower room, kingsize bed, Jacuzzi, mini-bar, table, chairs, sofa, ironing board, iron, a bar, a fully stocked fridge with drinks and crisps, a hairdryer, a huge shower and twin washbasins, but strangely no plugs for these! The balcony was adequate, but not wide enough for a table, only for the couple of chairs provided, and did leak from under the tiled roof when it rained. Each day our room was cleaned to perfection, and for the first week we had a lovely gentleman who came in to turn down our bed, but this was sporadic, and for the last week we only got one turn down, and our duvet cover was missing for the last week, leaving the raw duvet.

The grounds are beautifully manicured and cared for by a team of very friendly gardeners, and the paths swept continually, making it perfectly safe to walk without shoes.
The food is excellent – table service in the evenings, and mornings if you don’t mind waiting, although breakfast can be self-service if you prefer. Initially we found the table service to be very slow, and got a little bit frustrated at sitting with empty glasses or no food for long periods, trying to catch the eyes of the waiters. We eventually had to say something, and the service seemed to improve somewhat thereafter. Tables are generally set out in twos, although there seemed to be larger tables set up and used for larger parties, or for the repeat guests who obviously knew each other from previous visits.

The clientele is more or less exclusively American, but we did also meet a very nice couple from the UK, one from Holland, and another from Estonia.

The pool is lovely, and there are ample sunbeds surrounding the pool, with the day interspaced with various pool activities. Many people spent most of the day in the pool by the bar, and some on the terraces of their swim up suites, and the pool was probably where most of the socialising happened, as there really isn’t anywhere else to sit and have a drink, and the bar is more accessible from there, as it is a swim up bar. The poolside does get quite noisy, and there are water activities organised by the entertainment team, such as volleyball, and music is playing all the time.

Preferring the quiet of the beach, we spent most of our time there, which was regularly serviced by the lovely Esperanza, who tirelessly refilled our glasses. The beach is quite coarse, shallow, windy, and the sea rocky and seaweedy, so make sure you bring plastic swimming shoes to wear if you want to go in the sea, as the shoes available to buy are $29 from the gift shops in the next door resort, and it is practically impossible to use the sea without them. At the El Dorado Seaside Suites they have managed to create an easier sea bathing area by excavating out the rocks, and like an earlier reviewer, we wonder why this hasn’t been done at Hidden Beach also.

There is a conservation programme for sea turtles, with a protective corral on the beach for their eggs, and we were lucky enough to see a huge turtle in the shallow water early one evening.

Another useful tip is that beach towels are in abundance, so you don’t need to bring any towels with you, or umbrellas (as we discovered when it rained) as every room is provided with one.

The first evening we dressed and went down to have a pre-dinner drink, (dressing for dinner or for any meals is not compulsory although many do) but we quickly discovered that apart from the open air restaurant there was nowhere to sit and have a drink, smoke, play a game of cards, or chat to other guests, apart from at the picnic tables by the beach wall, which are unlit, and very windy, as there is little shelter, and consequently are largely unused. These are also some way from the swim up bar, which can only be accessed on land via the restaurant, and is at pool level.

Apparently, up until last year, the restaurant was divided into areas for smoking and non-smoking, but all this area is now non-smoking. Whilst not disagreeing with this, it seems hard for smokers to have to resort to standing round corners to have a cigarette, when it would be easy to utilise one of the massage stations dotted around to create a small bar with a few stools and some light close to the restaurant. Apparently there used to be a roof top bar over the restaurant, but that was closed as there were complaints about noise from some guests, and nothing was ever organised instead, which we feel is a shame. Once the restaurant closes at about 10.30, the lights are switched off, and most people seem to go to bed, generally leaving only a handful of people in the Moonlight Disco Bar, which is cavernous, but noisy.

Apart from a band in the Moonlight Bar one evening, the entertainment was at one end of the restaurant, which although nice, again made it difficult to have a conversation during dinner, and if you picked you eating time wrongly, the service was very slow due to preoccupation with the acts, one of which was a little too interactive for comfort during dinner, crossed the boundaries and illustrated that the entertainment staff seems to have a rather confused view between naturism, exhibitionism and sex.

We didn’t venture to the neighbouring resort until the 2nd week, and we found (in contrast to what other reviewers have said), that people there were very sociable, chatty, and quite accepting of the fact we were from the naturist side. The clientele in the El Dorado Suites are predominantly British and European.

The restaurants (both at Hidden Beach and at El Dorado) are all excellent, especially the Italian, and Asian, but be aware that they will try to sell you expensive wine, when the house red is perfectly fine. However, at the Mexican restaurant (“La Carreta”), we had the unfortunate experience of our starters being whisked away whilst we were still eating them, to be replaced by the main courses being held impatiently by a second waiter – not good!

We met some very lovely interesting people at Hidden Beach, but this was mainly during the last two days of the holiday, which were extremely wet, when we were encouraged to sit in the restaurant in between meals and chat, play games (and the smoking ban was also lifted, as there was nowhere else to go) because it was the only place that you could get a drink and was dry apart from the rooms.

Some reviewers write that they tip on arrival, others say to tip during or at the end of their stay. We think that one should tip for services rendered, and tipped the people that made our stay memorable unconditionally, like Bruno the gardener who worked tirelessly to maintain the grounds, Esperanza who brought us drinks every day, that she was working, and our cleaner Miguel, amongst a few others, and not the staff who knew that we were about to leave and suddenly became more attentive.

I know that what I have written may sound rather picky, and I don’t mean to, but I feel that there are some relatively inexpensive missed opportunities at this resort.

We were told that they are planning to create some more exclusive rooms, some with butler services, and that for that to happen the Moonlight Bar is going to be demolished, and that that is why they aren’t bothering to replace the leaking roof. As it is quite a small complex and already crowded in areas, I am not sure that the existing pool and facilities could support many extra rooms – we hope that more consideration will be given to catering for a wider and more international clientele than appears to be the case at present.

Overall, this is a great resort for naturists to chill and relax, but at a substantial cost for UK and European guests, and the management should recognize this in their current hospitality and future plans.

Room Tip: Request either a balcony room of which there are only 6, or a swim up room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank DebnMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, November 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
7.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
5.0 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#106 of 386 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
1.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma

Property: Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Address: KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 405 Specialty Lodging in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the only luxurious all-inclusive nudist resort in the Mexican Caribbean. Consisting of 42 beachfront suites, it is a secluded adults only property, perfect for couples and singles alike. Located just one hour and a half south of Cancun Airport, Hidden Beach Resort lies on a stretch of white sand beach offering spectacular views of the Mexican Caribbean sea. Hidden Beach blends signature services such as personalized check-in with a welcome glass of champagne or the exclusive concierge service with charming architecture to create an atmosphere of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club Hotel Riviera Maya
Hidden Beach Mexico
Hidden Beach Hotel Au Naturel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing