We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Nearby Hotels
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$297
$278
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$284
$253
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$359
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$474
$382
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$486
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveler rating
613
127
26
21
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
127
26
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsau naturelel doradonude cruisebody paintinghot tubmoonlight loungeswim up roomother guestseldorado seaside suiteswater journeypool volleyballactivities directorbeach bedswater shoesfront officebreakfast and lunchswim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 802 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Most of the reviews are all on point so I won't reiterate the same things as everyone else. The service is what makes this place great. America, Reuben, and Esperanza are the heart of the operation. It was our first clothing optional resort and everyone made us feel welcome and comfortable. We loved the small feel and met some great new friends. We traveled the first week of December 2013. Wish we could have stayed longer but still had an amazing time and hope to get back again soon.

Room Tip: We upgraded to swim up. Well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Been to the Domican, Jamacia, Mexico at least 30 times, and many parts of Europe numerous times. It is rare for me to do a review, but I read many of the reviews on HBR and decided to write my own. We have stayed at other clothing optionals where you leave your room clothed and had your choice to go to a naked designated area or not, but this is the first time staying where you can walk out of your room naked. For reference we went as a couple the last week of Nov. 2013.

Arrival -- Check-in was smooth and quick, less than 15 min.

Room -- Clean and nice, well laid out and all rooms include a jacuzzi with bubble bath and 2 comfy robes. The bed was just right with 2 pillows each, one large fluffy and one regular size soft scrunchy, with a love seat full of others to choose from. If this is not enough there is a pillow menu to choose from! Double sinks and glass door shower with lotions, soap and shampoos provided. (Don't waste bag room!)

Room Booze -- as advertised 4 bottles in your room which can be requested for a change for any other behind the bar. Note: they have a top shelf of every flavor that should please any palet. The fridge contained ten canned beers five kinds, 2 bags of pretzels, plenty of water, pop, and juice.

Property -- immaculate, constant cleaning and maintenance both structure and flora. I read of roof leaks but heard of none our week and we talked with most everyone there. As you will experience with only 42 rooms you will have the opportunity to meet everyone, it is great.

Staff -- They are professional, and ready to serve, when you say "thank you" they respond "My Pleasure", not just a you'r welcome. It would be unfair to list the name for fear of missing someone, but we did not have an issue with anyone from staff to maintenance, and a Hola from all.

Food -- Breakfast is buffet with custom made eggs and anything else from cheese, meat, fruit, bread, cereal. etc. Lunch is poolside with a variety to choose from. Supper is from a menu and all is good. Many people dressed (textile) and went next door at least once for supper, but I cannot comment as we did not, but from what I hear it was good. We did don clothes and toured next door and found lunch on the beach which was great, but did hurry back to our side as it was not as friendly and felt confining.

Entertainment -- Around the pool expect some lite things like triva, darts, bingo, ect, then pool volleyball. Go figure, if you win one of the day games, you win a T-shirt at a Nekked resort! Play if you want, relax if you want. Evening will always have some activity either at the pool or pavilion around 8. It will last 1.5hr to 3hr but usually early to bed, so don't expect a wild night. If you want, go next door with clothes, but by then we were done anyway plus the room was a lot of fun :-)

Grooming -- This ranges all over the spectrum. The majority are shaved pubic bare (just do it!), the next category are trimmed, and a very small minority are the wild hair Sasquatch types (nasty - trim it!).

The Experience -- After starring out of the window, we saw most around the pool nakked and others with various degrees of clothing at the tables eating. We took a deep breath, my wife with a half sarong and me with my sandels and head for the pool. (Recommend taking 2 insulated cups to keep beverages cool and holds more beverage) First stop, the front of the restaurant for two towels from the towel box, mandatory at all times. Eyes lowered we head to find lounge chairs around the pool, which are plentiful. Jump in two chairs and try to look like you fit in, eyes slowly scanning for data, when the pool server comes around, clinch your legs and order a drink. You will see big, small, thin, round, scarred, young of 30's, seniors at 70, you will be like everyone else and this phase will take 30 min to 1.5 hr. By then you will realize it is not about the body or looks, but it is about total freedom. Lunch is anywhere from nekked on your towel to fully covered with usually with a sarong. The wife never owned a sarong, now has several and loves them all. (Amazon.com ) What a lead in -- while you are shopping, and after reviewing HBR web site for theme nights, you will have some fun pushing away from the norm. Guy's don't push it too far and only try to have some nice - nasty options, girls you will really have fun after you relax (a day or two).
Girls review theme nights for a start, then take a covering dress for either side (respectful but sassy and it is 80+). Then, 2 outfits you would never wear out at home or around 500 mile or more from home base, or should I just say riske. Remember you do not have to wear it out, and it just might be a shotgun start to a private Jacuzzi session. (Having a small candle in the bag to light by the Jacuzzi is always a nice romanic touch.) My guess is you will find that you did not take it far enough! :-))) Ladies I figure you will challenge the last statement, but remember you don't have to wear it out!!! Relax and have fun! (For Mari Gras night I went on Amazon and bought 72 sets of beads and passed them out around the pool during the day, it was a hoot for all! ;;;-))) Wednesday is the nude cruise on a sail boat and is a fun trip. Dinners are anywhere from nude to provocative to sassy dresses, but everyone still ends up in the hot tub! Be prepared for Friday and recruit as many as possible to the pavilion for Neon night. As it goes the word does not pass fast enough but they bring in an artist with glow in the dark water paint. Ask for some body art and sit back and relax, then enjoy watching everyone dance in the black light. (Tip the guy as he is paid next to nothing) One afternoon is a tequila tasting and they will offer bottles to take home, --- although all are not available, for those that are, it is cheaper at duty free at the airport.

We have already booked for May 2014 as that is the soonest I can return given my schedule, we rarely return to the same place twice so that should say it all! My best advice -- try it and you will be back! If my review answered your concerns please click that it was helpful on trip advisor. Have fun and Party :-)))

Room Tip: The swim outs by the restaurant are the best bet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank Breeze78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great resort. Had a great time last week! Thanks for Esperanza, Alberto, Angel, Ruben and America! The staff is what makes this great. Food was great and all the drinks are top shelf! The weather cooperated nicely. Because the resort is so intimate, the staff gets to know you personally and really remember all the things you like. Miguel, the GM, has assembled a great staff. Getting to know the fellow guests is great. Feels a lot cozier than some of the larger resorts. This was our second visit and can't wait until our next one.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are the best!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank friendofsparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

From the bellmans "Welcome Home" upon our arrival. HBR was truly an incredible experience. My partner was concerned about going to a clothing optional resort – she had a great time. Every aspect was executed to perfection. Lots of restaurant choices - with the large resort next door, the food on the property was great as well. I can't speak highly enough of the place.

The spa was amazing - Incredible decor, state of the art facilities, and very well trained staff. It's outside the Clothing Optional area, but the Spa is Clothing Optional on Sunday evenings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our 8th time to Hidden Beach and it is as perfect as one can want. Service is top notch and the staff is totally into pleasing the guests. The volleyball is fun; hot tubs are great and the ocean/beach views are awesome. We like this resort because most of the people are in our age group (age 40 and above) and the music, entertainment and pace is just what we like. Plan to go again in March.

Room Tip: We like Building 11.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thorswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews