We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT! Again....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“PERFECT! Again....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

It is hard to write this review because I'd rather keep this place a secret. This is our 4th time here, and we are so thrilled that we invested in membership the first visit. My wife and I are well traveled. Without question, this is the finest place we have ever stayed. We spend 51 weeks a year looking forward to our week here. It is an annual reset - and we fall more in love with this place (and each other) every time we visit. As we are only on day 4 of 7, I may have to add additional comments later, but for now, the following comments:

Our butlers this time were Yalma and Liliana. They are both excellent, taking every opportunity to do the smallest little things to make our vacation perfect. Both of them are so professional and friendly, and seem to enjoy making us smile. We will definitely request them again next year.

The staff (all of them) at Naay Spa are also excellent. However, one masseuse, Felipe, is undoubtedly the best technician I have ever had. All of the masseuses are very good - but Felipe is incredible. I was a little afraid to shake his hand after the massage - I have strong hands, but Felipe is a gladiator!

The bartender at Casitas 32 bar, Luis, is a pro. Ask for his special if you happen to stay in 32.

We love the new Santa Fe restaurant. Also had a chance to dine at Jade, next door at El Dorado Generations, and we were blown away. All of the sushi was delicious, and the MahiMahi I had was the best i've ever tasted. Cesar, our waiter at Jade, was great. (By the way, after touring next door at Generations, we are really looking forward to staying down there when we have our kids with us. It is a stunningly beautiful facility, and the rooms, particularly upstairs with infinity pools, are breathtaking.)

The grounds are perfectly manicured - I've never seen one piece of litter, a leaf out of place, etc. An army of staff attack this place from sunup to sundown, quietly going about their daily efforts to make El Dorado Casitas the paradise we dream of all year round. Every staff member will greet you with a friendly "Hola" or "Buenos Dias" and a smile.

We always enjoy our meals, no matter what restaurant we dine in. We have our favorites, and I will keep those secret so I don't have to compete with you for a table. Our advice: try them all and find your personal favorites.

I have had a countdown app running on my iPhone for the past month, counting the days, hours, minutes until we got here. Sadly, we are on the second half. After finishing this review, I will start working on booking our next visit back. In the meantime, we are planning a ski trip, a Mediterranean cruise, and a motorcycle trip, but what we will be really looking forward to is our return to El Dorado Casitas.

T. Fisher
Tulsa, OK

Room Tip: There are really two hotels here - El Dorado Royale and El Dorado Casitas. If you want a nice room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,418
    529
    188
    55
    35
See reviews for
221
3,333
56
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,674)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in June 2014. If you can afford the upgrade to Casitas then do, it is worth it. We had a swim up room and it was worth the extra. Very much like having your own private pool. The hotel itself is immaculate, they must have an army of staff keeping the grounds tidy, as the attention to detail is incredible. The room is spacious, the mini bar is restocked daily, the turn down service sprays an aromatherapy of your choice and the outdoor shower is amazing. Room service is included and we found the service great, never waiting more than 30 minutes and the food to be a good standard. The breakfast buffet choice is great. The food in the restaurants is more fine dining than your standard all-inclusive, so the portion sizes can seem small. in our second week we worked out that we could order another main to share and that was perfect. The food is good though. The staff are all so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Cesar in bar 28/27 made our holiday for us. On the first day he learnt our names and from then on he made us feel special. Javier, our beach butler was also great. The only small criticism I would have is that the wifi is poor. The signal is better at the pool areas, in the rooms it is very weak. It is also pretty expensive. If they sort that out then the place will be a perfect paradise. Easily worth the ten hour flight from the UK. Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms in Casitas are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ticboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I am writing this way too long after our honeymoon (two years ago). But, for those reading this, all you should know is that this place is still on the minds of my wife and I to this very day. We talk about heading back there way more than we will ever be able to go.

It was so luxurious. The food was so delicious. We could not get enough.

I wish I could provide details, but the other reviews will spell it out well for you.

If you are considering a honeymoon or anniversary trip, this is the spot to go!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to this resort- over a dozen times in the past 8 years, and it's been great every time, even when the weather isn't so great. The staff are friendly, the restaurants serve good food (safe!), the facilities are clean and the LONG beach front sidewalk is enjoyable any time of the day. The beach beds on the casitas side of the resort are great places for reading and the gym, though small, has most of what you want. The swim up/infinity pool casitas have been renovated and we still enjoy the outdoor shower!
The only thing I have noticed lately that is a negative is the frequent unwanted visits from the spa staff while we are on our beach bed asking us whether we want to try the spa. Since we'd rather spend relaxing time together on the beach, the spa does not interest us. Also, while I have tried their pedicure/massage services in the past, I found their services pricey and relatively short.

Room Tip: All of the casitas suites are nice but we enjoy the newer infinity pool (with or without swim up) th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Priscilla P,
Thank you so much for the constant preference and loyalty to El Dorado Casitas, we very much appreciate your review which points out some interesting matters. Thank you for the compliments and recommendation about our resort and we look forward for the opportunity to serve you again soon in your Mexican home!

Best Regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We loved our stay at El Dorado Casitas. Certainly worth the value. Can't wait to go back as well. The room was beautiful. We were about 10 steps to the pool and 10 steps to the beach. We loved hanging out with Cesar at the swim up bar (27). He really made us feel great about being there. We also found a favorite waiter, Humberto at Santa Fe! He was so nice and kept us smiling through every breakfast and lunch. The only negative was the membership pitch. We thought we would be good sports and sit through it, but felt like Brad wasn't very respectful of our time and ended up being very rude to us once we asked for more time and information to review their options. Overall, the weather was unbelievable as were the grounds and amenities. Hard to believe that places like El Dorado actually exist.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleDempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear KyleDempsey,
I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are privileged to have been able to host you and your partner's honeymoon stay with us!
Your comments have caused great concern to us and the Executive Management of Exotic and a meeting taken place specifically to discuss the issues mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back again, maybe for a first year anniversary? We will have the champagne chilled, awaiting your next arrival!

Best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

For a long time our destination in our vacations has been Cancun and the Riviera Maya and we have visited lots of resorts that are exclusive for adults. During all this time we have looked for a hotel that could be the best about facilities and service to the guest, but we always have found some details.

In this occasion we have stayed at Casitas Dorado Royale. The hotel was with 85% of his capacity and I was attended from the beginning as if I were someone special.

The perception from our arrival was that the employees work happily and with pleasure so we didn’t feel it as “just a smile for the guests”

This optimism and good will does that it is a chain of services that work forward to the perfection, under a good administration.

The facilities are of the first category, wide rooms with ceilings girders of wood, baths of luxury, it has 7 restaurants à la carte, food and drinks, and it has 13 swimming pools, lots of activities, good shows. They only have a concierge; a bar and every certain group of little houses have their own swimming pool. It also has a service of free transportation to Cancun.

The beach is rocky, but it is not an impediment to swim using the water shoes.

To name just ONE employee would be unjust, I think that they all together did that we had our best vacations!!

"Congratulations to all those people that work in that beautiful resort”
This one is the hotel that we were looking for!! We hope we could return there next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ERIKA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We have been honored with a review not only from an expert traveler such as yourself, but the fact that you show satisfied with your experience makes us feel really proud of our site and staff.
Thank you once again for having confidence in us even though we still need to improve in some areas.
Your lovely review constitutes a great motivation for us to keep improving our team work and personalizing our services.
It will be great to welcome you back in the near future for another memorable vacation.

Best Regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I booked our honeymoon through our travel agent, Jennifer, from The Tropical Travelers. We received the upgraded Honeymoon suite & package plus travel transport through Lomas, which is on site at El Dorado. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with the best, most friendliest service. Our room was impeccable; we had 2 functionality issues: outdoor lights & pool light wasn't functioning and the DVR was broken. I placed a call to the concierge and they were both replaced almost immediately. Later in the week, our refrigerator wasn't getting as cold as it should have been and they also replaced it immediately.
The spa services, especially the water treatments, were fabulous and we visited the spa almost daily.
Food was high quality and very fresh, which can be uncommon at a standard all-inclusive. Portions were on the smaller side, but it was expected and I enjoyed having sensible portions so you could taste a little of everything.
Same goes for the quality of alcohol and drinks. The staff was incredibly attentive and kind; many bartenders remembered our drinks and were always in good spirits.
We enjoyed that the resort was broken up into two parts so we could have our taste of everything: if we wanted a quieter scene, we stayed at the Casitas and our section's swim up bar/pool; if we wanted a more "happy hour party" scene, we took a quick walk over to the El Dorado Royale side to the main pool.
Our experience was wonderful and we are already planning our return for our 1 year anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Christiana R,

It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients expectations.
We'll extend your comments to the department of housekeeping in order to reenforce the job done in the rooms before our guests check in.
Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ satisfaction.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.

Best regards,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,133 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.3 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
4.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing