We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Nearby Hotels
$331
$236
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$386
$254
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$535
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$370
$347
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$370
$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,691)
Filter reviews
5,691 results
Traveler rating
4,636
687
248
76
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,636
687
248
76
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach butleroutdoor showercasitas sectionhealth barpersonal conciergesanta fe grillour honeymooncandlelight dinner on the beachroom servicebeach bum vacationswine pairinggourmet inclusiveartificial reefcasita suitepool bartenderbeach bedsswim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
4,375 - 4,380 of 5,691 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our third year in a row and it never disappoints. We always feel we have found a calming oasis from our hectic lives, whether we are exploring the sprawling, beautifully maintained grounds, enjoying the delicious foods at all the restaurants, swimming in the pools too numerous to mention, or just relaxing in the lovely casitas. See you there next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked this from the Uk and the hotel meet all our expectations. The Royale part of the hotel was not crowed or full of Americans other than round thanksgiving. The system for booking resturants worked fine and the food was fine but the portions were small which made having something at lunch time fine. The room was good and a couple of things we needed doing such as swopping coke for diet coke were done promptly

We hired a car for a week and that was a lot cheaper than the expensive tours which the tour company tried to sell and gave us a lot more flexability

We were not hustled for tips

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great food, all freshly prepared, vegetables grown on site. The hotel is environmentally friendly in many areas. All of the staff were fantastic, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The beach is beautiful, the sun rise second to none.

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing or sea view room. Had I stayed in some of the rooms on the back of the hotel I would have been a little disappointed with the views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our second year at the El Dorado and it was just as good as our first visit. Our trip began with an unexpected upgrade from the Villas to the Casitas. It was a very pleasant surprise. We had our own pool and an outdoor shower. The room was very large and beautifully furnished. We ate at all of the restaurants except for the Italian Villas and they were all excellent. We are planning a return trip next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This year was our third stay at the El Dorado (once at the Royale and now twice at the Casitas) And the resort was a beautiful as ever! Room renovations are gorgeous, grounds are stunning and the restaurants are amazing. We stayed in a swim-up and if you love the pool and the swim-up bars, be sure to stay in one of these suites! Our bartender - Facundo - was INCREDIBLE!! He definitely made our vacation :) We were very impressed touring the green house and learning all about the environmentally-friendly decisions the hotel is making (including allowing the staff to take home vegetables from the greenhouse that would not be able to be used in the restaurants before they would spoil!)

As with any holiday, there were minor inconveniences that could happen to anyone - our room key wouldn't work when we checked in as we were taken to the wrong room, the welcome package was not addressed to us but another couple, there were some extremely long waits during some meals, the weather wasn't the greatest, they worked on something right outside our door at 3 am, etc - but there were a couple things that just don't sit well with us.

We had very little/no hot water during the first 5 days of our stay...we complained several times per day to our concierge regarding this - they would call back saying it will be fixed very soon, or they would send a repairman to check out the suite. One time we were told to let the water run until it got hot - so I did - for 55 minutes I ran the 2 bathroom sinks and the outdoor shower on FULL HOT and they were still not warm when I shut them off!! Finally on the second last day, we got warm water :) Now I try to be reasonable, but the concierge/hotel made NO attempt to compensate us for this big inconvenience!! The most we got was 'sorry'....

Upon arrival, we were chatting with another couple and learned that the 5 days previous to our arrival it had been raining like crazy (which we were happy that we had missed) but the first step in the swim-up pool made us realize that we were also going to suffer from all the rain!! The pool was FREEZING cold (and we are from Saskatchewan where our lakes never get very warm - and this was even colder!!) We were sure that we were staying in a section that had a heated swim-up last year so we asked the bartender - who then confirmed with the pool maintenance man - that they are no longer heating ANY of the pools!! Apparently it cost too much money for them to run the heaters so now ALL of the pools (All of the swim-ups, Fuentes, the pool by La Isla, the pool near the Health Bar and all of the lazy rivers) are now cold.

Minor inconveniences happen - and if we were staying at a less-than-premium resort and paying a less-than-premium price, we would expect cold showers and cold pools - but we were not...we love the El Dorado Casitas...but we are already planning to spend our premium-money on a resort that isn't cutting the corners.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the pool and swim-ups bars - upgrade to a swim-up suite...we LOVE them!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews