We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Chill Out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #27 of 390 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned from 10 days at the Casitas Royale & even though there were a few niggles, in general this was one of the best holidays we have ever had. No idea what Mexico was like because we never left the resort for the whole of the 10 days, that's how good it was. We paid extra to stay in Casitas rather than the Royale & were pleased we had done so. This gives you the benefit of being able to book the restaurants in advance (via your concierge) & the Casitas is a much quieter resort, but of course that depends on your preference. We were very pleased with our room which was on Casitas 27, although no sea view because of the palm trees. You would need a swim up room if this was important to your holiday. The hotel grounds ares stunning & there are always staff around making sure they stay that way. The staff were unfailingly cheerful & friendly & do help to make this a place you want to return to. However there were a couple of things that we would change. All the pools at the Casitas have swim up bars which is o.k if you want to sit & drink for most of the day which a few did from 11a.m to closing at 5p.m. We gave these select few the knick name 'Redbacks' because they would sit facing the bar all day with their back in the hot sun, never leaving their watery perch until the bar closed. Two things worried us about this, one they became very loud & two they didn't appear to ever use the bathroom. A Casitas pool without a bar would have been very welcome. We used the beach every day & the beds were better than you get in some hotels. The sea was a disappointment because of the weed & the sandbags they are using to restore the reef but of course this is not a reflection on the hotel. Best restaurants for dinner, Kampai, D'Italia Villas & D' Italia Casitas. Least favourite Santa Fe, aircraft hanger with tables, & really slow service. For breakfast Cocotal, drinks, Gaviotas if you want a cocktail with just about anything & everything thrown in a glass. Bellinis & Martini Bar for a bit more of a refined service. The Health Bar for smoothies, juices & lunch, used that every morning after the excellent yoga class by the beach. Dress code for dinner & not being allowed to reserve sunbeds, laughable. We witnessed a man being sent away from the Italian to put on a t-shirt with a collar but was allowed back in with the shortest of shorts. Towels were out by 7.30am every morning. Small niggles though & would return tomorrow if we could.

Room Tip: Standard rooms in Casitas are away from the beach but are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,639 - 3,645 of 4,900 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

First went to this hotel in 2009 for our daughters wedding. We were so impressed by the service, food , atmosphere that we went back again in 2010 and 2013. If you want excellent food, excellent accommodation, second to none customer service then this is the place for. Once you have experience this hotel settling for anything less can be problematic.
The staff consistently go the extra mile always delivering that special service that makes the difference.
We will definitely be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harrison128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Outstanding property! Gourmet all-inclusive totally met the foodies expectations.Staff was amazing especially Victor...fantastic bartender...Orlando provided a private bike tour.....Daniel the water gym instructor was great fun.....Alex and Luis helped us with suggestions! Adrianna assisted us with dinner arrangements. The Spa staff was awesome...V from Italy and Raya and Sophie and Mary gave wonderful beachside massages and facials by Rachel and Sara. Loved staying in the newly renovated Casitas....Don Julio was present daily!!! The outdoor showers pleasant surprise.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon. We fell in love with the location and we enjoyed every single day! We were a little sad to have to leave and go home to the real world. From the minute we stepped foot on the resort we felt likr royalty. We were immediately pampered by the staff.
Our concierge Luis and his coworker (he was great I just can't remember his name) they were so accommodating and helpful. We stayed in Room 3010 and at first we struggled with the moist smell. We come from a dry climate and had to get use to the humidity. But as long as we kept the A/C on the room smelled great! We got the pillow service and the aromatherapy each night. When we returned from our evening there was music playing and great towel animal with flowers and everything was very romantic.
We did two excursions while here and both we loved!! We went to the Mayan ruins and a Mayan reservation to swim. Our tour guide was Amazing and so knowledgeable Rex (Reyes) and Oscar. We then did the horseback at the ranch on the resort. We only wanted to do two excursions because the resort offered so many wonderful things to do!
Sitting by the pool, swinging in a hammock, laying on a beach bed, bike riding tours, yoga, shows and the gym are just a few of the things we did. My husband got us a sky massage which was very decadent. It is a couples massage on an elevated room on the beach. The sound of the waves was so soothing.
Every single employee was kind, helpful, friendly and always smiling.
We enjoyed ourselves so much that we plan on returning for our anniversary.
Thank you so much for a fantastic and memorable experience! I highly recommend coming here if you need some R&R, for a honeymoon, an anniversary, a birthday or just to get a way!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovestotravel_359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed 7 days in February in the infinity swim up 3136 and had the best time. Get with lomas for the private transfer from the airport it's worth it.
First the people, our concierge Claudia was awesome seeing to any dinner reservations we needed, you only really need to reserve at Fuentes and the dinner theatre experience, she ensured we had front row for the later. My wife also let her know it was my bday on the Monday and they did a great job decorating our room and sent an awesome flower arrangement as well as our romantic dinner on the beach ($145 extra for the dinner but worth it).
Young Carlos our house keeper was excellent leaving us with a cool towel animal daily, we left him $4 or $5 bucks a day and he was very appreciative.
Santiago and Daisy from our pool bar where outstanding, I would start the day by tipping $10 and we would not be without a drink all day, they would come right over to our patio or private pool. They always had a smile and a wave and genuinely enjoy their work they both work extremely hard and the resort is lucky to have them. Santiago had a "red rocket" ready for me if he saw me coming made with grey goose just like I make them at home! Isaac get's kudos as he was there for Santiago's day off, a real gentleman.
The food and service in all the restaurants was excellent (we got to 5 of the 9 on the resort), when they say gourmet included they are not exaggerating, no buffets except one restaurant at breakfast which was magnificent everything else is made to order. We often had room service for lunch on our patio by the pool, I guess the room service waiters got to know us because on our last night they showed up with a magnificent chocolate cake thanking us.
The room was very nice the out door shower was really cool, the fridge is stocked with beer and soft drinks but I would think for the price you would have bar service like Sandals, that said grab some duty free on the way down and set it up yourself so you can have a cocktail while getting ready for dinner without having to run down to one of the bars.
The resort is extremely clean and the grounds are beautiful and this resort is very committed to being a "green" facility. The gym was small but did the trick and you get plenty of walking in because of the size of the resort or you can get bikes to tour around.
When I researched Mexico (as we had not been for many years) there where lots of questions around tipping so here is my take. You get good service either way, keep in mind what these folks make as a wage and they are very appreciative when you do and they remember you from day to day.
Check in and check out both very smooth and everyone is extremely polite.
When we go on vacation we enjoy hanging out, reading and soaking up the sun and look forward to just spending quality time together without being bothered, if this is what you are looking for this is the resort for you!
We will definitely return to a Karisma resort!
The Clark's from Ontario Canada

Room Tip: While the upper infinity rooms are more private and have a great view you will have to run up and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our third stay in one year-we have fallen in love with this place and the staff!
Manuel (check in-so wonderful to us)
Alex (check in-so sweet)
Adrianna
Jeffrey (cart driver-what a kind and outgoing individual)
Daniel (cart driver-so attentive)
Francisco Allan Karen Claudia (concierge-all wonderful)
While we enjoy everything at the resort, these people make going back worth the trip.
We keep searching for other destinations/resorts, but nothing compares to el dorado casitas, so of course we will head back in May. During our last stay we had wonderful neighbors (bob and Connie; jan and mike) and not so wonderful ones who complained constantly despite all attempts by staff to appease them- how one could complain is beyond me-you are in paradise with wonderful attentive staff who go out of there way to make sure your stay is superior! May cannot come soon enough!

Room Tip: Casita swim up infinity is beautiful-31 is great with Los olas for lunch especially on Tuesdays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casitasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed in a swim up casita in September, and while the weather was hit and miss, the resort, and it's staff, we're not.
Everything was excellent, from service at the many bars, to the concierges who went out of their way to accommodate.
Food and drink we're of a very high quality and was always well presented.
We did have a mix up regarding what type of room we had booked, though this was down to an ill informed travel agent, the resort went out if it's way to resolve and came up with a great solution.
We tended to tip each drink and meal, but never felt pressured to do so, however the service is that good you really will want to show your appreciation.
Overall we would go back again in a heartbeat, it's certainly not the cheapest resort, however when you're there you feel like you get every pennies worth and more

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,168 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.3 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
1,189 reviews
10.8 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#17 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
#26 Green Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range: $433 - $1,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing