We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Nearby Hotels
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$299
$253
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$278
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$474
$390
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$413
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,620)
Filter reviews
5,620 results
Traveler rating
4,580
680
244
73
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,580
680
244
73
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach butleroutdoor showercasitas sectionhealth barpersonal conciergesanta fe grillour honeymoonbellini barbeach bum vacationscandlelight dinner on the beachwine pairingroom servicegourmet inclusiveartificial reefcasita suitepool bartenderbeach beds
Filter
Updating list...
4,427 - 4,432 of 5,620 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Upon arriving in Cancun, we were whisked away in a private van to the resort. Our suitcases were immediately brought to our room. Check-in was a breeze. Our room was quite large, with a balcony. The bed was king size. We also had a jacuzzi fitting 2 people. The room and the grounds were immaculately clean. Restaurants were very tasty with 7 to choose from. Breakfast was buffet and by menu. On a couple of occasions, our room was cleaned only in the early evening. Not critical, just a bit of an annoyance. My main gripe are the golf carts going around the resort. The carts should be required to shuttle guests around the perimeter of the resort via service roads. The same for the service golf carts. The resort is far from major cities but the resort offers free shuttles to the cities. We also had a problem with the spa. The day before my wife was getting manicure, pedicure and haircut, we were quoted one price. Just before her appointment, she was told at the spa that there was a mistake and the price would be $50 higher. We complained to management but to no avail. I think, however, the spa operates as a subcontractor to the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leahrabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for have taken the time writing such a nice review from your recent stay on Trip Advisor; it is a shame, knowing that we were not able to fulfill your expectations.

Our hotel, el Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, is committed of providing first class services, facilities and ambiance, therefore we extend our sincerest apologies if you were disappointed with certain aspects of our resort, like you mentioned with the shuttle service and of course the Spa; which is a supplier to the hotel.

But, Please be sure that all your observations have been noted and will be passed along to the respective department manager, in order to avoid other guests have the same issues.

We hope you can give us another opportunity in the future to restore your confidence on our business, is that is the cases please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you might need.

Kindest regards,

Sincerely yours,

Olga Medina
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our second stay at the El Dorado Royale and first time at the Casitas secion. Friendly staff, amazing service on the beach and unique restaurants. We particularly enjoyed El Fuente which is a brand new offering to the gourmet all inclusive and well as the Culinary Theater where you enjoyed white tablecloth service while you watched the chef prepare each course of your meal.

There were plenty of food choices and all food was exceptional and better than any other all inclusive we've experienced in the past.

Room Tip: For privacy, ask for a room on the second floor with a private infinity pool. The swim-ups are not very private.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmhartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This resort was breathtaking. Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne. The lobby area was immaculate. Our suitcases were taken by a butler man. At the reception the assistant advised us they were up grading our room for free, from a sea view balcony to a swim up room with jacuzzi. We were over the moon!!!.
The room was perfect. Clean, bright mini bar stocked up (although it only had beers, water sprite or coke. No spirits). The swim up pool was defo an added bonus. The restaurants are all fab. All the waiters and chef accommodate to your dietary requirements ensuring anything you do not like is not in your food. Fussy eaters are taken care of. Drinks are in abundance and the waiters keep them flowing. Whilst relaxing in my swim up pool they would keep bringing what ever drink i wanted. I didn't have to lift a finger. Travelling around the resort was fun as you can hop onto their shuttles and they take you were you want to go. The room service was also brilliant with a wide menu to suit everybody.
The beach is superb. Clear warm waters with tiny fish. paradise.
We took part in two excursions which we booked with first choice before we left. This was excellent value for money. Swimming with the dolphins, sea cows and sting rays and chichen itza (pyramids). Both were really really good. And food was included which again was excellent value for money. We also had a full body massage in there sky room on the beach. This was also very relaxing as you can hear the waves lapping on the beach.
The only downfall was our personal concierge. She was a bit pushy. She had pushed for us to have a candle light dinner on the beach on our last night provided we take part in a time share meeting the following morning, with no obligation to buy. However the next morning she advised that we shouldn't due to my partner not being in the right frame of mind, as his phone had gone missing from his room. This did cause a bit of conflict when leaving the resort regarding payment of the candle light dinner. We agreed to pay half, as she had cancelled the time share discussion. This was the only downfall of the whole holiday.
The first choice/Thomsons representatives are very good also. They were helpful and easily accessible.
I would return in a heart beat. so relaxing, friendly people, beautiful food, immaculate resort. LOVED IT.;)

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are best.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellieWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This trip was a destination wedding for my daughter. As with any gathering there were small glitches but nothing to dampen the spirits of the day/week we were there. The wedding day started with our waiter Eric serving lunch and being most attentive during that time. At the cocktail hour we again had Eric and then he transitioned to the reception. The food was excellent and Eric continued to be excellent. At our Casitas pool we had Alvaro and Edgar as our hosts. Again there was never a wait for a drink and they managed to bring us ice cream which was great. I visited several of the pools/swim up bars and by far Alvaro had the best music playing. Overall the food in the different restaurants was very good. We will be going back and when I get to the pool I want a dominos rematch with Edgar and Alvaro.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our second time here, as we were here 6 years ago also. A few things have changed, but seemingly for the better for the most part. The resort asked for our feedback, so this should be nothing new to their ears, so to speak. We stayed in the Casitas last time and the Casitas with the infinity pool this time and it was wonderful. Service is very good, but a few of the restaurants were not my favourite. The original Italian restaurant was not as good as the new one in the Casitas area (I had the same starter dish at both places), and the new Santa Fe Grill was not at all what we thought it would be (tex-mex). I am gluten-free and the resort tried very hard to accommodate that, which they did well in the restaurants. The bars however (pool side, healthy-bar [ironic] and martini/other bars) had nothing for GF snacks or meals at all, and the room-service struggled a bit with GF requests as well. The spa - the staff asked my husband if he was ok with a male for his appt, but they never looked at me and asked - so I assumed I was having a female for my appt. This was not the case however, and I have to admit, it was a bit uncomfortable for me - lesson learned! The only annoying thing in my opinion, was the seemingly endless questionnaire we were asked to fill out at check-out, which could be abbreviated for the sake of people trying to get to the airport and makes flights, etc. Optionally, perhaps it could be provided ahead of time to allow guests to complete it thoroughly. Recommend the dinner theatre (@ Fluentes), bike-tour and that also you get the Wi-Fi package (which wasn't available in 2008) which kept us connected and the reception was great. Loved the green-house and tour too - nice to see where some the food we ate was coming from and that it was fresh and local! Still love the outdoor showers and our surrounding area was nice and quiet over night. The window next to the tub could use a curtain however (bring an eye-mask), as it gets very bright at sunrise (early!). Regardless, we love coming here to escape the harsh Canadian winters and think it is beautiful. We hope to return again in future. Special thanks to Allen (one of our concierges), Leo at Bar 31 and Carmen who kept our room in very nice condition.

Room Tip: Stay in the Casitas area on the second floor if you want a nice quiet and private room. Some construction going on, but it was not obtrusive by any means.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YYCKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews