We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Paradise Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

El dorado royale was just what me and my wife needed (you need to get away once in a while from the kids and life).. we stayed at in a swim up casita, and it was everything I needed. the weather was sunny and hot, our room was clean and well hidden from other casitas. you can lay out on your deck or enjoy the bed under the nets and not see your neighbors. Also having a bar butler come and make sure your drink did not get to warm is nice also. My buddy Steve from Beach Bum vacations sent me here. this was our second time going and we will be going back. the Azul chain of resorts have the best food and service, if you want to have a romantic gettaway and be pampered by the staff.... this is the play to go.

Thanks Steve

Room Tip: the out door shower in the casitas is great... enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,418
    529
    188
    55
    35
See reviews for
221
3,333
56
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,674)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, Dorset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the El Dorado Royale over Christmas and New Year 2012/13. Having originally booked the Seaside suites in a swim up room we decided to swap hotels about a month before when the tour operator wrote to us and said there was some building work going on. Having paid a lot of money for the holiday we took the option to change. Although they didn’t want to put anything in writing we insisted - thank goodness!

We arrived at Cancun airport and were promptly told that we were not at the Royale but at the Seaside Suites - after about 30 mins they put us on the bus to the Royale. However when we arrived at 4pm Christmas Eve there was "no room at the Inn" - after about an hour of us insisting we weren’t swapping (hour transfer to Seaside Suites) and being very polite about it, one of the Hotel Managers took us under his wing, gave us a glass of fizz and sorted it out - we were upgraded to a Casitas room. They then gave us a free bottle of champagne (from the hotel) and Thomson gave us a free excursion (we chose swimming with Dolphins) to apologise.

That was about the only negative of the trip. The Casitas rooms and area were fab - having said that if we had stayed in the other area of the hotel we would have been happy. The benefits of Casitas are - you get bigger rooms, you can make reservations at the restaurants and you get day beds (4 of them) on the beach. We ended up in a first floor room which obviously didn’t have swim up but actually that didn’t bother us. If you do stay in the main area of the hotel you can use all of the casitas facilities (not the day beds on the beach) but you can use the swim up pools etc.

One of the reasons we chose the hotel (s) were - there were no kids and a lot of choice of restaurants and pools. I have travelled extensively and have to say this was in the top 3 hotels I have stayed in (service etc). We also used the gym a couple of times and used the spa once (treatments are quite expensive).

Yes the restaurants got busy - most of the time it was Americans bookings 2 or 3 restaurants and than not turning up! However, you get given a buzzer and just go to the bar - they might tell you it’s a 2 hour wait but its much much less than this - sometimes only 30 mins!

The staff (other than a disastrous trip to the Mexican restaurant) were amazing, friendly and helpful. Every single one of them said "hola" to you!

Whilst the resort is big it’s ok to walk around - they do offer you golf buggies to move around but we didn’t really use these. We had our own personal concierge (trying to sell you timeshare a lot of the time but if you just say not interested then they don’t push it).

We loved Kampai and the Casitas Italian restaurant. Jo Jos is nice and so is the LA Isla for breakfast and lunch. The health bar was also a favourite for lunch!

Jorge - our favourite barman who was mainly at the bar by Kampai was brilliant. We tipped him and I got pints of prosecco to take back to the room (as I don’t drink spirits or beer which was what was in the mini bar)!!!

We met some great people - Steven and Bryn and Sarah and Atiba who really made the 1st week of our hols - so much so we didn’t leave the resort for the first week. Yes there are sandbags in the sea but they are there for a reason. You could swim and snorkel no problem. We even had a baby turtle turn up in the sea near us! Having said that the beach isnt the best (been to better) but it was fine. A bit rocky underfoot getting into the sea but amazing fish swim right up to you!

We got a cab into Playa Del La Carmen a couple of times (about £25 each way so not cheap) - didn’t particularly like the resort but one day did our own trip of getting the ferry from there to Cozumel and then hired a scooter to go around - had a fab day!

Our excursion to Xel Ha was brilliant - all inclusive there (don’t forget we got it free) and swimming with dolphins. Quite a long trip as you pick up other hotels but great fun.

The transfer from Cancun airport to the hotel was about 10 mins!

I went to Mexico about 8 years ago and Cancun airport was a nightmare! It was busy this time around on arrival and you do have to queue for about 20 mins to get out but the queue does move quite quickly - just chill out - there is nothing you can do about it!

We had a fab time and I would definitely go back.
The other thing was I had been looking at the weather reports the week before and it kept saying rain - thankfully they were wrong - we had half a day of rain so used the spa instead!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband (age 39) and I (age 35) stayed in the Casitas section "31" Feb 17-23. Our room was an infinity pool swim-up suite. The room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable although we didn't know about the "pillow menu" and aromatherapy choices until we met with our concierge 2 days later. The mini bar was a bit disappointing as it was only beer and soda. Had a couple snacks in it also. Would have been nice to have a mixed drink in the evening before heading to dinner. There was a bar outside our room but they close around 4-5 pm. We didn't get a chance to use our infinity pool more than once or twice. The weather was not the warmest for the first few days and the side we were on was shaded for the majority of the day so the water never really had a chance to heat up. The swim-up is a nice luxury but I would probably opt for the second floor infinity pool suite if we should ever return. It is not nearly shaded as much and the view of the ocean is much better.

Food/Restaurants: As far as all-inclusive resorts go, the food is top notch. I do recommend ordering multiple courses as the portions are small. We learned this after our first dinner when the appetizer came to the table and it was like "where is the food?" We did appreciate this after a while because it allowed us to order multiple dishes if we just couldn't decide :) Regardless of what they tell you about making reservations, you should make them. Upon check-in, we were told reservations were not needed but ended up not being able to dine at Fuentes because you needed a reservation and it was booked the entire length of our stay. Also, there are no casual dining options for the evening except room service. We wished there would have been 1 or 2 restaurants that would have allowed more casual clothing/dining options for those evenings when you don't want to "dress-up". We tried to order food from the swim-up bar which is connected to the casual dining restaurant and they would allows us to do so even though it was all the same building and wouldn't have been any extra effort on anyone's part. Kind of odd!

Drinks/Bars: Drinks are VERY watered down and this was a huge disappointment! We payed a premium price to stay here and would have appreciated premium drinks. It did take quite a while to get our drinks when ordering from the swim-up bars or beach butlers.

Entertainment: Some of the entertainment was good, there was a male singer that we really enjoyed, and some of it was very cheesy! At times it had that awful "club-med" feel, especially karaoke night! We also enjoyed the "Circus" night.

Staff: We can't say enough positive things about the staff. From the bellboy to the maids to the front desk and everyone in between, they all go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and special. On our anniversary we dined at Jo Jo's and our waiter, Incentcio, was amazing and made us feel very special that night! They are all great!

Grounds/Beach: Everything is very clean and well kept. The grounds crew was always doing some sort of maintenance to the property. I knew what to expect with the beach being so rocky and the ugly sandbags but it was still a disappointment. It has much more of an organic feel to it and my husband enjoyed that. We were not able to do much swimming or any water sports so I do feel as though I didn't get my beach fix :( The palapas along the beach were nice for relaxing.

Overall it was a very nice vacation. We did feel like it was a little more "upscale" than we were looking for and that it was maybe geared toward an older age group. Most guests seemed to be 50 and over and I think the atmosphere and entertainment reflect that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHill20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Some tropical storms and a cool wind along the beach kept us near our Casitas pool much of the time, but still very enjoyable. Staff and fellow guests were very friendly and quality of food excellent. We were impressed with the number of gardeners and maintenance staff keeping the grounds immaculate. Most of the fruit and vegetables are grown on site and the other ecology projects are commendable.

Room Tip: The Casitas were worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed during the period of February 12-19 for a kick back holiday, but also a little pampering and together time. El Dorado Casitas was just what we needed! Our casitas was 2717, and though it was not a swim up, we found it to be more than comfortable, and certainly private. There are so many small details that we found important in making the holiday special, and any "annoyance" was quickly over-shadowed by the positives.
Firstly, the casitas section is certainly worth the extra cost. Though the Royale guests have access to the area and restaurants, the casitas section remained more quiet and refined in its feel. We did manage to try every restaurant by the end of the week, as we did not linger on any one in particular. I can honestly say that we both enjoyed every meal, never got sick, and were treated with nothing but kindness. The waiters and service staff will bend over backwards for you, and I can say are some of the hardest working people on the resort...they never stop, never huddle around, are always attentive to your needs.
The grounds are perfectly manicured and are great for walking off meals. We never accepted the cart shuttles from are to area as we are fit enough to walk, but we noticed the wait was never long if you want to shuttle. The property is large, but given a little time, pretty easy to figure out where things are.
The beach itself is perhaps the only part that is not the best, but this is something that is not controllable by the resort. It is eroding from hurricanes and they have shored it with breakers. If you take a walk up the beach towards the 3200 section(north), you will find the beach widens and its just fine. Swimming could be tricky because the sea is rough and the step in a little rocky.
Overall impression was fantastic, and when asked if we would return by our friends and family, I respond with "certainly I would recommend highly El Dorado Casitas",but between you and me, there are so many places in the world to see and so little time to see it all, especially if you keep visiting the same places...

Room Tip: any casitas room, but we loved the individual casitas...nice and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am currently at presidential eldoado casitas royle. I have been here for 3 days my fridge has not been stocked for the last two days and my room got made up at 4 pm today a bit late as i usually take a nap after a day of sun before dinner. I went to the pizza spot today to get some pizza to bring to my presidential room i was told its to dangerous for me to carry it.....well i think to my self i will ask my butler who i have asked nothing of and not only was he rude he could not help......i am a member here and right now dont know why???

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank shodan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments , since your visit we now have a new management team at the El Dorado Casitas royale and we can assure you that our guests receive only the very best which includes superior quality and attentive service.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just came back from a relaxing getaway at the El Dorado. We stayed in the Casitas which were very nice, spacious, with an outdoor shower that was well used. The quality of the meals, service and , cleanliness was above average. Here is a few notes worth passing on:
1. We had requested our Casita to be as close as possible to the ocean and the Hotel obliged which was great. However it was a mistake since there is a board walk between the Casita and the ocean, so there is people walking all the time at 3 feet from our Casita thus no privacy. Also the ourdoor shower, is right on the side of the Casita which is on that walkway....so anyone walking could hear us having our shower...hummmm...no privacy there!

2. There is and Italian Restaurant on the Casita side that has a private Chef Table Room. It is not advertised no where and underutilize...you must do that....6 course meal that was just fabulous. It is only one long table that can sit 8 to 10 people easily..we were only 6 the evening that we were there.
It is Extra at $90.00 per person, however if you have spent $180 on their wine list during your stay the dinner if free. Well worth it!!!

3. The beach is being protected by giant sand bags in the ocean, at about 30 feet from the beach. The problem is that all the junk or alga brought in stays locked in and is deposited on the beach. It is NOT pretty, plastic bottles, caps anything brought it by the ocean deposits and stayes within the beach and these bags. It is also very rocky...no waves or ocean to play in, which was a disappointment to us. We were in Cancun at Le Blanc last November and the Beach, the waves and the ocean is just superb and so much fun to enjoy.

4. It was VERY windy near the ocean, so I would probably recommend to take a room slightly away form the Beach.

5. Being a very large resort it attracts big groups which tends to overtake the restaurants at night. On our last evening 3 of the restaurants were unavailable to us due to that....frankly we were not impressed....the individuals in a group pay group rate which is much less then us who pay full rate as individuals....not fair!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda_Peter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,133 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.3 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
4.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing