We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dorado Casitas - heaven beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #26 of 389 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dorado Casitas - heaven beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

October 2012 - What can we say except pure bliss and heaven! We have gone on amazing holidays before but this has to be the best. You need to ensure that you stay in the Casitas sections! Food is Al a Carte and can not be faulted. Al a Carte is typically small in amount but you can have any number of starters, mains & deserts as you want. Check out the banana buttermilk pancakes for breakfast. All restaurants are good but Kampai (oriental) was exceptional as well is the Italien in the Casitas section. Staff can not do enough for you. Each Casitas section has a concierge team and a Sottish guy called Alan was ours and he was such a star and really made our stay great! If you need anything, even a table booking, just ask the Concierge. Ground floors offer swim up patio but this does not really get used unless you like to be away on your own all the time. Upstairs rooms are best I feel personnally as you get a nice veranda with a bed and patio set on it. Rooms spacious, large bed!!! Outside shower. Top branded alcohol at the bars. Rooms kept amazingly clean and evening turn down service is wonderful. Beach and pool areas excellent and so clean. None of the rushing out early to get a sunbed either which is good. Mexico is a tipping culture but they are not offended if you don't but tip where you feel deserved. Good entertainment. Very safe place. The Spa is excellent and the massage wasthe best we have experienced. We plan to return again next year. Basically, well worth every penny...book now! Andrew & Lorraine

Room Tip: Casitas section, upstairs. All rooms face out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,537
    554
    191
    55
    37
See reviews for
227
3,462
58
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,730)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our first visit in 2011 was unfortunately overshadowed by Hurricane Rina in October 2011. However, the resort was as accommodating as they could be while preparing for a natural disaster! Needless to say, we didn't get to experience much of what the resort had to offer. Naturally, we were excited to return here and for a longer duration. We stayed in a casita suite (on the upper level with no pool) since my husband loves the outdoor showers and the view. Our room was just as nice as before, although we missed the canopy bed we had last stay. Concierge was very nice and helpful and housekeeping was very efficient! We had clean towels, a clean room and amenities/stocked minibar everyday.
The grounds are kept well, as we saw maintenance and groundskeepers everyday, throughout the day.
The spa was wonderful - Vicky was great during my massage and manicure!
Greeting was excellent as always with Joaquin, who also helped us book a FANTASTIC excursion to Tulum and Xel-ha. Tulum exceeded my expectations while Xel-ha fell a little short.
The food was excellent, except for one restaurant that wasn't to my personal liking - so I won't let that affect others' opinions of it. The desserts there were superb though, so I didn't go hungry :) My favorites are D'Italia (by the lobby) and Kampai...excellent food!
Shuttle service was okay...but I didn't mind walking with all the eating we did! If one passed, they were always generous enough to stop and ask if we needed a lift.
The beaches and pools were not crowded, and we joined a volleyball game two days in a row with Luis. We also enjoyed archery as well. He's got a lot of personality!
Overall, we had an excellent vacation - one that will not soon be forgotten and will set the bar high for future trips. What we enjoy about El Dorado is that you have the choice to either lounge around or book excursions - so you get the vacation you want! The place is beautiful and relaxing and the staff is there to help in any way they can! We love it here, miss it already and can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liesl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just got back from 10 days at this resort and had an amazing time. Thanks to Jennifer Byrne from The Tropical Travelers for recommending it!!

The food was great and service at the resort was spectacular. I was also very pleased with how clean and well-maintained both the grounds and facility were. We loved our individual casita suite which was ocean front and very private (since it is its own bungalow). The spa was beautiful and our massages were excellent. Our only complaint was the temperature of the pools which are unheated (with the exception of the main pool on the royale section of the resort).

A big thanks to our casita swim up pool bartender, Enrique, who took great care of us! Jovani, Edy, and Erick were also great! We are very much looking forward to returning to this wonderful resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MKSvedberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just recently traveled to El Dorado Royale Casitas on vacation through a recommendation from Jennifer Byrne of Tropical Travelers. She is awesome! She had everyone all set up for us once we got there so everything was so smooth.

The resort is beautiful, they take such good care of everything with attention to detail. We stayed in an infinity pool casitas which was amazing. The entire resort was huge, but we always found a willing employee to give us a ride anywhere. The staff at el dorado was everything you could want. They were always pleasant and willing to accomadate you in any possible way. It was so peacefull and relaxing there, just what we needed! We got 2 massages and both were excellent. The spa is very nice. The best part about the resort is the food. My girlfriend eats a gluten-free diet and they even had gluten-free bread at every restaurant. They always made sure to ask the chef for us. Every restaurant there was great, we really liked D'italia, Kampai, and La Isla the best. Also, the 24 hour room service was excellent. Our room was always re-stocked with clean towels and the minibar was always full.

The beach was never crowded and there were always beds and chairs available no matter what time of day. The bartenders had great service for drinks on the beach. We didn't do a lot of swimming in the ocean since it was rough a couple days. The only negative thing here is the beach. It is a little rocky in some areas to swim. There are sandbags in the water which take away from the beach experience a little bit, but if you like to snorkel, the sandbags actually act as artificial reefs so the snorkeling was better at the resort than at Xel-ha. Our room was in section 31 where the beach was better than most areas. Overall, it was a great trip, maybe more sun next time, but I would definately visit the casitas again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have just returned from our third trip to Casitas Royale (11/23/12-12/1/12), our first in the Exotic members Presidential section (32). We stayed in a Studio Presidential suite. Superb service started with our airport pickup by Lomas travel. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by staff and a cold glass of champagne. Our butler met us at our suite immediately following our checkin to ensure that any of our needs were met and that the suite met our approval. Ivan was our butler for the week and did an awesome job; although any of the butlers that passed by were more than willing to take care of your every need.

We ate at many of the dining venues and had excellent. Our favorites were Kampai for breakfast, Las Olas gourmet bites for lunch (the smoked duck sandwich was so yummy), and Rincon Mexicano, La Isla and D'Italia Casitas for dinner. Rincon Mexicano has recently been added and they are in the process of building a new steak house. Our pool bartender, Orvelyn was excellente' and very good about ensuring our glass was never empty.

EDCR seems to always be striving to improve their property and service. In addition to the expanded dining venues they have rennovated most of the sections of rooms over the last few years and have recently remodeled several sections in the Royale side of the resort adding more swimup rooms and improving the pool areas. They are making progress with improving their hurricane damaged beach but the artificial reef ie. sandbags are still in place. The remainder of the grounds is immaculate as ever with gorgeous landscaping.

We each had 2 spa visits. A couples beach massage to start the week and a Mexican ritual of a cocobutter wrap and massage to finish the week. Both services were excellent. Very professional and well trained staff. One my best spa experiences ever.

Our last 2 trips we stayed in the individual casitas in sections 27 and 25. These trips were great but the last trip staying in the Presidential studio suites was quality and service beyond our expectations. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: There are many room catagories to meet everyones needs. The resort is always willing to work with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westieluvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were on our honeymoon and admittedly had very high expectations for this resort. The check in process was fine and our room (swim-up) was beautiful. We enjoyed that the casitas section was never crowded and we could always find a lounge chair at our pool. However, the staffing at our swim up pool was hit and miss--sometimes there would be a bartender and other times it was closed. Our concierge was not as helpful or friendly as most reviewers' were. Our tv in our room did not have a remote and we asked for it multiple times--never did get one. On our second day we picked out the aromatherapy for our room and it never was sprayed in our room. The maid service was also hit and miss--there was one day when the maid came well after 5pm. The turn down service was also spotty. Some days they would be there at 5pm and other nights it would be after 11pm.
We didn't mind that the resort was so spread out, but the shuttle service was awful. The worst is that there is countdown timer by ever shuttle stop, supposedly to tell you when the next shuttle is coming. However, we noticed that this timer resets every time a shuttle drives by...regardless of what direction its going or if it even stops. We learned to not rely on these timers.
Because we were honeymooning we got a free candlelight dinner on the beach. This was our favorite dinner. It was my understanding that our bathtub would be filled and decorated with roses when we got back from dinner--this was not the case. I know it's not a big deal, but for me it was something that I was looking forward to, so this was disappointing.

Unfortunately our very last experience with this resort was NOT positive. Our concierge did not explain to us that we had to be in our room when the bellboy came to get our luggage and take it to the main entrance for our shuttle to the airport. So, after waiting at the lobby for our luggage to come, the main bellboy came, without our luggage, and literally yelled at us that when they went to get it from our room they couldn't get it. Yelled at us right there in front of other guests. I explained that we were told we could leave it in our room and go to breakfast, which is what our concierge had told me. The bellboy then left in a huff and was griping about having to get a security key to get in to our room. This incident bothered me for two reasons: 1. I don't understand why they can so easily drop your luggage at your room without you being there but picking it up is a huge disaster, and 2. It was extremely unprofessional for the bellboy to talk us like that.

My husband and I really tried to like this resort and kept giving it the benefit of the doubt. And we felt ungrateful for complaining on our honeymoon. We decided that our experience is probably not the norm, but that the level of service we got just sort of fell through the cracks on too many things for us to consider returning. We really got to the point where we stopped asking for things because we just assumed that nothing would be done about it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a swim-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear BrettE

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent visit to the El Dorado Casitas Royale, Your comments are very important for us. I assure you that the circumstances you described are not typical nevertheless I have carefully considered each point mentioned and will be sure to use your comments constructively.

We aim to provide each of our guests with a level of service that surpasses all expectations and it is my regret that we fell short on this occasion. I will be personally working with our Chief Concierge , Executive housekeeping Manager and the our Valets to ensure that our guests receive only the very best.

I do hope that you will chose to return once again to the El Dorado Casitas Royale and I will ensure that you will receive a level of excellence that you truly deserve.

Jose Carlos Vasquez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousen, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I vacationed here September 12-16 2012. In my oppionion, not a long enough stay. Need at least a full week!!!!
The grounds and rooms are amazing. We almost always walked to our restaurants and activities,very peaceful at the Casitas section. At times it felt we were almost the only couple there. The golf cart service was nice too. We actually found pretty entertaining having to hold on and bracing ourselves during the ride. Some of the drivers has a heavy foot!
Food and service excellent, I honestly can not think of one thing we had to eat that wasn't good. The 24 hour room service was nice too. having coffee every morning and watching the sunrise is always one if my favorite parts of being by the sea.
Our concierge Allen and his team went out of their way to make our vacation as perfect as they could. We had a few minor glitches in the beginning of our stay, but they made up for it. Lots of special perks in our room when we returned from our dinner :) thanks Alan in Casitas section 30 .. We really enjoyed our talks as well. Often wonder how your frog hunting with your daughter is going!!! Our favorite bartender Luis in Casitas section 30 was great. My husband sat and talked with him for quite some time. It's just special to hear the stories of the people who work there, made us feel like we had known them for a long time. Luis always remembered our names, and greated us with a smile. We definitely would return to this resort.
The only thing that could have been better was the beach. It's really rocky and hard to walk in. However, we knew that when we booked this resort. Thanks again to all that made our vacation amazing!!

Room Tip: We loved our room and location Casitas section 30 room 30. Swim up Casita :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Becci s

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the trip advisor community. I’m sure that your review detailing the wonderful experiences encountered will help others when choosing their well-deserved vacation.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed such a wonderful visit and we loved to read the details of your stay. We are very happy to hear that you made the most of your Gourmet Inclusive, savoring each minute of the unique dining experiences.

It is very special when members of our staff is recognized for their efforts; I’ll be sharing your gratitude for the staff , Especially with Allen and Luis.

Once again thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to your next visit to the El Dorado Casitas Royale

Jose Carlos Vasquez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,339 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.3 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.4 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
3.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
#25 Green Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing