We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #27 of 390 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed thoroughly the experience from the moment we arrived till the moment we left, the staff were so attentive. Anything we wanted we got......the food was fabulous...it was a great meal at every restaurant. Lisa Zwissler from Beach Bum Vacations (beachbumvacations.com) took care of every detail from getting upgrades to getting the Anniversary package.....our swim up room was fabulous and the housekeeping staff was better than great....we stayed from Sept 1st to Sept 8th and had quite possibly the best vacation ever!!!!!!

Thanks to all the staff and our Certified Travel Concierge Lisa Zwissler.....what a great time..can't wait to go again!!!

Room Tip: Quiet and good rooms in the swim ups in the 5400 block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIGDOGZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,283 - 4,289 of 4,900 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Overall the hotel is very nice but we got talked into listening about their vacation membership program (RCI) and that was a miserable experience. The beach was very narrow ,they are trying to reclaim the beach using what looks like big black sandbags that are not very attractive to look at. Food was fancy with small portions but mostly tasty similar to cruise food. Bars pushed house beverages and lower shelf liquor. sometimes you waited quite a long time to get a electric golf cart shuttles which is needed since the resort in large. Grounds and buildings were very nice as well as the room. People were friendly and went out of there way to please you.

Room Tip: use fun jet since they have a close association with hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank godecals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hi we are staying in a casita suite now. As all other reviews room fabulous cannot fault it. Our concern is the noise we have building work outside our door starts at 7.00 am banging , jack hammers etc nice start to the day! Listening to it while writing review.other than the signs up about building work we received no notification of this prior to arrival and also there is building work at the royale hotel side that runs late into night listen to digger while we had our candle light romantic meal. We are just off to see our rep. Also it was billed as a romantic resort for adults great if you don't mind loud music from bar areas outside your swim up pool

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 6 nights from the 14th - 19th September.

The whole resort is very large, and sits on a mile of golden sands, which is beautiful, but creates its only problems. The Casitas are part of the El Dorado Royale resort, and they are situated at the far end of the resort.

Transport - as the resort is very large, the hotel operate a golf buggy service around the resort, this is a excellent idea, but could do with some improvement, more carts during the day and definitely a substantial increase after 7pm as this is the main time when people are going to restaurants and bars.

Room - Very large room, with outside shower, bath with shower over and a sunken jacuzzi off the main room. Very comfortable bed, excellent air conditioning. Room itself was very airy, spacious and bright. The balcony had table & 2 chairs and a day bed. Room had TV, fridge with beer/soft drinks/water and snacks stocked daily, with an excellent hairdryer, ironing board and iron, Ipod dock & radio.

Restaurants - we only used 4 of the restaurants, the 2 Italian restaurants which we found very good with a wide variety of choice with the Italian by the main restaurant having a slightly larger menu than the one in the Casitas, but not significantly different to choose between. The Mexican was a buffet style, which we found was average and lacking traditional Mexican food. For breakfast we used the Pacific Rim Restaurant, which had some very unusual choices for breakfast such as Indonesian Egg Curry but also they did bagels & smoked salmon and pancakes, the service was excellent. We also used this restaurant for lunch and evening meal. We found the lunch menu quite extensive ranging from burgers to seared tuna and many things in between.

Bars - there are plenty of beach bars and swim up bars located around the Casitas, and there is also a beach butler service but we found this a little bit hit or miss. The Belini bar in the Casitas is located above the Italian restaurant and it is a shame it is not used more, as it has great potential, serving all local, international spirits and a good belini menu. The Martini Bar in the main reception, again serves all local, international spirits and has a very wide selection of Martini's. But if it is not on the list, please do not hesitate to ask, as they will mix whatever you want.

There are a few niggles, if they could put this right, we would have no hesitation in scoring this 5 - excellent.

Cleanliness of rooms/cleaning of jacuzzi was suspect
Availability of some international brands was hit or miss
Plastic cups given at night time - not 5*

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HappyWonderers104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was the best holiday we have ever been on!! it was such a lovely place and great hotel that as soon as we got back we booked it again for next year!!
The people are so very friendly and the standard of everything in the hotel is amazingly high!
If you like good food then this will take some beating, we stayed for 2 weeks and never had a bad meal it was truely superb!!!

Room Tip: make sure you stay in the casitas part of the hotel all the rooms are really nice with plenty of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank adam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing El Dorado Casitas Royale for your recent vacation to Riviera Maya, Mexico. We are pleased to hear that your expectations were met, as our aim is to provide exceptional service to each and every one of our guests who visit our resort.

We were very happy to read about your dining experiences! Our Gourmet Inclusive concept provides guests with memorable culinary experiences produced by star chefs trained at some of the finest Michelin and Zagat rated restaurants around the world.

We would like to thank you for sharing your review on our TripAdvisor page and do hope you'll return to another one of the El Dorado Spa Resorts & Hotels, by Karisma when visiting the Riviera Maya in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited the El Dorado Casitas Royale August 27th to September 3rd. This is our 4th trip to Mexico – we’ve stayed in the area twice before at the Excellence Playa Mujeres and once at the Excellence Riveria Cancun. Although we really love the Excellence brand, we wanted to try another all inclusive resort in the area. We booked our vacation with our trusty travel agent, Jennifer Byrne, of the Tropical Travelers.

We were greeted at the airport by the friendly Lomas Travel representative who was holding a sign up with our name. We were quickly brought to our private van for our transfer to the resort. We were very surprised by a small Tropical Travelers tote bag with pringles, nuts and water for the 25 minute drive to the resort.

Once we arrived at the resort, we were immediately taken away in a golf cart to the Casitas side of the El Dorado. When you are a Casitas guest, you do not have to check in at the main lobby (we actually didn’t even see the main lobby until our 4th night there!). All the reviews are spot on – the resort was beautiful! Very well maintained. We noticed there was some construction was being done to some of the main Royale buildings, but that did not alter our opinion. Check in was super easy and fast. We had about 2 hours until our room would be ready so we took another cart ride to Jo Jo’s to have lunch. Upon first bite, we were very happy with the food. Service was also very good.

Our room was amazing. We were an infinity swim up suite in section 31 – room 3118. The room was huge. The bathroom was sort of separate from the bedroom which was nice. The outdoor shower was awesome. I was sad that I didn’t try it until half through our trip – but I really liked showering out there. The bed was very very comfortable and we definitely had our best sleeps in Mexico in it. The Jacuzzi was nice, but we only used it once. The greatest part of the room was the pool and outside patio. Our private pool was so great – we loved that we could go out and just lounge. We like to have a good time, but most of our vacation, we enjoy keeping to ourselves and relaxing. We really enjoyed having the option to stay to ourselves or swimming around the lazy river to the private pool for our section and hanging out at the swim up bar.

The food was very good. We really enjoyed Kampai and D’Italia for dinner. So many great options on both menus. Although we really like the appetizers at Rincon Mexicano, our main courses were disappointing. For lunch, we really liked staying local at Los Olas (the small wrap station located in section 31), Jo Jo’s and La Isla. The chicken fingers at La Isla were so great, we went there almost everyday to get at least one order! We were very happy with breakfast options. Even though they had a buffet at Cocotal, you could still order off of an ala carte menu. We loved the menu offerings, but found the buffet to be a little routine. There was nothing on the buffet that had us really needing to go crazy. We also liked the breakfast at Kampai. Room service is offered 24 hours but we weren’t completely crazy for the menu.

I think it’s very important to point out how large this resort is. The whole resort – Royale and Casitas side – is about 1 mile long. That means there is a lot of walking. Although we are big walkers living in NYC and there are carts driving around picking folks up at different “stops” every 20 minutes, there is still a lot of walking on this relaxing trip!

The only 2 restaurants in the Casitas side were D’Italia Casitas and Kampai. We made sure that we ate there almost everynight, except for the one time we ventured to Rincon (which is honestly on the complete opposite side of the resort). There is one nice bar – Bellini’s that is located above D’Italia Casitas. If D’Italia Casitas was closed for the night, we had to go all the way to the main lobby to the Martini Bar. We really liked the Martini Bar, but it was just annoying to go all the way to the other side of the resort for a couple of pre-dinner drinks.

The liquor options were good but not great at the day bars. However, at the Martini Bar and Bellini’s, there were more premium brands (Don Julio, Grey Goose, etc).

The service was very good. We found that everyone was very down to earth and casual. We did like having our private concierge we could go to if we needed anything. The only turn off was that 2 of the more senior ladies on the staff tried to press us on taking the time share tour. I really think if you tell someone no that they should respect and move on. It proved awkward for us to duck out of there without having to accept.

The beach was nice. Whoever wants to complain about the sand whales can. Although they might not be amazingly beautiful, the water was clear and warm.

We had a great afternoon at the Casitas spa. We took the water ritual before our treatment. Having done the water ritual at both Excellences, we were a little disappointed that this was a self guided journey. However, the spa was very nice and clear. Our 80 minute couples message was very relaxing and we were really liked the post massage treat of neck warmer and refreshing water cocktail.

The entertainment wasn’t that great. We did take the bike tour and got to see the very cool greenhouses – but beyond that – the nighttime entertainment selections did not appeal to us. Also, I was surprised that there were no offerings of any activities on the Casitas side.

We usually travel to Mexico for our “spring break” in late February/early March. We don’t know if it was because we were traveling during the off season, but we found a lot of the folks staying at the resort to be a little “trashy” (mostly in the Royale section) – wearing jeans and flip flops to dinner or being super loud and drunk even at breakfast. I don’t know if I would travel during this time of year again as the weather was way too hot and humid for our tastes, but the clientele definitely did not help.

The one turn off for me about the resort was the amount of cats that were roaming freely around. We even had a cat come up on our private patio crying at us while we were trying to eat a snack. It was such a turn off, that I didn't want to order anymore room service. Also, unlke the Excellence - the Casitas did not have a box for dirty dishes. Instead, people would leave their dirty plates outside their room - easily available for the cats to get to. I am a cat person and it was just tough to see these poor little hungry cats.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Casitas. We really wished that the resorts were separate as the Casitas just had more of the upscale feel we really like. We did miss having a private lounge area – which we always have at the Excellence – since we always stay in the Excellence Club. However, the food and room style with private pool were completely amazing. Although I would be open to returning to the El Dorado and definitely would return to the Excellence, I would love to find a place with my favorite qualities of both resorts rolled into one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank trocks129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review with us on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to hear that your overall stay at our resort was great and that you loved your infinity swim up suite.

We're happy to read you enjoyed your dinner experiences at both D'Italia and Kampai, which are both guest favorites for dining. Please note that all of your comments surrounding our cuisine have been relayed back to the Executive Chef and the Restaurant Manager as we are always looking for ways to improve and are interested in our valued guests feedback.

We do take pride in our Gourmet Inclusive concept, which provides guests with memorable culinary experiences produced by star chefs trained at some of the finest Michelin and Zagat rated restaurants around the world.

Customer service is critical to our business, therefore, I really appreciate you taking the time to highlight your experiences with us, which will be used to perfect our current services.

We do hope that you will allow us to serve you on your next vacation to Riviera Maya, Mexico by choosing to stay at any one of the El Dorado Spa Resorts & Hotels, by Karisma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we stayed at the infinity pool casita and we loved it. It was fun to have ur own private area rather then sharing the pool with other ppl all the time. The room was great, loved the outdoor shower, room service was great.

Food was great, loved kampai and da italia. we did the chef table which was awesome. breakfast and lunch are average but cant complain, much better then other resorts. Also the service was great, the waiters treat u really well. We also did the candle light dinner which was nice.

When it comes to alcohol, martini bar is the way to go. The swim up bar dont have many choices when it comes to brands but at martini bar u can find the premium brands.

Tips: u dont have to tip but the service is so great and the waiters treat u with so much respect that u end up giving couple of dollars all the time. To me this is their best selling point with food.

We were not bother abt time share at all. When u check in, u have a choice if they can call u and we said NO.

SPA: my wife said she got better massage before and i also thought it was average. we did water therapy, facial, some type of wrap. the only advice i can give u is that the prices are not fix so make sure u bargain.

I dont have much negative to say abt the place. their were minor things, for example like A/C leaking too much water so we just put extra towels under it.

Room Tip: go for casita, yes little expansive but u get more for ur money. according to my wife u r treated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank doc k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

May I thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us on TripAdvisor. It was an honor to be able to serve you and your partner on your honeymoon.

We are pleased to read you felt our service and cuisine were better in comparison to other resorts you've experienced. We are very much aware that great customer service is the key difference between hotels and that is why we work so hard at perfecting all of our guest experiences.

Please note that all of your feedback and comments have been relayed to our management team so that we can continue to improve in the services we offer at our resort.

On behalf of El Dorado Casitas Royale, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your honeymoon. We hope to welcome you back once again to any one of the El Dorado Spa Resorts & Hotels, by Karisma, perhaps for your first year anniversary? All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,168 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.3 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
1,189 reviews
10.8 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#17 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
#26 Green Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range: $433 - $1,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing