We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical island and a great hidden treasure by boat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabbage Key

Cabbage Key
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cabbage Key is a 100 acre island located five miles off of Pine Island, FL in the Pine Island Sound. The Inn, built in the 1940's by the family of Mary Roberts Rinehart, now houses our famous Restaurant & Dollar Bill Bar and six guest rooms. The rooms in the Inn are all different with old Florida charm - they do not have TVs, phones, or refrigerators. We have seven cottages on the island, ranging from a 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage to 3 bedroom/3 bath waterfront units. All cottages have refrigerators, televisions (no cable) and coffee makers, some units have full kitchens. Our restaurant is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. If you want to relax on a beach...we do not have one here. But, Cayo Costa is a close kayak or boat ride away. This is a great retreat to discover "Old Florida", relax with a book, fish from our docks & watch the boats go by.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tropical island and a great hidden treasure by boat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wonderful island ..so quant .ate at the main rest. With dollar bills signed and posted everywhere.excellent fish

Helpful?
Thank dianevecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    22
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cruise from Fisherman's Village to Cabbage Key Island, FL, Day Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

You cruise begins mid-morning from the beautiful Fisherman's Village in Punta Gorda, Fl. For the next few hours enjoy the sights of Charlotte Harbour, Pine Island Sound, and the Intercoastal Waterway. Dolphins will entertain you at various points along the way. Arrive at Cabbage Key in time for a delicious lunch(not included in the boat fee) at the Cabbage Key Inn and sight see on the island for approx. two hours. The cruise back to Punta Gorda goes quickly as the dolphins re-appear often to provide entertainment and you disembark between 4:00-5:00 O'clock P.M. An
adventurous day of cruising and sightseeing in the Gulf of Mexico. Fun for the entire family.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for writing about your recent visit to Cabbage Key. Kingfisher Charter's, departing from Fisherman's Village in Punta Gorda, provides a great day trip to Cabbage Key. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Cabbage Key Marina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Arrived via boat and was greeted/professionally assisted by the dockmaster for our over night stay (thx Capt Jeff). Check-in for the marina was provided by Tracy with a smile including a pleasant intro to the amenities the island. Of course the Cabbage Key restaurant and service was great.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, General Manager at Cabbage Key, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at Cabbage Key, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I will make sure that Tracy and Jeff are recognized for a job well-done!! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend with friends - the "Cabbage Patch Kids"....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We were staying with friends in Cape Coral and booked a weekend getaway to Cabbage Key (5 of us). We stayed in "Cabbage Patch" which is a lovely spacious 2 bedroom cabin with sofa bed (although you have to pay extra for sofa bed sheets - and they forgot to make this up - only niggle) in lounge area. It has a fully equipped kitchen and 2 bathrooms. You have your own dock for your boat (you definitely need a boat on this island, otherwise very limited). We went Tarpon fishing over the weekend which was definitely an experience!! The restaurant on the Island is very very busy during the lunch time, we went in the evening and it was a lot quieter. The restaurant was quite expensive, but you are on an Island so all supplies have to be taken onto the Island by boat. You need to take plenty of bottled water as only well water is available on the island so not suitable for drinking. We had a great weekend getaway where we opted for "no mobile phone or laptops" - it was great!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank William1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
On behalf of everyone at Cabbage Key, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to Cabbage Key. We are delighted that you enjoyed the newly renovated Cabbage Patch Cottage, a 2br/2ba cottage with a private dock and a wall of windows looking out at the Pine Island Sound ... a great way to unwind and relax. Having a boat or kayak, which can be rented through our dockmaster, is the best way to truly enjoy this unique area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Rehearsal Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

I highly recommend this fantastic experience to a group. The food was fantastic and Ken the banquet manager we so helpful and honest about what works in there restaurant and he mademy job as mother of theremin stress free.
The boat ride over from captiva cruises was the start of an amazing time and it did not end until we returned to the docks.
The bridal party just couldn't say enough about how awesome it was from beginning to end.
So plan your party and Ken will make it a terrific night to remember.

Helpful?
Thank Love40ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Key also viewed

 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cabbage Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing