We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hike to Stunning Lake”
Review of Lonesome Lake

NH
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Family Hike to Stunning Lake”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

There are many great hikes in Franconia Notch, but this is my favorite family-friendly/short on time hike. I've hiked this several times sans kid (including snow-shoeing - incredible!), most recently this 4th of July weekend. This time it was a family hike - 5 years old to 70 years old. It is a typical NH trail - tons of rocks and roots, wet and steep in sections. We just took our time - lots of breaks and snacks. The Lonesome Lake trail ends at the edge of the lake. There is a trail that circles the lake and takes you to the AMC hut, which you must visit (restrooms available). Roundtrip to hut - 3.2 miles.

Tip: When you first arrive at Lonesome Lake, take the trail to the left (clockwise) so that when you leave the hut, you keep the view of Lonesome Lake and Franconia Ridge in front of you. On a clear day the view is stunning. If you like to swim, bring a suit and towel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeniekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Striking in snow”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at the lodge in mid-November, with several inches of snow coming down overnight. Just warm enough at night and enjoyed the instant camaraderie in the lobby area by the fireplace.

A gas stove and oven are available, with plenty of utensils and even spices. Don't be afraid to cook.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank coreydwatts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
640 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Tough hike with amazing views.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The signs are misleading, when it says Lonesome Lake .08 miles, it really means a 45 minute walk straight up the mountain. We started off hard, thinking it would taper off but it never really does until you get to the lake. I’d recommend carrying light and dressing light. The views of the lake are pretty incredible and the view is worth the exercise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kipp7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Another Appalachian Mountain Club Spectacular Site”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My granddaughter and I hiked up to the AMC Lonesome Lake Lodge in August 2013. The weather was perfect for hiking. The hike is about 2 miles to the lodge with an elevation of about 1,000 in the process. Arriving at the Lodge and seeing Lonesome Lake was very rewarding indeed. We stayed overnight in the lodge. For a reasonable fee they provide a bunk, dinner and breakfast the following day. There is no charge for children but I do not know the age limit. I would not hesitate to once again trek to this Lodge in the White Mountaions of New Hampshire.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MePepere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Uphill hike, beautiful reward with lake & mountains”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Was here with my husband and 3 "children" (18-24). Hike was listed as "moderate" with switchbacks for the steep part. Maybe compared to other hikes in NH this is moderate, but it is a moderate-difficult in my book. A total 1.8 mile hike with 80% uphill over rocks and through running water run-off. Take plenty of water - you will need it! The trail isn't very well kept - but it only took us about 1.5 hours to reach the lake. Lonesome Lake is gorgeous with mountains in the distance. You need to hike to the hut where there is a place to eat and swim. The hut is across the lake from where the main trail ends - so hike around the whole lake. The hike around the lake is on flat boards that keep you out of the ground water - but is flat and very nice. I was expecting the water to be colder since it is a mountain lake - and someone there described it as "refreshing" (which usually means cold) - but it was just pleasant. It only took us 45 minutes to go back down - but you have to watch your footing since sometimes going down is harder than going up!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lonesome Lake also viewed

Pittsburg, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Chocorua, Tamworth
Pittsburg, White Mountains
 

Been to Lonesome Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing