We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cavanagh's cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Cavanagh's cottage
View for the decking area , safe area for small children to play ,
French bed
Lime washed wall high ceiling with timber beams
Designer guild fabric
Old stone fire place on bedroom with barn doors and fittings
Over 100 year cast iron range
3ft thick stone walls
Beautiful beaches
Breathtaking views
Great place to see the northern lights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Culdaff, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kieran C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday ”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage has everything. Style, comfort, luxury and location. My family (including our dog) spent five wonderful nights in this little piece of heaven tucked away in Gleneely. Culdaff, Moville and Carndonagh are only short drives away. Beaches galore and sights that really need to be seen. Hughie was a delight to deal with and nothing was too much trouble, Marion has the cottage cleaned to the highest standard with the turf fire burning on arrival. What a welcome! The cottage is very modern while still preserving the old style structure and feel. The views from the outside decked seating area are breathtaking. Facilities are top class. The welcoming and family atmosphere created within this cottage has given us the perfect holiday. We look forward to many future visits. Thank you Hughie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thanks for a great review !
Hughie & Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taylorca3...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Simply stunning cottage and area”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Cavanagh's cottage has been beautifully renovated and is a stunning place that would suit any kind of traveller. For us with two small children, it was perfect. My little boy loved his bunk bed and the stash of toys he found hidden throughout the house, and my 7 month year old was catered for with a cot and highchair. My husband and I enjoyed evenings on the deck, with a glass of wine enjoying the beautiful views. Its also in a great location with some of the most amazing beaches I've ever seen on the doorstep and the ferry port across to County Antrim only 15 minutes away and a 10 minute journey across. We're already thinking about when we can book our next trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, amenities and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2015
Thanks for the lovely review it really mean a lot to us to hear back from guest and that they enjoyed there stay at cavanaghscottage your right about the area it never lets you down any time of the year,great the kids found the toys it always helps and finally Marion said you and the family were a pleasure to deal with! Good luck Hughie & Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan s
1 review
“Tranquility”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Cottage was Devine cool stylish and above all traditional
A big well done on the renovation Hughie sympathetic to cottages age yet contemporary as well we just loved it won't be long until we book again
Thank you and Marion for a much loved break away from it all
Thanks again Alan Steenson

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2015
Thanks Alan for a lovely review so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay,welcome back anytime,thanks Hughie&claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronanluke
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stylish stay in Inishowen”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We spent a great week in Cavanagh's Cottage with our three kids in October 2014. The cottage was superbly finished. We really enjoyed spending evenings in front of the stove fed from well stocked coal bunker and turf shed.The boys loved the bunkbed room. We had a couple of forays out on our bikes including a visit to Culdaff's famous McGrory's pub. There are many great beaches within a short drive. Marion ,the housekeeper was very helpful and hospitable . The only slight niggle was slight underlighting which I am sure will re rectified in the near future. Well done Hughie.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
Thanks Ronan glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and exploring the local area, The lighting was dealt with during December and all seem much better! Thanks again hughie & claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S S
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed for a weekend at Cavanagh's Cottage, Donegal in November. Prior to our arrival, the housekeeper called to the house and lit the fire in the living room and the range in the kitchen, making sure the house was warm for our arrival. We were able to use the turf provided in the shed for the fire during our stay which was great. We cooked on both weekend nights in the property and the kitchen, which is decorated in the traditional theme of the cottage, is fully equipped with everything you need.

The cottage is located close to Malin Head, Ireland's most Northerly location, and we visited this on the Saturday. We called at McGrory's of Culdaff on the way back which I would recommend for food. The seafood chowder was fab.

The cottage has bed spaces for 6 people plus a sofa bed. The only thing I would say is that additional dining chairs for everyone staying would be good so that we can all sit together at dinner.

Overall we had a great stay. Hughie and Marion were very pleasant and the booking process was straightforward. Directions provided were spot on. The property is in a rural location and close to beaches giving you a very traditional Irish experience. Would recommend

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review Cavanaghs cottage really pleased you enjoyed your stay ! Thanks again hughie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enjoying a glass of bubbly on the deck on the morning of the wedding
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
Thanks again hughie & claire !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N16Travel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A delightful home from home”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Hughie's cottage is a wonderful example of how to restore a traditional Irish cotttage, retaining all of the original character while adding home comforts & plenty of style. The booking process was straightforward and it was a pleasure to arrive to find a fire burning in the stove & Marion on hand to show us around.
Inishowen is a beautiful part of Ireland & the cottage is a great base for exploration.
Top tip - it's worth making the drive to Bridgend for dinner at Harry's Bar & Restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
Welcome back anytime thanks you for the review hughie & claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing