We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but shame about the unaccommodating staff”
Review of McGrory's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McGrory's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culdaff
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place but shame about the unaccommodating staff”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was part of a group of five cyclists doing a charity cycle from Malin Head to Mizen Head (the full length of Ireland). We'd brought the bikes by car from London so travelled 15 hours to get to Culdaff. We called McGrory's on the way to explain this and told them we would be there by about 9.20pm and asked if we could possibly eat when we got there. We explained we'd be happy with anything they could give us. John, who I believe is one of the family who runs the place, told us the kitchen closed at 9pm sharp and they weren't prepared to do anything to help us, even though we were staying there as guests that night.
We were forced to divert to Derry to buy fast food. When we arrived at McGrory's, the restaurant was still full of diners and the kitchen staff were still in the kitchen. Not the kind of Irish hospitality one would expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    31
    9
    10
    7
See reviews for
54
70
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

McGrorys is a family-run oasis of warmth (in all senses!) in a cold and windy Irish March.
Two brothers and a sister continue the tradition of hospitality that's been in their family pub in Culdaff for generations.
Bedrooms are comfy and modern. So is the main restaurant where the porridge with cream and honey was a brilliant breakfast beginning. But the heart of the place is the pub with great fresh fish and a real traditional music get-together a couple of nights a week. No MC. No amplification.Just fiddles, guitars, accordian and a really enthralled group of listeners.

Of course Culdaff Beach,, just down the road, and Ballyliffin golf links, make this place next door to Heaven for me. But the welcome of the family is still the best reason for staying.
I will come back again and again. !.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishAidenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in Dec 2011 with my husband to attend a gig. When we checked into the room we noticed it wasnt the warmest but thought it would take a while to warm up. We turned the only radiator in the room to full but it was still freezing. We went down and ate in the bar and the food was only ok - nothing special at all. There was no atmosphere in the bar. We went into the gig in the back area, my husband got a pint and said there was a horrible taste off it so couldnt drink it. When we returned to our room after the gig it was soooo cold, you could almost see your breath. My husband had to stuff his socks in the window vents to keep the cold out... We never slept a wink with the cold. The double bed was 2 single beds put together so it was not comfortable at all. When we checked out the next morning I complained to the girl on reception but she was not a bit understanding or sympathetic. We could not leave the place fast enough that morning - would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
8 Thank IrishBride2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend at McGrorys of Culdaff and cant sing its praises enough. Lovely staff, friendly and full of chat, good big bedroom with all the amenities one would expect, very good food..the seafood chowder was amazing ;) and an excellent wine list. My partner is a French chef and was very impressed. Live music in the bar on Friday and Saturday night which added to the cosy atmosphere. This is a great wee hotel for a weekend break and is well placed to discover that part of Donegal which is stunning,the nearby beach ( less than a mile) was deserted and beautiful.Will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappycamperBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stopped off several times before at McGrory's for a drink but this was the first time we had stayed overnight. We had the dinner B & B package for a Friday night so we could enjoy the live music. It was great value. The welcome from the receptionist was first class, nothing was too much trouble, The bedroom was large, clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent. We asked if there was a special menu for cheapskates like us on the package deal but not at all. We could have anything and everything from the main three course menu, including the sirloin steak (which I had) and no supplement to pay. I asked for rare steak - in Ireland this can be as shoking as asking for a piece of raw meat - and it arrived perfectly cooked. Overall, we all thought the food was excellent - a good choice of starters, main courses and desserts, all well presented and plenty of it!
The traditional music in front of a real fire was very entertaining and merged into a "jam" session around midnight with traditional musicians from all over, including the Netherlands, joining in. Eventually got to bed around 1.00 am and there was no noise at all from the bar area so had a good rest and finished off with an excellent breakfast the next morning. Highly recommended - we are going back again in the new Year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Dined here for the last night of our holidays and wished it had been open for the whole of our holiday (we were in Ireland out of season). There was a lovely atmosphere, service was friendly and prompt and all 8 of us were served our meal at the same time (we hadn't been that lucky in Dillons in Letterkenny). Would love to come back here at the height of the season so that we could enjoy some entertainment too. The menu had plenty on it to suit all tastes, including my daughter who is vegetarian. Would definitely recommend McGrory's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripadaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a trip to the beautiful Culdaff, Co Donegal. Stayed in Mc Grory's which was exceptional in every way. The warm friendly check in was so smooth. Elevator to our room on the first floor was welcomed with the amount of luggage we had! The room was very spacious. A king size bed and a single bed. A sofa and table by the window. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and toiletries were provided. Tea and coffee making facilities also. Flat screen tv with multiple channels.

We ate in the restaurant which had a great ambiance. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. Extensive wine list also. The restaurant staff were very attentive and very knowledgable of the menu.

The music in the bar was excellent. The perfect blend of traditional and modern music had us all dancing.

A stay in Mc Grory's of Culdaff is a must.

Enjoy every moment!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HixMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culdaff
9.0 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,854 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
3.8 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
359 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
122 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGrory's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGrory's Hotel

Property: McGrory's Hotel
Address: Culdaff, Inishowen | Co. Donegal, Culdaff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Culdaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culdaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McGrory's Hotel is a family-owned and operated hotel that has a reputation providing that traditional Donegal experience through fine food, friendly service, traditional music and a great night's sleep, a home from home experience. Explore the North West Coastline and the Wild Atlantic Way with a friend or loved ones with nine discovery points on the route all only a scenic drive from the Hotel. We are only minutes from Culdaff beach which is one of Ireland's most beautiful blue flag beaches with swimming, canoeing, surfing, sea and shore angling all available. The perfect haven for a tranquil walk to escape the pressure of the outside world. Situated in Culdaff Village just 10km from Carndonagh, there is a wealth of activities and day trips to enjoy, making a visit to McGrory's the ideal base for exploring the area with, highlights including Doagh Famine Village, Ireland's most Northerly point at Malin Head, Mamore Gap and Dunree fort. With so many joys to uncover in the area we recommend you stay a while in one of our 17 uniquely styled bedrooms, many featuring the original exposed stone walls of the building. All of which are ensuite with excellent facilities. We have taken great care to ensure your room offers a relaxing environment yet not compromising on style or luxury. We want you to enjoy all the comforts of home, a great night's sleep and a sense that we are here to look after your every need to ensure you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your McGrory's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mc Grory`s Hotel Culdaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing