We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of McGrory's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McGrory's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culdaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We enjoyed the best meal of our holiday in McGrory's; sole was lovely (apart from a couple of small bones) and the steak pie was highly praised as well. Nice atmosphere and a good pint, what more can a man ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank King_Henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights with my wife and another couple of friends. Warm welcome, we dined in the bar on the first evening and in the restaurant on the second. Excellent food and service both nights, breakfast was fresh and well prepared. Live music in the bar on Friday - you can't beat it. It was a pleasure to spend a couple of days there, although a bit remote it was like an oasis in the desert! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the front and it was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimcrawley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A very enjoyable (if delayed - due to a group of ancient American tourists) lunch. Chowder delicious but would benefit from a bit more sealife, however. Scampi excellent; glad to see it back on the menu.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FJMKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed one night only in a front room right on the road ,not a problem .Family owners most helpful and courteous .Food was very good in an old world atmosphere .parking was available across the road from hotel .Tiny village in remote area Would recommend

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and eaten here quite often and every time they deliver just what is needed. Warm hospitality, good hearty food, great pints, nice wine and excellent music. We were here on Sat 21st July in the "Backroom" for Dave Alvin who was brilliant, the music in the front bar was also excellent with a wonderful Saxophone player. Well done yet again McGrorys.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scallyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just come home having spent a really lovely weekend in mcgrory's. Family run hotel, almost all the staff I spoke with we're related to each other one way or another and they all take great pride in the place. Bedroom was very comfortable, clean and well presented, food in the bar was excellent with good sized portions and the beer was good too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you like music. There is regular entertainment here one the quality of the entertainment is really good. We will be back in culdaff for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 to 104 are ov the bar but that was no problem as all are well insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I love this place, their seafood chowder is second to none. Stopped here recently after getting atrocious service and food from the Point Bar, Magilligan, and yet again, the service and food from McGrorys reminded me how it should be done.

Lovely, friendly staff, the owner works the bar so the service is always up to scratch and it you are a music fan, this is the place for you. I have stayed overnight before, and the rooms are excellent as well. Well worth a detour if you are in east Donegal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culdaff
15.7 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
111 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
9 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
963 reviews
9 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
340 reviews
9 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGrory's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGrory's Hotel

Address: Culdaff, Inishowen | Co. Donegal, Culdaff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Culdaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culdaff
Price Range: $117 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McGrory's Hotel is a family-owned and operated hotel that has a reputation providing that traditional Donegal experience through fine food, friendly service, traditional music and a great night's sleep, a home from home experience. Explore the North West Coastline and the Wild Atlantic Way with a friend or loved ones with nine discovery points on the route all only a scenic drive from the Hotel. We are only minutes from Culdaff beach which is one of Ireland's most beautiful blue flag beaches with swimming, canoeing, surfing, sea and shore angling all available. The perfect haven for a tranquil walk to escape the pressure of the outside world. Situated in Culdaff Village just 10km from Carndonagh, there is a wealth of activities and day trips to enjoy, making a visit to McGrory's the ideal base for exploring the area with, highlights including Doagh Famine Village, Ireland's most Northerly point at Malin Head, Mamore Gap and Dunree fort. With so many joys to uncover in the area we recommend you stay a while in one of our 17 uniquely styled bedrooms, many featuring the original exposed stone walls of the building. All of which are ensuite with excellent facilities. We have taken great care to ensure your room offers a relaxing environment yet not compromising on style or luxury. We want you to enjoy all the comforts of home, a great night's sleep and a sense that we are here to look after your every need to ensure you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your McGrory's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mc Grory`s Hotel Culdaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing