We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to peace, tranquilty and expert care!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inishfree B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inishfree B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Culdaff B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Return to peace, tranquilty and expert care!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is over a year since we have had the pleasure of visiting Inishfree and all the things we found are still there and more!

The Irish are the most friendly race I have come across, we were made to feel welcome wherever we went. The countryside is stunning any time of year and the route of the Inish 100 is well following!

Ealaine and David are the best hosts I have come across - we came over on Ryan Air with just our hand luggage and we had all we needed at the B&B. The rooms are well thought out and cater for all your needs and the cooking is the best of home cooking you could ask for.

They have bought a parcel of land next door and raised a poly tunnel to grow their own fruit and veg for the B&B.

What can I say we looked at property over there this time, we are sorely tempted - you will come back here time and time again!

Enjoy

Room Tip: Take the time to relax and go at the pace of the locals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainegraham, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
It is always a pleasure when guests return, you know they have been satisfied with care and attention given to them during their stay. We hope to share our home with them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had a wonderful week staying at the Inishfree B & B. Dave and Elaine made us all feel very welcome & went out of their way to accommodate our needs.
The breakfasts were outstanding! We were offered everything from fresh fruit & yoghurt to a 'Full Irish'.
A great location - I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainegraham, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Firstly this establishment is far more than just a 'B & B'. It has the whole package!! From the moment we arrived the owners Elaine and Dave made us feel so welcome. Myself, my husband and my 16 month daughter had the green room which had its own sitting room which wIas perfect for our family however we also had the use of the guest living room which was so comfy and relaxing.

The decor throughout the home was exquisite! Usually these places can be a bit stark as not much furniture/ornaments etc but this does which gives you that real homely feeling.

The tea/coffee making facilities were brilliant. Full sized kettle, mugs teapot and sugar pot and also you could take a small thermos flask of milk up at night so you can have a proper drink in the morning before breakfast instead of these horrible UHt little pots of milk!! I know it's only a little thing but it's the little things that makes a difference!

Breakfast!! What can I say!!! Well you wouldnt eat anything else until early evening they were that filling!!! Fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals you helped yourself to while your cooked breakfast was being prepared. Nothing is too much trouble and you could have anything you wanted for your breakfast.

There was a library there where anyone could go and have a read or listen to music! There is also a big map of the surrounding areas on the wall which you could plan your routes from but also Elaine and Dave were full of local knowledge so would suggest places of interest and places to eat which was very helpful as we did not know the area!!

The whole area surrounding inishfree is absolutely breathtaking and we had a good few days of descent weather and the owners even put together a picnic one day so we could enjoy one of the many beautiful beaches!

It may seem that I am waffling on here but there is so many brilliant things I can say about this home from home, surround landscapes, the owners and the locals!! We were sad to leave this stunning place but be rest assured we will be coming back again!!

Thank you so much Elaine and Dave for your 1st class hospitality!

Kate, Mark & Holly :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markate10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainegraham, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am so sorry that I have not responded to this review, I intended to but it slipped under the net.
This couple were lovely and their daughter adorable. We hope to see them again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Elaine and Dave were superb hosts. Inishfree was very welcoming with superb breakfasts, cooked with excellent quality locally sourced products. The accommodation included lots of extras including bath robes, slippers, bedside torches, large umbrellas and offers to drive to collect cars left at local hostelries the evening before! A beautiful part of Eire with good beaches foor children and interesting museums, walks and coastline. All the rooms were top quality with the twin room also including a lounge area. No external traffic noise either - just birdsong through the open windows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainegraham, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
It was lovely to meet this couple. They were very interested in wild life and we learnt a lot from them! We had birds in our garden that we had not heard of before and once they realised we were interested, took the trouble to point things out they had seen. Pete went back to his childhood, with a fishing net and Bucket playing in the rock pools with the kids. He said it took him back 40 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Accommodation was exceptional and service very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for the perfect break in one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland, then we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Inishfree B and B in Culdaff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 71DaveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

”To good to be true?” That was what we thought when we read the excellent reivews of Inishfree B&B. But to our great pleasure, all the positive assessment was truly justified. We stayed at the Inishfree for four days in July 2012, and they were without any doubt the finest four days we have spent in similar accommodations anywhere in Ireland. And we have stayed in a lot of country houses, B&Bs, small hotels, etc. The attention given us by the hosts Elaine and Dave was remarkable in every way – not just with respect to the excellent accommodations and food, but also with regard to local knowledge, advice as to where to go and what to see, and even contacting local people to help us with some very tricky ancestral research. We stayed in the Green Room, with its own sitting area and privacy, and have never experienced such a high level of modern and tasteful furnishing before. The breakfasts were also first-class – and we were lucky enough to have Elaine prepare an evening meal for us also. So fellow travellers, read the reviews and recognise an exceptional opportunity to anchor your trip to Inishowen at an extremely nice home, tended to by extremely nice people! And yes – it’s all true!

Room Tip: The three available accomodations all appeared excellent - but we choose the Green Room as we were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainegraham, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
What a great review! This couple were lovely and very enthusiastic about local ancestors. Luckily, I made a few enquiries locally and was able to match them up with two families with common ancestors. I rather got the bug and started to research the family name for them to see if I could come up with further information on shipping lists relating to the families emigration from Inishowen in 1886.

I feel that we made firm friends and that this couple will keep in touch and perhaps return to further their investigations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I could not believe the quality of the accommodation, I was given the green room a superb room with my own sitting room. Elaine showed me the other rooms and they were also top quality. I was travelling solo, Elaine and Dave made sure that I never felt lonely, they were amazing hosts. The area around is spectacular, also plenty of exciting bars and restaurants. Last but certainly not least the amazing breakfasts, you certainly do not need to eat for the rest of the day. Wonderful stay I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb, I wouldn't like to choose between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venice2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culdaff
0.0 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
0.0 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cee Cliff House
Cee Cliff House
#2 of 3 in Culdaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishfree B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishfree B&B

Property: Inishfree B&B
Address: Old Town, Culdaff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Culdaff
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culdaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inishfree B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing