We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my goodness!!! Absolutely fantastic!!!”
Review of Inishfree B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inishfree B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Culdaff B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness!!! Absolutely fantastic!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Firstly this establishment is far more than just a 'B & B'. It has the whole package!! From the moment we arrived the owners Elaine and Dave made us feel so welcome. Myself, my husband and my 16 month daughter had the green room which had its own sitting room which wIas perfect for our family however we also had the use of the guest living room which was so comfy and relaxing.

The decor throughout the home was exquisite! Usually these places can be a bit stark as not much furniture/ornaments etc but this does which gives you that real homely feeling.

The tea/coffee making facilities were brilliant. Full sized kettle, mugs teapot and sugar pot and also you could take a small thermos flask of milk up at night so you can have a proper drink in the morning before breakfast instead of these horrible UHt little pots of milk!! I know it's only a little thing but it's the little things that makes a difference!

Breakfast!! What can I say!!! Well you wouldnt eat anything else until early evening they were that filling!!! Fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals you helped yourself to while your cooked breakfast was being prepared. Nothing is too much trouble and you could have anything you wanted for your breakfast.

There was a library there where anyone could go and have a read or listen to music! There is also a big map of the surrounding areas on the wall which you could plan your routes from but also Elaine and Dave were full of local knowledge so would suggest places of interest and places to eat which was very helpful as we did not know the area!!

The whole area surrounding inishfree is absolutely breathtaking and we had a good few days of descent weather and the owners even put together a picnic one day so we could enjoy one of the many beautiful beaches!

It may seem that I am waffling on here but there is so many brilliant things I can say about this home from home, surround landscapes, the owners and the locals!! We were sad to leave this stunning place but be rest assured we will be coming back again!!

Thank you so much Elaine and Dave for your 1st class hospitality!

Kate, Mark & Holly :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markate10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainegraham, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am so sorry that I have not responded to this review, I intended to but it slipped under the net.
This couple were lovely and their daughter adorable. We hope to see them again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Elaine and Dave were superb hosts. Inishfree was very welcoming with superb breakfasts, cooked with excellent quality locally sourced products. The accommodation included lots of extras including bath robes, slippers, bedside torches, large umbrellas and offers to drive to collect cars left at local hostelries the evening before! A beautiful part of Eire with good beaches foor children and interesting museums, walks and coastline. All the rooms were top quality with the twin room also including a lounge area. No external traffic noise either - just birdsong through the open windows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainegraham, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
It was lovely to meet this couple. They were very interested in wild life and we learnt a lot from them! We had birds in our garden that we had not heard of before and once they realised we were interested, took the trouble to point things out they had seen. Pete went back to his childhood, with a fishing net and Bucket playing in the rock pools with the kids. He said it took him back 40 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Accommodation was exceptional and service very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for the perfect break in one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland, then we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Inishfree B and B in Culdaff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 71DaveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

”To good to be true?” That was what we thought when we read the excellent reivews of Inishfree B&B. But to our great pleasure, all the positive assessment was truly justified. We stayed at the Inishfree for four days in July 2012, and they were without any doubt the finest four days we have spent in similar accommodations anywhere in Ireland. And we have stayed in a lot of country houses, B&Bs, small hotels, etc. The attention given us by the hosts Elaine and Dave was remarkable in every way – not just with respect to the excellent accommodations and food, but also with regard to local knowledge, advice as to where to go and what to see, and even contacting local people to help us with some very tricky ancestral research. We stayed in the Green Room, with its own sitting area and privacy, and have never experienced such a high level of modern and tasteful furnishing before. The breakfasts were also first-class – and we were lucky enough to have Elaine prepare an evening meal for us also. So fellow travellers, read the reviews and recognise an exceptional opportunity to anchor your trip to Inishowen at an extremely nice home, tended to by extremely nice people! And yes – it’s all true!

Room Tip: The three available accomodations all appeared excellent - but we choose the Green Room as we were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainegraham, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
What a great review! This couple were lovely and very enthusiastic about local ancestors. Luckily, I made a few enquiries locally and was able to match them up with two families with common ancestors. I rather got the bug and started to research the family name for them to see if I could come up with further information on shipping lists relating to the families emigration from Inishowen in 1886.

I feel that we made firm friends and that this couple will keep in touch and perhaps return to further their investigations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I could not believe the quality of the accommodation, I was given the green room a superb room with my own sitting room. Elaine showed me the other rooms and they were also top quality. I was travelling solo, Elaine and Dave made sure that I never felt lonely, they were amazing hosts. The area around is spectacular, also plenty of exciting bars and restaurants. Last but certainly not least the amazing breakfasts, you certainly do not need to eat for the rest of the day. Wonderful stay I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb, I wouldn't like to choose between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venice2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The first impression - an accurate one- is that Elaine has aimed to make this a place oozing with quality. And yet there is nothing stuffy about it. The welcome is real and warm. The highlight of our stay was the introduction to McGrory's Bar and its music. But the whole of Inishowen is breathtakingly beautiful and this is the perfect location to use as a base. This is surely as good as it gets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trogblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
This couple are in love with Ireland and only stayed one night because they were travelling around the Penninsula. They were full of enthusiasm and were impressed with the area. It was lovely to meet what I would term as "Irelofiles" not Francofiles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We cannot praise this bed and breakfast enough.Everything was first class.Accommodation,food and proprietors were superb.Hope to return in the very near fuutre

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austins450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culdaff
0.0 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.0 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cee Cliff House
Cee Cliff House
#2 of 3 in Culdaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishfree B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishfree B&B

Property: Inishfree B&B
Address: Old Town, Culdaff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Culdaff
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culdaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inishfree B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing