We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is sheer class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inishfree B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inishfree B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Culdaff B&B and Inns
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“This is sheer class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The first impression - an accurate one- is that Elaine has aimed to make this a place oozing with quality. And yet there is nothing stuffy about it. The welcome is real and warm. The highlight of our stay was the introduction to McGrory's Bar and its music. But the whole of Inishowen is breathtakingly beautiful and this is the perfect location to use as a base. This is surely as good as it gets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trogblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
This couple are in love with Ireland and only stayed one night because they were travelling around the Penninsula. They were full of enthusiasm and were impressed with the area. It was lovely to meet what I would term as "Irelofiles" not Francofiles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We cannot praise this bed and breakfast enough.Everything was first class.Accommodation,food and proprietors were superb.Hope to return in the very near fuutre

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austins450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Whichever way you decide to travel to Innisfree you come across spectacular sights. Whether it is landing in Derry, with a high cross wind looking like you will touch down in the estuary or by car across Ireland and its mountains. The welcome that you receive as you come to the door is warm and you start to relax as you pass over the threshold.

Elaine and David, it is true, treat you like royalty and care for you with attention and sensitivity. Try Elaine's cooking - a feast fit for a King and beautifully presented. David is the waiter and maître de in the morning and a full "Irish" is certainly a must.
The rooms are individual, with every personal need cared for; slippers, robes, ironing facilities, hair dryer, hot drink facility, TV and on and on! Each room has its' own theme and is treated with the same care as you are as you arrive.

The countryside is a must to explore - blue flag beaches that are so quiet that if you see another couple you feel that it is crowded. But with miles of pristine beaches it is hard to imagine. The locals are friendly and helpful and there are some of the most spectacular places of natural beauty, from Malin Head to the Giant's Causeway (over the border).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainegraham, Owner at Inishfree B&B, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for writing a review after staying at Inishfree B & B. We feel that your comments will be most helpful to future travellers. It is good to know that guests have left feeling content and are likely to return. We can assure you of our continued commitment on your return visit and we consider returning guests as friends and will make you welcome accordingly,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Terry and myself stayed at inishfree for 5 days and it was fantastic! The accomodation is brilliant, the food is gorgeous, the location beautiful, and hosts Elaine and Dave treat all their guests like royalty, we really did feel properly looked after. The coastline is stunning, even when wet, but we managed some warm sunny days which resulted in us watching a dolphin playing for 15 minutes just off Greencastle beach!! It made me cry!!! If it all sounds too good to be true you need to see for yourself, you deffinately wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

For those wishing to experience the real Ireland, this is certainly hard to beat. Set in the Inishowen Peninsula, this B&B allows you to access remote beaches and beautiful natural scenery whilst enjoying first class accommodation. Inishfree is a very new establishment with modern facilities providing an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding area. Hosts Elaine and Dave are very competent and delightful operators who know much about the region and who have a wealth of reading material to willingly share with guests. The home is delightfully furnished with lovely decor and exudes an atmosphere of warmth and friendliness. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The house is set in stunning scenery, we stayed in the crystal suite which was exquisite.We were greeted by a warm welcome, which included freshly made scones from the lovely owners. The host's friendliness continued with detailed descriptions of the local attractions including the fabulous night at the local pub which was celebrating Arthur Guinness Day.We look forward to seeing you both again in the future.


Lynn & Dave. North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Inishfree for a week in July 2011. The rooms were beautiful and spotless, breakfast was delicious and the hosts Elaine and Dave were very welcoming and made us feel right at home.The Inishowen area is simply stunning - amazing beaches that you often have all to yourself, lots of country lanes to explore and get lost on, and great food and music at nearby pubs. Definitely planning to go back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBaker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culdaff
0.0 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.0 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cee Cliff House
Cee Cliff House
#2 of 3 in Culdaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishfree B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishfree B&B

Property: Inishfree B&B
Address: Old Town, Culdaff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Culdaff
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culdaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inishfree B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing