We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural Ireland”
Review of Inishfree B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inishfree B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Culdaff B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2011

For those wishing to experience the real Ireland, this is certainly hard to beat. Set in the Inishowen Peninsula, this B&B allows you to access remote beaches and beautiful natural scenery whilst enjoying first class accommodation. Inishfree is a very new establishment with modern facilities providing an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding area. Hosts Elaine and Dave are very competent and delightful operators who know much about the region and who have a wealth of reading material to willingly share with guests. The home is delightfully furnished with lovely decor and exudes an atmosphere of warmth and friendliness. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

The house is set in stunning scenery, we stayed in the crystal suite which was exquisite.We were greeted by a warm welcome, which included freshly made scones from the lovely owners. The host's friendliness continued with detailed descriptions of the local attractions including the fabulous night at the local pub which was celebrating Arthur Guinness Day.We look forward to seeing you both again in the future.


Lynn & Dave. North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Inishfree for a week in July 2011. The rooms were beautiful and spotless, breakfast was delicious and the hosts Elaine and Dave were very welcoming and made us feel right at home.The Inishowen area is simply stunning - amazing beaches that you often have all to yourself, lots of country lanes to explore and get lost on, and great food and music at nearby pubs. Definitely planning to go back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBaker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for just under a week in the crystal room of the B&B. The whole place as immaculate and tastefully decorated. The bedroom with ensuite was delightful and looked over farmland. Very quiet and peaceful place, black skies and stars at night and clear skies as far as the eye can see by day. I loved the open fire in thre living room which was lit on cooler days. Breakfast was firstclass and there was lots on offer. The owner, a lady called Elaine couldnt do enough for my friend and i and was the perfect host.

Beaches nearby are beautiful. It felt like home from home. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who needs some chill out time in an absolutely stunning house.

Thanks again

Jane

Room Tip: crystal room very nice. king bed and en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsjanemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I recently decided to extend our stay in Donegal by an additional night and we wanted to stay in the Inishowen area. Tripadvisor (as always) became our fallback when trying to find somewhere new to stay and up popped Inishfree B&B with some great reviews so we phoned the Proprietor, Elaine, and thankfully she had a free room.

Inishfree was very easy to find (less than 5 minutes from Culdaff) and we were given a very warm welcome by Elaine and immediately we felt at home. I stay in hotels regularly in London and the best compliment I can give Inishfree (and Elaine) is that it has all the perks of a high class hotel but feels just like home which is my opinion is the perfect combination. There are many little things you just wouldn't expect to find in a B&B. I actually queried if she had been in the hospitality industry before (which she hasn’t) as she had though of so many of the little things that other places don’t (or can’t be bothered to).

Elaine kindly showed us around the rest of her “home” and it is immaculately presented throughout and as she pointed out, she wants her guests to feel at home and to be able to relax in the surroundings. No expense has been spared and this shows throughout the property but especially in the quality of the furniture, bed linens, decorations, towels and fixtures and fittings and all has been put together with a homely feel.

Unfortunately we didn’t get the chance to sample an evening meal (which Elaine will prepare if arranged in advance) but it is the first time that I have been unable to finish an Irish breakfast so the challenge is set for the next time we return!

We are already planning our next visit to Inishfree and will be bring a few others along with us and I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Inishfree to anyone wanting to get away for a few days to a beautiful part of the world. Elaine has also kindly offered to accommodate our dogs should we choose to bring them with us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dshiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Flew Birmingham to Derry - picked up recommended car hire. Little traffic on the road so driving stress-free: great to drive around. B&B in a peaceful location. Wonderful hospitality and food (breakfast will set you up for the day!). Rooms beautifully arranged to a high standard with an eye to detail. Peaceful location. Countryside and beaches amazing - so much to see. You will want to return to Inishfree B&B again and again to sample the wonderful home made preserves and locally sourced produce and beautiful countryside and people who are so friendly - be prepared to say 'how you doing' to everyone you meet!

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful but you could speak to your hostess before booking to get the best room (and car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilatesgirl01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Fantastic B&B, fitted out to a very high standard. Peaceful location - so peaceful we didn't wake till gone 10.30 the first day - real black out blinds. Host couldn't be faulted and the rhubarb jam was absolutely amazing (not much left when I was finished). Proper Irish pub with regular bands and great Guinness within walking distance. If I get to heaven it will be like this.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goat1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inishfree B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishfree B&B

Address: | Old Town, Culdaff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Culdaff
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culdaff
Price Range: $74 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small friendly bed and breakfast in the heart of the beautiful Inishowen countryside 2 miles from local beaches. We pride ourselves on our homely atmosphere and good food and accommodation. We source most of our produce locally and much is grown in our own garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inishfree B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing