We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge de Launay
Nearby Hotels
L'Aubiniere(Saint-Ouen-Les-Vignes)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Auberge de la Ramberge(Poce-sur-Cisse)
$42
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Bonne Etape(Amboise)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Petit Lussault(Nazelles-Negron)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise(Nazelles-Negron)
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
179
113
19
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
113
19
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire valleytwo nightstrain linepleasant place to staygreat wine listfour starsitting areacomfortable bedstayed one nightgardenchateauxamboisefrancebathstopover
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 317 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The room was very large, with a closet, desk and plenty of room left over. Bathroom had a tub. Everything was clean. The decor is a bit dull, but not offensive - I would say that is my strongest criticism of the place. The grounds, building and garden are lovely. The bed is comfortable, and we had a nice, quiet, comfortable sleep.

The staff are lovely - the owners truly make you feel welcomed. The restaurant was wonderful. Definitely don't miss the restaurant for dinner if you stay here. So lovely to come back from a busy day of site-seeing to have an excellent meal just a few steps away from your room. We ate there two nights and enjoyed every bite and every glass. Service was good.

We enjoyed lovely breakfasts in the conservatory. Such a wonderful way to start the day. Small buffet plus bread and croissants and very good coffee.

They even have a few bottles and some local foods available for purchase in the reception area. Staff were available and ready to help you.

The location was perfect for exploring this side of Loire and included parking. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurotraveldemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A very attractive 15-room hotel with a wonderful restaurant and a beautiful garden area. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Our GPS crashed after 21 days in France and they downloaded driving directions for us to our next hotel. We had a room on the garden side (no highway noise). It was easy to drive to the chateaux we wanted to visit. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask fir a room on the garden side.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snow1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Launay for two nights on our trip down to the Dordogne and made a point of returning on our way back to enjoy the restaurant and the wonderful hospitality. From the moment we were welcomed by the wonderfully charming and efficient Luca we knew we had found a gem. Yes, the rooms are a little dull & could do with more lighting and yes, there is a rail-track and a road nearby but those are forgotten once you let the team at the Auberge cosset you.
The garden is a delight with herbs and kitchen crops amongst the roses and there is a tranquil arbour under which to enjoy an afternoon tea or pre-dinner aperetif. The menu that awaits for dinner is beautifully composed and balanced with some very interesting original dishes amongst local favourites - all are prepared faultlessly and presented imaginatively. The monk-fish with shredded pigs-trotter and avocado mousse is a true delight but all the dishes we had over our three nights' total stay were of the highest quality and - unusually - this extended across all the dishes, savoury and dessert alike. It rained throughout our stay so we ate in the dining room/conservatory but in high summer this opens to a shaded terrace for al fresco dining. Local products are used and the suppliers of all produce are listed and named on the menu! We are looking forward to re-capturing some of the magic when we open our bottles of local Tourraine wine, purchased at the Auberge, back in chilly UK.
Breakfast, served in the dining-room also, is the usual buffet style but with fresh fruit juices, high quality bread, croissants and pain au chocolate, ham, cheese, fruit, etc, etc all with endless fresh (very good) coffee served by happy, helpful waiting staff - a great start to the day.
Without exception, the staff are cheerful, charming, professional and knowledgable, too, with a genuine desire to help in every way.
The value for money is excellent and we will, without doubt, include the Auberge in our next trip to the area.
Congratulations to the young owners and all their staff for make our stay so enjoyable and memorable...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden may be quieter at night (trains) but those at the front are probably only really affected by traffic noise in the mornings - you will not be disappointed with any choice...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Columbus92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

L'Auberge de Launay is a very good small inn. The restaurant attached to it is absolutely fantastic. We stayed 3 nights and ate there every night. Multiple course meals were excellent even by high French standards. Wine list was also quite good. What a relief to find such a wonderful restaurant at your hotel after a long day of sight seeing. Grounds were pleasant, rooms comfortable, staff courteous, and location very good in easy driving range of East Loire Chateaus. Only down side is TGV track is not too far away but more of a soft, quick whoosh than a long rattle. Couldn't hear it in the room at night. Would definitely recommend L'Auberge de Launay. Vyn and Jan, Seattle

Room Tip: Pick a room closer to the front entrance of the Hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The exceptional customer service & incredible dinner meal would be enough to keep us here for days! Unfortunately we stayed only 1 night, but devoured everything about this family-run inn. We were a married couple travelling by car with 2 medium-sized dogs.
- PRICE: We paid 71 euro/night in the Superior Room with Garden View.
- LOCATION: We toured the Loire Valley, driving from west to east so this was our 2nd hotel of the trip. Though a tiny village, Limeray was not out of the way (but we didn't use the hotel as a "home base" for castle tours, rather we arrived in the evening after a day of sight-seeing, enjoyed an amazing meal, had a wonderful sleep, enjoyed another lovely meal at breakfast, then continued east.)
- PARKING: Plentiful gravel parking on site.
- ROOM: Comfortable, adequate room with a charming view of the garden. Unfortunately it rained throughout our stay, so we were unable to fully take advantage of the garden (from both the room & dining area).
- RESTAURANT: We've lived in France for over 3 years and travelled extensively throughout Europe...the meal at Auberge de Launay was in the top 10 dinner experiences we've had. The menu changes every few months, but ours consisted of: (entree) fish terrine w/ cottage cheese sauce, cucumber & nuts; (plat) stewed beef as 'pot-au-feu' w/cardamom, cauliflower, carrots & potatoes; (dessert) homemade citrus fruit tart w/meringue raspberry juice. It was indescribable! Service for both dinner and breakfast was impecable. (Dinner was unbelievably priced at 19 euro/person; breakfast was 9 euro/person).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacchitaoConBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews