We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and outdated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked one night here to see the Camuy caves, and this was close by. The room was on a very noisy street, and you could hear the thumping music from the downstairs cafe. The lamps were broken in our room. The rooms were very outdated. Would not recommend this place if you're looking for a good night's sleep.

The only plus: the staff was very friendly and the downstairs cafe was a convenient place to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Attending a conference in nearby Arecibo, I had the need of a room close to the local university. Having lots of experience with the Puerto Rican paradores, I decided to give El Buen Cafe Hotel a try. It was nowhere near the quality of others I've stayed at. Shabby furniture, a noisy location, and poor linen make this place a choice of last resort. Positives: friendly and attentive staff, good wifi, and cleanliness. Having their restaurant nearby is a plus, but it is no mesón gastronómica.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main hotel, not over the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Ok lets get straight to the point..This is a hotel for people staying on buisness absolutely...nothing to do whatsoever...its not on a beach..you have a sams club in front and home depot on the side..its smack dab in the middle of the #2...Hotel restaurant was decent.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinchorrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've had the pleasure of finding & staying here a few times while visiting a dying family member. The staff were all wonderful and extremely accommodating which allowed our visit to be pleasant. I've stayed both over the restaurant and across the street at their villas. The rooms were kept cool, comfortable and very clean each with a mini fridge. The coffee/ breakfast sandwiches at their café was delicious & the food at their restaurant was mouthwatering and fresh. Their standard rooms are quaint but their villa rooms are like staying in a studio apt. I didn't get to enjoy their pool (under our unfortunate circumstance for the visit) however I am looking forward to utilizing it when I return this Aug. I cant wait to return! Well worth the money. I have already recruited friends and family to stay their each time I visit

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENISE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My understanding is that this is a hotel for businesspeople looking for something not too expensive. And that's exactly what it is. Not too expensive, nice enough, friendly staff, spacious room. Nonetheless, it's not great: the water pressure in the shower is mediocre, the towels are flimsy, the noise from the nearby highway can be loud. The restaurant next door--run by the same company--is convenient and good (though one person in our group possibly got food poisoning there). Bottom line: if you need to visit Hatillo and want an affordable and reasonably comfortable place to stay, this is the one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winstonthecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a big clean room with a queen bed but the decoration was not really nice. They do not offer breakfast but just across the street they have a dinner were you can have breakfast or dinner.
I would say that the room was a little bit price for what it was. We stayed only one night because we were doing a road trip in PR.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

There isn't too much choice of hotels in the area of Hatillo, PR...and El Buen Cafe Hotel might just fit the bill. From the outside (just off busy Hwy 2) it looks pretty grim.., It's all grey cement and it looks like a military bunker. The inside isn't much better...with a long hallway with rooms on both sides. But the rooms themselves are rather large, although the decor is definitely out of the 80s. All rooms have two double beds and they are comfortable; moreover, the A/C isn't too noisy. Flatscreen TV is provided. Everything is spotlessly clean. The receptionist spoke English and checking in was a breeze. There's a small (really small!) outdoor pool with a little gazebo. Surprisingly, being so close to the highway, the hotel is very quiet. And there's a pretty decent restaurant right across the street. All in all, a pretty decent place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatillo
0 mi away
Hotel Parador EL Buen Cafe
18.2 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
30.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Manati
Hyatt Place Manati
#1 of 1 in Manati
499 reviews
27.3 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Address: 381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Price Range: $105 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run "Parador & Meson-Gastronomico" is the only located in the Hatillo area. Its spacious 49 rooms are fully equipped with the latest of services. The Parador also has a outdoor pool, free parking and front desk service 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Rico Parador
Hotel Parador El Buen Cafe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing