We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Don't be put off by the fact that this hotel is on the main road and really doesn't look much from the outside. It was the best value for money stay we had on our recent trip to Puerto Rico. The rooms are large, clean and well equipped, the swimming pool is small but great for a cool dip at the end of a hot day, and there was little road noise. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The restaurant and cafe over the road were great, breakfast was especially good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
32
23
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Friendly (English speaking) receptionist took great care to show me the room thoroughly. The room (215) was spacious, very clean and comfortable. It had a good fridge, although the TV was pretty old - but I didn't watch it anyway. See comments below on getting a good room. There are no room safes but you can leave stuff at the reception if valuable. The wifi internet worked every time and the speed was good. The AC was very powerful (good) but a bit noisy so I turned it off at night (bad). Comfortable quite firm bed - I slept well.

The hotel is conveniently situated right on highway 2 which joins up onto Autopista 22 or goes straight into Arecibo (about 10 mins). If you are ariving into San Juan try and avoid the evening rush hour as the traffic is terrible (like the driving...). Travel time from San Juan airport to this hotel can be from 1 hour to 3 hours.

The associated restaurant looks at first sight a bit like a "cafe" but actually the service was friendly and the food was very tasty (try the garlic bread strips - which are complimentary - and the coffee). It is also open from 5:30 in the morning to late so availability is good.

Be careful with security in Puerto Rico - don't leave anything valuable in your car. A friend had hers broken into and rifled in plain sight in a relatively busy car park while we were there.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back of the hotel away from the road - and preferably not in the "annex&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There are not too many choices in the Arecibo area, but El Buen is a good pick. The rooms are clean and spacious, but with nothing fancy. The internet speed is good. The hotel staff was quite friendly and helpful to someone who does not speak Spanish. It also conveniently next door to the companion El Buen Cafe, so there is no problem finding a good place to eat. It can be a little noisy from the street traffic, but not bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnandPete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our family of 3 adults stayed here for one night during a quick 3-day jaunt around Puerto Rico. Although the hotel is right on a major road amidst suburban development, the room was quiet and impeccably clean and comfortable. The restaurant was great for a very affordable breakfast, and the location is perfect for visiting the Rio Camuy Caverns, Arecibo Observatory, and north coast beaches from Isabella east to Punta Mar Chiquita (all of which we very highly recommend!) Our only issue is that the map on hotels.com (which we used to book our stay) showing the hotel's location was inaccurate. It was off by about 2 miles (said it was at PR 2 and PR 130 intersection, which is not true!). After using our phone's GPS, we did find the hotel by driving about 2 miles further east. All in all, El Buen is a very clean, modern, comfortable, reasonably priced, and convenient place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a friend and I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a small building and is off of a highway. It's an older building but it is well maintained. The staff was wonderful to us! I've stayed at five star hotels in San Juan and this hotels customer service outshines any service I've had in San Juan. Hands down. The rooms are older and worn but very clean. Housekeeping does a great Job. There is a pool and it is well maintained and very clean. The best part was the resturant across the street. I ate there everyday because the food was so good! The staff there at the resturant was just as hospitable. The only complaint I had was the last night we stayed there was a banquet of some sort and the music was so loud it hit us up on the second floor. We had to be up at 3am to head back home so that was rough bc the music ended at midnite. Other than that our stay was nice and comfortable. I would stay here again during the week bc it is quaint place. Kudos to the staff for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clnjssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Was in Puerto Rico on business for a whole week. Every other hotel was able to provide an invoice except this one. The restaurant was not as I had heard. Not a pleasant experience for both breakfast and dinner. Too much noise also. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Julio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hatillo hotels

Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Near the road. Close to Arecibo observatory and Rio Camuy caves. Friendly staff. Adjacent to restaurant. Nice pool.

Room Tip: Try not to get one next to a crying baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatillo
10.8 mi away
Hotel El Guajataca
Hotel El Guajataca
#1 of 2 in Quebradillas
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
30.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
13.3 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Manati
Hyatt Place Manati
#1 of 1 in Manati
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
18.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
27.3 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Property: Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
Address: 381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run "Parador & Meson-Gastronomico" is the only located in the Hatillo area. Its spacious 49 rooms are fully equipped with the latest of services. The Parador also has a outdoor pool, free parking and front desk service 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Rico Parador
Hotel Parador El Buen Cafe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing