We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in the Loire”

Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Loire Wine Tours specialises in wine tours in the Saumur and Anjou vineyards of the Loire valley France. Join Simon Grainger an experienced trade professional and have fun visiting the small, family run, independent vineyards. Meet the passionate winemakers and enjoy lunch at a winery. From half day to 4 day wine tours we can customise a tour for you. Wine tours available from Manoir de Gourin, Angers or Saumur.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

French wine growing areas were largely a mystery for us, as Australians, until a week at Simon and Karin's establishment and exposure to Simon's clear and concise information started to make sense of the different regions. A visit to a local vineyard and talking to the vigneron helped tremendously. Hope to be back soon!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for a great review. The small independent vignerons in France could not be more different from the vast wine estates of Australia. Wines made with a passion and not blended from year to year. We love having Australians to stay, so full of life and adventure. Simon and I hope you'll be back soon for another visit.
Merci
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 24 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I were collected by Simon from Saumur from the Hotel Anne d'Anjou as recommended by Karin - great recommendation and a beautiful city.
Simon drove us and another couple to our first vineyard. Everything was passionately yet patiently explained in clear terms. No questions unanswered. We walked the whole process.
I learned so much. We were given pen and paper to make notes - I wish I had.
I do remember that the vines are not watered because that would dilute the juice ... that was my big ah ha!
Of course we sampled the wines and may have bought a case or two.
Then to lunch at the Manoir wonderfully prepared by Karin.
A short lecture later we were off to another vineyard. For more education and tasting.
You'll be glad to know that despite threats there was no test at the end.
A great experience. If you're not sure about it then just do it you will not be disappointed.

Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Your review sets out the day's itinerary so well. Sorry there was no test at the end. Could it be that Simon felt that you'd learnt enough (or drunk enough) to make it unnecessary!!
Thank you for booking the tour and for taking the time to write such an informative practical review.
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a fab way to spend the afternoon. We joined Simon's wonderful Wine Tour under clear blue skies. The whole afternoon was perfectly balanced, plenty of interesting/informative information mixed with laughter & fun . Our visit to the Vineyard was delightful, actually seeing & understanding the process, really brings the taste alive !. Now , back home, when we open one of our Loire bottles, not only do we enjoy the taste , but can relive the experience. Go on, book that tour.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank GabrielleBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

WOW what a great review! You obviously entered into the spirit of the tour and went home with wines you enjoy and appreciate. Simon and I hope your fond memories of the wine tour will long continue.
Many thanks
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Trip to l'Enchantoir to learn how the wine was produced and to taste the excellent wines was great.
It was just a pity that we could only get 6 bottles in our two seater. Perhaps next time we will go in a bigger car!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank rogparsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Simon and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review.
At L'Enchantoir you will have tasted around 10 wines; whites, pinks, reds and sparkling. Such a shame you couldn't buy more then. If you'd like to buy more in the UK we currently have some great offers on our gfwine site.
Sante
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We enjoyed our afternoon wine tasting and lecture from Simon about the different regions and types of Loire grapes/wines. We went to Domaine de l'Enchantoir were Brigitte van den Boom took us to the vineyards. Afterwards we had a lovely winetasting in one of their tasting rooms.
Fabulous sparkling and light red wines to be bought!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Simon always enjoys lecturing.. I mean talking about Loire wines!! It's been his passion for the past 6 years and he specialises in importing Loire wines into the UK.
Domaine de L'Enchantoir is a small family run vineyard producing award winning wines and warmly welcomes our wine tour guests.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing