We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Way To Spend An Afternoon.”

Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Loire Wine Tours specialises in wine tours in the Saumur and Anjou vineyards of the Loire valley France. Join Simon Grainger an experienced trade professional and have fun visiting the small, family run, independent vineyards. Meet the passionate winemakers and enjoy lunch at a winery. From half day to 4 day wine tours we can customise a tour for you. Wine tours available from Manoir de Gourin, Angers or Saumur.
Bucks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Way To Spend An Afternoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a fab way to spend the afternoon. We joined Simon's wonderful Wine Tour under clear blue skies. The whole afternoon was perfectly balanced, plenty of interesting/informative information mixed with laughter & fun . Our visit to the Vineyard was delightful, actually seeing & understanding the process, really brings the taste alive !. Now , back home, when we open one of our Loire bottles, not only do we enjoy the taste , but can relive the experience. Go on, book that tour.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank GabrielleBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
WOW what a great review! You obviously entered into the spirit of the tour and went home with wines you enjoy and appreciate. Simon and I hope your fond memories of the wine tour will long continue.
Many thanks
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Trip to l'Enchantoir to learn how the wine was produced and to taste the excellent wines was great.
It was just a pity that we could only get 6 bottles in our two seater. Perhaps next time we will go in a bigger car!

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank rogparsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Simon and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review.
At L'Enchantoir you will have tasted around 10 wines; whites, pinks, reds and sparkling. Such a shame you couldn't buy more then. If you'd like to buy more in the UK we currently have some great offers on our gfwine site.
Sante
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, Zeeland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Winetasting at Domaine de l'Enchantoir”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We enjoyed our afternoon wine tasting and lecture from Simon about the different regions and types of Loire grapes/wines. We went to Domaine de l'Enchantoir were Brigitte van den Boom took us to the vineyards. Afterwards we had a lovely winetasting in one of their tasting rooms.
Fabulous sparkling and light red wines to be bought!!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Simon always enjoys lecturing.. I mean talking about Loire wines!! It's been his passion for the past 6 years and he specialises in importing Loire wines into the UK.
Domaine de L'Enchantoir is a small family run vineyard producing award winning wines and warmly welcomes our wine tour guests.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A delightful, informative tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Le Manoir for a week and joined Simon on his wine tour on the third day. We found the whole afternoon enjoyable, lots of valuable information provided and a good tour of the wine making process at a small vineyard. We also bought a significant amount of wine after the tasting session and it has all been excellent so far. The red is laid down until next winter and we shall see what that is like then! Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank SteveWA4246SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Simon and I are so pleased to hear that not only did you you enjoy the tour but are still enjoying the wines you bought from the vineyard.
The Saumur / Saumur-Puy-Notre-Dame reds will keep well for a few years - if you can resist opening them!
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed touring the village appellation of Saumur Champigny with our knowledgeable tour guide and wine expert Simon. We visited the estate of Chateau de Chaintres where we spent some time in the vineyard and cellars before retiring to the tasting room. The service provided was excellent and we learnt alot. Definately worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kayv156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
It is so good to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Simon at Chateau de Chaintres, a charming chateau vineyard in the prestigious Saumur Champigny appellation. In the vineyard, all the grapes (Cabernet Franc) are picked by hand. The wonderful reds can be laid down for several years.
Thank you for the review,
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing