We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crappy Hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Internazionale
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
Gzira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crappy Hotel !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

The room is horrible.
The staff is highly disorganised.
Service is horrible.
AC in the room doesn't work.
Drinks are extremly expensive.
The room in which breakfast and dinner is served is not equiped with air conditioning.
Mini bar fridge is locked.
The pool area need a lot of work.

The Hotel is owned by some Tunisians

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler9876128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    43
    37
    27
    32
See reviews for
30
91
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

The week we spent at the Hotel Internazionale was amazing: wonderful lake & mountain view, excellent service, clean rooms with an expanded-view balcony, nice food. In case you don't have a car, there is a hotel bus, which takes you to the centre of Torri in just 3 minutes. We liked the large and quiet pool by the hotel, located in-between the mountain and the lake, picturesque surroundings, friendly multilanguage staff. If you take HB, you will get delicious 4-course (1.5 hour) long dinners to enjoy yourselves. This is a place we would definitely return to!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneOfYou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

I travelled with my son courtesy of Primera Tours/Budget Travel and had a wonderful
holiday. Italy is indeed all that I thought it would be. Warm friendly people, architecture
and attractions to be proud of ,excellent food and we were delighted with our hotel
accommodation. We stayed at the Hotel Internazionale Torri del Benaco and were
very lucky to have a spectacular 'lake view. The staff were very welcoming and
friendly, our room was cleaned every day and it was spotless. While the mini-bar
if you require one, is for hire at €10.00 - it is worth it if you wish to stock minerals for
young children or thirsty teenagers! The safes which most hotels normally charge
for was in this hotel free of charge. I loved the choice of food dishes which you
selected the night before for your evening meal the following day. There is
a mini-bus that takes you down to the centre of Torri but you can
also walk along the beach and are there in about 25 minutes. I honestly
cannot fault any part of the hotel or holiday and consider that we were extremely
lucky to have had such a lovely memory of Italy. No doubt we will return again
some day.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

We spent twelve days in Torri di Benaco at this hotel. We were a little anxious because the reviews on TA were not wonderful !
The room decor was not to my taste, but acceptable : fake dark green marble furniture and fittings in 'formica' type material with multilstriped dark curtains. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were spotless and plenty of toilet paper available in the cabinet and in a lidded stool. fresh, thin, cool cotton towels changed every day (if you must have thick towelling towels, you have to bring your own !) . You didn't have to leave them on the floor or in the shower, they were changed if they were creased - even if neatly folded by you on the towelrail. The airconditioning was not very good - o.k. if you stood right under the unit which had been fitted in the archway under the door - but only cooled down the side of the room nearest to it. The balcony side was still too warm ! There was no airconditioning or extractor fan in the bathroom (toilet, bidet and shower) but there was a window - unfortunately only the top could be opened and it was high up in the wall. This meant that my usual ploy to avoid mosquitoes was foiled, I could have the window open in the dark, or the window shut with the light on in there !
There was a hairdryer in the bathroom.
The minibar fridge was locked, and when we asked at reception, it was only unlocked against a deposit of ten euro. But I believe this was to 'stock' the fridge, because when the receptionist heard we wanted the fridge to store medicine the manager kindly came right up to our room immediately and unlocked the fridge for no charge.

The rooms on the front of the hotel had magnificent views of the lake, and many of them had very big 'balconies' I would call them 'a terrace' even ! The ones to the rear had what was euphemistically called 'mountain view' by the hotel staff..... a sheer cliff behind ! But the 'mountain view' rooms had more shade during the day and presumably were cooler. We had a 'side' room, it was on the side of the building. As little time is spent in the room during the day, this isn't a problem. It did mean that the balcony was long and narrow, along the side of the building, with views out to the neighbouring house and garden. But, the balcony did run right out to the front of the building, and we could see the lake if we walked to the end of it or put our chairs out there (one chair wide !). So then we could have the same view of the lake as those at the front, and across all their balconies too ! On the fourth/top floor everyone could access the 'solarium' i.e. the paved roof terrace, and we went up there on a couple of evenings to watch the fireworks displays held in the little village above (Albisano) and over in Torri del Benaco.
Some of the rooms were quite large and we were told they could take a third bed if necessary for an additional adult / child. There is also a building behind the swimming pool which they called 'the villa' which has rooms of all sizes but is only 3 star and they have balconies with a view of the lake too. But, the one single room we viewed did not have a bidet (had a sort of hose contraption you could use with the toilet) and did not have a minifridge. Same decor and curtains.
We were woken several times on two evenings/nights because there was 'a fault' (they said at reception), with the fire doors on our floor - so the alarm would go off to warn that the doors were shutting. However, they could be opened by hand if you needed to escape down the stairs. But we didn't know whether it was the beginning of a warning for a real fire - and who hangs around to wait and see ?
The swimming pool is big enough, but it is all one depth, no shallow end, so might be a bit of a problem for some children. It was always nearly empty at 6pm when we used to turn up for our dip. There were terraces up the side towards the 'mountain' side so plenty of room for sunbeds etc.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. All but three of the staff were Tunisian, and the maids were Filipino - so not all had any Italian or English although a couple of the waiters and the reception staff did. Those waiters who did not speak Italian or English could speak some words of German or French. They did not smile easily, and this might be a 'cultural' trait for the Tunisians, but certainly the Italian girls did when you spoke to them and made conversation. One of the Tunisian waiters had only been in the country four weeks and he always had a smile on his face, perhaps to make up for his incomprehension of any of the languages, he seemed to know some German, but his English was only a few words - he said he was 'still learning' !

The food was acceptable and both the variety and quality had improved by the end of our stay. Breakfast was a buffet, assorted jams, honey, butter, brioches, bread rolls, three 'cereal dispensers' but unfortunately the milk was not cold, lots of fresh fruit. There were also cold meats and thin slices of cheese, and a hot plate with variations on grilled tomatoes with bits of bacon or mini sausages, scrambled eggs. During our last three days there, some people appeared to have hard boiled eggs...so we asked and were rewarded. Then the last day a whole bowlful of hardboiled eggs appeared for all ! There was a set menu for the evening meal, which appeared each evening for the following day , on which one was supposed to tick off the dishes desired by the end of breakfast on that day's menu. The evening meal started with a buffet table with assorted salads and cold meats and a couple of hot aubergine/courgette/ slices of baked potato style dishes. Then, there was a choice of three pasta/soup dishes, one each of meat and fish dishes, and either an egg or a cheese dish. The dessert was pot luck on the evening itself and seemed to depend on how much time the chef had had to prepare it ! There was always a fresh fruit available, and usually the dessert varied between creme caramel/semifreddo/ vanilla or choc blancmange. But on two evenings the chef excelled himself with a wonderful tiramisu and a 'sponge cake' with a liqueur cream filling. One memorable evening, we had one scoop of a wonderful homemade strawberry ice-cream with a yoghurt tang to it.... the next evening we were served glasses of 'strawberry sorbet' with a drinking straw... same flavour, same taste, soft ice texture ... could have been a melted version of the same ice-cream !
We were on 'half-board' and the food was adequate, unfortunately the grilled salmon with dill was always too 'hard' to eat. Perhaps it had been frozen ? The turkey escalope and the turkey with a green pepper (corn) sauce made me a little anxious - but they were fine. There was chaos in the dining room one evening... the menu had been mistranslated. At breakfast, before completing the form, I asked if there was no fish dish that evening - 'of course, there's always a fish dish' said the waiter, as I pointed out that it said 'beef' for one dish and 'pork' for the other (on the English version - but the name of a fish in the Italian) ...so the waiter went off to investigate and came back to say that the 'pork' was actually 'lake fish'... but the other diners had already chosen from the original mistranslated menu, so didn't know until they were presented with the fish instead of the pork they had chosen !
The trek in the dark to the town or the bus stops, meant that we never ventured out for an evening meal elsewhere. There were plenty of restaurants to chose from in Torri, and we found one with a wood burning stove that did wonderful pizzas as well as other dishes - so lunchtime was fine - and when we went out for the day we always found a good restaurant in the other towns too.
At the hotel, the majority of the clients appeared to be large groups of Germans who arrived in a coach and only stayed about three days at a time. They were not very friendly, and all seemed to smoke like chimneys - so most of the outside tables were always taken up by them ! The second biggest national group was the Dutch, who were very friendly, courteous and spoke good English, so striking up conversation and friendly company was easy. They appeared to arrive mainly in their own cars. I admire them for their easy command of a second language. There were only two to six English couples staying at any one time, usually for 7 days and they kept to themselves mainly. About the same number of Italians were staying for around 7 days and arrived in their own cars, we never saw them except at meal times.

Torri del Benaco was about a mile away. There is a convenient (safer than the road) footpath most of the way around the lake, and it did start close to the hotel. So you could walk (30mins approx brisk walk) to the little town of Torri, and we did this a few times. The hotel also runs in my opinion, a rather dilapidated, minibus at 10am (and a few times later) to Torri which takes about 5-10 mins depending on traffic. The seats in the minibus were rather old and the springs could be felt in the scruffy middle seats, the back seats were more comfortable. It looks spruce and bright on the outside but has another hotel's logo on it, so presumably was 'second hand' . This minibus was good for returning in the afternoon (around 5.30pm) after day trips out on the buses, because the hotel is midway between the public transport bus stops and you'd have to walk back to it along the road (no pavements) and no footpath along the lake in one direction. But the minibus service does not run after 5.30pm.

There is also a free public minibus (in excellent condition !) which runs from the car park behind the castle in Torri, to the car park up the mountain in the little village of Albisano. This village was a godsend on the hottest days, because the temperature up there is a few degrees cooler than down by the lake. There is a church up there with a 'panoramic' forecourt area with benches from which to view the lake and town below, and a little square with a couple of bars.

Possibly would return, as it has a pool, not many more 'family type' run hotels have and I prefer that to swimming in the lake... too many rocks and pebbles. But would have liked to be able to pop outside in the town for some evening entertainment, without that walk back in the dark ! But not likely to return, a hotel would have to be really excellent for us to return, we prefer to try out different towns/hotels in an area if we do return.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — airconditioning not good enough
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nolana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Just returned from a week in this lovely hotel. Staff are absolutely fantastic especially the restaurant staff who made us feel very welcome. Food was absolutely delicious and plenty of it! Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Front rooms have a view of the lake but the rooms at the back look out onto cliff face but offer shade on the hot days which is welcome. Stayed in one of the back rooms but we were not in it that much so it didn't matter not having a view. Lovely walk along the lake front into the town of Torri del Benaco. Lovely town with shops and castle and also a market on certains days.

Had a fantastic holiday in a wonderful setting and would definitely return!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milobabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

We spent a week at this 100 room, four storey hotel situated outside Torri del Beneco on Lake Garda. Rooms on the upper floors have great views over the lake and mountains. Most of the guests were Dutch and German couples and families on self drive holidays.

Lake Garda a beautiful area and we had a good time. Our holiday was a last minute cheap deal but the hotel does claim to be 4 star. Against that standard, it needs a lot of care and attention. Rooms are clean but dated. Those at the back look over the kitchen area and a large rock face, so are fairly dark. Parts of the building and children's play area needed repair. The pool area is cramped and not very attractive. Breakfast and dinner were adequate at best. The staff were friendly enough but disorganised.

Torri itself is charming but be warned it's a good twenty minute walk from this hotel into the centre of town.

  • Liked — Views from some rooms over lake and mountains
  • Disliked — General standards and distance from town
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torri del Benaco hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torri del Benaco
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fraderiana
Hotel Fraderiana
#21 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel delle Rose
Hotel delle Rose
#13 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pai
Hotel Pai
#2 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park Hotel Oasi
Park Hotel Oasi
#46 of 48 in Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
12.6 mi away
Centro Vacanze La Limonaia
Centro Vacanze La Limonaia
#35 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internazionale

Property: Hotel Internazionale
Address: Via Gardesana Loc. Fornare, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Internazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Internazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internazionale Hotel Torri Del Benaco
Hotel Internazionale Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing